We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making you feel welcome-Not included in the rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Overall this hotel is great. Staff, location and comfort. The only complaint and the only reason why we wouldn't stay there again is that it is impersonal. Meaning, to charge for coffee in the room when your paying a premium rate a night is not right. Other hotels we have stayed at have been equally as beautiful but, have a nice coffee maker in the room for use, even a bottle of water that they don't charge $5.00 for. Parking that is included. Little touches like fruit or cookies at the front desk go a long way. This hotel has some things to learn about making your guests feel welcome!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teren_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Hello Teren_11,

We wanted to thank you for the review and the feedback you have provided. Our goal is to make every guest feel welcome. We wanted to let you know that we do provide complimentary coffee in our Central 899 lounge and in our breakfast room. We do not have bottled water in the rooms as part of our Green Initiatives. We are the only hotel in Calgary to be awarded with 5 prestigious keys as part of the Green Key program. We have water carafes in all guest rooms to encourage guests to utilize our clean water supply. We also have packages that do include parking that can be booked, particularly over weekends. Once again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again. Please feel free to contact myself directly for the next booking and we can discuss options to make your stay an even better one.

Thanks

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Beautiful hotel and beautiful people, I felt way too out of place. An incredible hotel - only minor complaint was the noise from the street, but wouldn't let that affect a future stay. Got into the hotel late (11 pm) but had called ahead to warn them so they wouldn't give my room away. Check-in was a snap, and the standard 12-noon check-out was very nice.

Will certainly stay there on future travel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arif_a786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was staying at Le Germain on business and found it to be a very business friendly hotel. It has a good, modern feel to it and the staff were helpful and polite. The gym was of moderate size but was well equipped and did not feel crowded despite being well used. Breakfast was functional but I really like the idea of a refectory style table in the middle of the room that can be shared by singles. I hate sitting at a table on my own at breakfast - the idea of a shared table is really good.

The bedrooms were functional with lots of electrical sockets and a modern feel. However, the lighting and decor made them feel very dark. One small point is that the sink in the bathroom did not appear to have a plug. Maybe it's the modern design and I just couldn't find it but it made shaving very inconvenient.

Overall a good hotel and I will stay there again on future trips to Calgary.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsonsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hello JohnsonsCanada,

We wanted to thank you for the review and the feedback you shared. We are currently looking into additional floor lamps that will be placed in our guest rooms. We also have rooms that are South facing that create a lot more light. If you could contact me directly, We will ensure you are booked into these rooms for future stays. We also have sink stoppers available at the front desk, sorry you were not informed. Once again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My Fiancee and i spent a night at Le Germain when on a trip to calgary for a concert. It was an absolutly amazing experience from the moment we arrived. Loved the Modern decor and atmosphere of this hote. The room was beautiful and the massive rain shower in the bathroom was incredible. The most comfortable bed i have ever slept on, and they even have a place on their website where you can order the same beds, linen, and pillows. We had one issue with a ziplock bag of rotten vegetables that someone had left in the mini bar and the hair dryer did not work, both these were taken care of immediatly and a personally written letter and some chocolates were delivered to our room. Very impressed, BOOK THIS HOTEL! you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edmontontraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hello edmontontraveller30,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate all the wonderful feedback. We wanted to apologize for the vegetables and the hair dryer issues. We were happy to read that they were taken care of right away. Once again, thanks for the feedback and please let me know if we can be of any assistance.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed two nights in a deluxe room in March 2012. This is now our favorite hotel in Calgary. The room was high-end, large, clean, modern, and very nice. The bathroom was large and exquisite with a rainshower and a separate room for the toilet. The room is extremely well laid out and there is room for suitcases in the closet, as well as ample space for toiletry bags and travel items in the bathroom.
We slept quite well as the bed was very comfortable. Great value. We got a complimentary continental breakfast each morning which was very good, and wifi is free (wireless and/or cable). Valet parking was included in our package which was very handy. It is easy to get to by car, as 9th Avenue is on the edge of the downtown area. This also makes it a great location when leaving downtown.
In addition to the ease of access, this is also a great location for amenities. There are numerous restaurants near-by, including Charcut (in the hotel), Divino’s, Rush and Murietta’s. The East end of the Stephen Avenue Mall shopping district is only one block away. If you are visiting for the Stampede or a hockey game, the Stampede grounds are only a 15 minute walk or one LRT stop away. Whenever we are in Calgary again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I love surprise touches - no-ask upgrade to a large corner suite, hand-written welcome note by chef concierge Amanda and a small tin of complimentary chocolates, a bathtub with a faucet in the ceiling... ?

Hotel Le Germain reminds me of a certain 'chic/modern' Starwood brand - which is ideal for my tastes. There's dimmer mood lighting in hallways, a pleasantly pervasive fragrance in the air (sandalwood?) and well-groomed/mannered staff who were unfailingly courteous.

Check-in was smooth and simple (thank you, Yuko) and the card key access system is the friendly proximity sensor kind. My room (706) was spacious and furnished comfortably. The bathroom was large and galley-style with sliding doors, 2 sinks, separate tub, toilet room, and rain shower. The bed/pillows/linens... I slept for 8 hours straight and that is very unusual for me - they were as good as 'heavenly'.

The hotel's restaurant is Charcut headed by Top Chef Canada competitor Connie DeSousa. There was a complimentary continental breakfast served on the 2nd floor in the morning that I would have considered paying for.

I think my least favourite part of Hotel Le Germain would be the less than impressive lobby. The small lounge area looks forced and, while I understand the desire for some sort of division in the space, the artsy installation at the entrance was annoying to have to walk (the 4 steps) around in order to get to the elevator. But really, that's just aesthetic nitpickery.

Highly recommended. I would definitely stay at Hotel Le Germain if my path ever crosses Calgary again. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I visited Le Germain last weekend for a little birthday "getaway". It was our second visit and the hotel did not disappoint. The rooms are meticulous, perfectly laid out and feature world class amenities. The staff is professional and went above and beyond in helping make or weekend special. If you are looking for something extraordinary, stay at Le Germain, they really are the best.

Our only disapointment was dinner at Ruth's Chris...elegantly overpriced and mediocre quality...go see Connie and her team at the great Charcut....they create memorable experiences

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Coolcanuck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Hello Coolcanuck67,

We just wanted to thank you for the most amazing review. Please let me know if we can ever be of any assistance in the future. Look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thanks again

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
2,333 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £107 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing