We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and tastefully updated hotel in the University setting”
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New and tastefully updated hotel in the University setting”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I had a pleasant stay of one night at Hotel Alma. The rooms were in a newly renovated (former residences I believe) UofC building, and the hotel is conveniently located for business at the University. The decor was stylish and modern, and the room had conveniences such as a humidifier, TV in both bedroom and sitting room, and a kitchen sink and bar fridge area stocked with coffee and lovely teas. There was even a nice view over the city. Parking is in a parkade located across a parking lot from the hotel. Complimentary breakfast included a good selection of fresh items.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daphne_crock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here with us; you seemed to have had a nice time, and we are very glad you did. We are in fact, a new build, completed late in 2009. Since the University opened in the mid-sixties, we tried very hard to give the building that mid-century feel, albeit updated and with modern technology! We're glad you found your one-bedroom suite tasteful. The teas you liked are by Revolution, and our coffee is fair trade certified and certified organic, and is locally roasted, ground and packaged for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    128
    59
    38
    13
See reviews for
46
54
30
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I stayed at Hotel Alma with a few of my friends, some in different rooms and we all shared the same basic experiences!
Our room even had food go missing and it was due to the cleaning staff who actually NEVER touched our room but did enter! We had to even go down to the front desk to receive toilet paper!
The beds are very hard and uncomfortable, rooms are very small, lack of hair dryer and lack of iron... I could go on and on with complaints.
Don't waste your money on these fools, go somewhere where they care for their guests!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirilJurgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed here for three nights while I attended a conference at the University. Hotel Alma was a great place to stay. The room was small but perfect for one person and the bed was SOOO cozy. I liked having breakfast every morning. I ordered dinner one night in the hotel but thought it was too expensive for what I got and it was heated up in the microwave.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishKPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Hi there!

Thanks so much for your comments. We particularly like that you find the Eurostyle rooms so cozy. Our Eurostyle rooms may be compact in size, but we tried to think big when we were planning them, including custom-made pillowtop queen size mattresses (we do have king beds in our suites for next time!). We appreciate your candid commentary on the Bistro. We don't pretend that it's a full-service restaurant, as it clearly is not, but we have made some progress on the choices to better suit our limited kitchen facilities there. We are glad that you did like the European continental buffet breakfast that we include in the room rate - we think the smoked salmon is particularly yummy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

This is a really lovely hotel and in a fantastic location, espeically if you know someone at the university. We booked a suite which consisted of a sitting room with lounge,TV and kitchenette area. Tea, coffee (really nice ones) were supplied and there is a small fridge too. The bed was lovely - king size, new and with a soft overmattress. The bedroom had plenty of room and included a desk and office chair. Bathroom goodies were great too. There is off street parking available at a reduced rate with unlimited entry and exit just across the road. The hotel only occupies a few floors of the hotel as the rest is student accommodation. Thre is a small shop in the foyer where you can buy basic supplies and a coffee shop in the lobby. We really enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Thank you so much! We are new and very excited about our hotel. The coffee in the rooms is roasted, ground and packaged locally, using fair trade certified and certified organic coffee beans. The teas are by Revolution. The pillowtop mattresses were custom-made for us, and the bathroom amenties are coconut lime verbena by Bath and Body Works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#47 of 109 in Calgary
666 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#40 of 109 in Calgary
271 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Property: Hotel Alma
Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and group meeting facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing