We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful w/e get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful w/e get-away”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked into Le Germain based on others feedback on Trip Advisor. Stayed in a King Superior room, even though offered to upgrade for a minimal fee. Absolutely lovely. We were within very close walking distance of Stephen Avenue and the room surpassed expectations. Had arranged with Christa (one of the conceirge) for dipped strawberries in the room. Were there upon arrival and delicious! She also made dinner recommendations and looked after reservations . . . all was wonderful. Would I recommend this to others?? ABSOLUTELY!! A truly magical w/e. Only some minor "comments". Didn't realize we were receiving turn-down service and so when we stopped by our room before heading out for the evening were surprised by the tidying up and other services. . . but who are we to complain for service that went beyond our expectations!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamKracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Hello GrahamKracker,

We wanted to thank you for the wonderful review. We were very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever need anything else at all please feel free to contact myself directly. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
mschaay@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    201
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
358
41
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I had the great fortune of staying at Le Germain during my Calgary business trip. This is by far the best hotel I've stayed in while traveling for work. For four days, Le Germain served as my uber-chic 'home away from home.' The guest room was spacious and the bathroom was amazing - loved the shower! The beds were also incredibly comfortable --always an important factor for me. The only negative on the room is the lack of blackout curtains/shades. I like to sleep in a dark room. The blinds were insufficient for blocking out the late-night light (I'm not used to it still being daylight at 10:30pm).

I really appreciated the complimentary breakfast and in-room wifi (why isn't this standard at other hotels?). The fitness center served my needs while providing nice city views. Beyond the hotel's asthetics, I couldn't have asked for a more convenient location. I definitely plan to stay at Le Germain on my future visits to Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGal2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel can be described as a hybrid of a W Hotel with a Grand Hyatt. It has a very modern and sleek interior yet it is very roomy and effectively incorporates wood trims into its decor. The staff are professional and very efficient (although it is somewhat apparent that the staff are new and thus regurgitating the script). The breakfast spread included in the weekend promotion was also great. The only thing that detracted from the hotel was the $2.5 charge for the Nespresso coffee. I thought it was a joke at best and tacky at worst.

Room Tip: The smallest room is larger than most rooms in other hotels, but if you feel like splurging go all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotterfChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here when it first opened and again almost a year later. Rooms still pop; service continues to be excellent; and now there's a good gym. Clean and well thought out. Right in the center of town, so it was very handy for business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukiMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had occasion to stay at the Hotel for the first time last Friday. It was well located and staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was well appointed and layed out. Staff were helpful and friendly. It was easy to hook up my laptop. The breakfast was enjoyable and there was enough selection to keep everyone in our group happy. It was close to some great restaurants for dinner on Friday and I went for a great run along the rive on Saturday morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We originally had booked the Fairmont Palliser but changed when we read TA reviews mentioning the train noise. The Fairmont is right on the train tracks! Also the Fairmont is ranked 22 on TA and the Hotel Le Germain is 2nd and won the Travelers Choice Awars in 2012!
We checked into our Luxury King room at 1130pm and went right up. The room was a corner room with a comfortable king bed, and spacious bathroom with two sinks,tub and shower. Breakfast is included in the rate. It was a hot and cold buffet with berries , mixed cut fruit,whole fruits, hot oatmeal, cold cereals,toast and bagels,juice,coffee and teas.
If you arrive in Calgary on a Sunday alot of attractions and stores are closed or have limited hours. However with the help of the hotel concierge we walked to the casino, and also had lunch at the revolving restaurant on top of the Calgary Tower.
This hotel has a hip vibe as evidenced by the young crowd gathered at the bar when we checked in.
This hotel is literally across the street from the train stain, with no train noise and no taxi needed to get there if you arrive via the Rocky Mountaineer. However the reservation staff of the Rocky Mountaineer suggests you stay at the Fairmont........we are so glad we didn't!

Room Tip: Choose room 1013,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hello diamondgirl22,

Thank you very much for the great reivew. We were all happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever need anything else please let me know. Thanks again.

Mark Schaay
Rooms Divsion Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We looked forward to our stay at Le Germain Calgary, and overall, we were not disappointed! The hotel is very modern and contemporary, and we appreciated that there was a weekend deal we could book that brought the price down, and included valet parking and breakfast. We weren't impressed though that when we pulled up to the valet, there was no one to greet us, and there was no doorman. This was surprising, as any 5 star hotel we have ever been to has exemplary service that begins as soon as you pull up to the door.

The room was actually bigger than we expected from seeing pictures online, which was a pleasant surprise! Our view from our room was pitiful, but we weren't in the room all day for this to be a major issue. The room's fixtures and overall feel were very modern, but there needed to be instructions on how to use certain items, such as the key slot for the lights, and the shower! We felt quite silly not knowing how to turn on the shower! If you appreciate a modern feel, the bathroom especially, was a beautiful room. The bed was a decent sleep, beautiful, large, and extremely comfortable linens. A bit hard though, but we still really liked it.

The mini bar was extremely expensive, which we were really frustrated by. As a coffee drinker every morning, we were shocked at the price of a cup in the room, and found this irritating, as we had spent so much money for one night, and could not have coffee in our room in the morning without paying over $2.00 a cup. We were also unaware that there was free coffee elsewhere in the hotel, but this is not preferable for any guests, as generally no one wants to leave their room for a cup of coffee!

Kudos to the staff member who went all the way down to our car, retrieved my hair straightener, and brought it all the way up to our room in the morning, this was very appreciated, and he was so fast!

Overall a beautiful hotel, with an amazing modern feel, but still really expensive, considering the minor details mentioned above, and the fact that we got our room on a weekend deal, and it was still over $200 for one night.

Room Tip: We asked for a room in a quiet part of the hotel, and this seemed to be accommodated, until we reali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rleeandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Hello rleeandrea,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We really do appreciate it. We apologize for not having the valet readily avail bile for your arrival. This is something we always strive to ensure. The arrival process is the first impression of our hotel.

Our standard protocol is that we explain the room features at check in, lighting system, key system, etc. We also do not mind receiving calls and questions about some of the features of our hotel. We are a modern hotel with modern technology. We receive questions quite a bit and are happy to answer them. Please feel free to call with questions.

Sorry we did not make you aware of the complimentary coffee in our lounge and breakfast room. We really do try to make all our guests aware of this complimentary coffee.

Once again, thank you very much for the review. Please feel free to contact myself directly with any questions or feedback. mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Mark Schaay
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,169 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
630 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing