We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawed diamond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Make no mistake, the accomodation here is truly sumptuous, with large comfortable rooms, dramatic bathrooms, stunning decor and every modern facility. Although my wife and I did not use the restaurant it was bustling with an apparently satisfied clientel. Front desk, concierge and bar staff were enthusiastic, hepful and friendly.
However, breakfast was very disappointing. Despite being only half full, there were no clear tables available for us. The only served item was a cup of hot water and a tea bag. The rest was self service, with only a modest continental style buffet available. Described as complimentary, but no doubt included in the room rate, it fell well short of the rest of the standards set by this hotel. A final gripe -we had a snack in the foyer bar (very good), but only about $30 worth of food, and asked for a bottle of Chaedonnay and two glasses - cost $83 plus Tax plus Grat. My fault for not asking first or hotel/ staff being greedy?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of August 2012. My first-time experience was without fault. The front desk staff was impecably gracious and helpful. The room was clean and luxurious, the decor modern. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. The fitness centre had all the amenities. The hotel location in central downtown Calgary can't be beat either. I really can't think of a single thing this hotel could improve upon. I hope to stay here again soon.

Room rates are somewhat pricey perhaps, but I feel I got good value for my money.

For dinner, try Murietta's around the corner (my favourite!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My girlfriend had one of the "honeymoon" suites for 2 nights for her wedding. The first night was for her and her bridesmaids, I was lucky enough to be one of them.

From the time we checked in the service was fantastic. We had a bellman help us up to room with our bags, and he unloaded them into the closet. At about 5pm, someone came around with ice service, bottled water and chocolates.

The room was just beautiful. On the 10th floor we had an amazing view of downtown. The bathtub filled from the ceiling which we thought was awesome and the other girls said that the rain shower has awesome. They brought a cot up for the other girl, and 2 of us slept in the king size bed. The room and a mini bar that we looked at but it was a bit over priced. The room was also big enough for 3 girls to dance around and get ready for the wedding.

The staff was awesome and so helpful with everything. They brought the flowers up to the room and helping with the photographer and other people coming up to the room.

Overall it was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhantomNights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our first night's stay in Canada and what a lovely surprise it was. Couldn't fault the quality of the bedrooms, the bathrooms, or the lounge and restaurant (best steak we've ever tasted!). Would have been a 5* but for the slight admin hiccup which meant that they charged us for our room as well as dinner even though we'd paid for the room via our travel agent. Hopefully that will get sorted out and we'll receive a refund. Otherwise, I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a weekend recently, we had adjoining rooms, which was very convenient. Valet, very good, check in very good, rooms excellent (a coffee machine would have been nice) beds are good quality and the place was clean, Molton brown was great, breakfast was ok, strange seating set up but was included in package, found servers to be attentive and polite. Overall enjoyed our stay, still don't know if we'll try somewhere else on our next visit or return here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Hello Brucean,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. The comments were all positive, but you mentioned that we could improve. Is there a way you can send me an email with some more details. I would appreciate that; we would definitely like to follow up if we can. Once again, thank you for the great feedback.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

T his hotel is beautiful and modern in the heart of Calgary. Easy access to everything. The rooms are sleek and the beds are so comfortable! I have nothing bad to say about this place. Nice breakfast in the morning and very helpful staff!! The rooms are also quite large with huge bathrooms! Would return ina heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondgirl613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Hello diamondgirl613,

We just want to thank you for the great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know if you need anything else in the future.

Thanks

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great hotel - the room was beautiful with a huge bed and luxurious bathroom facilities. There is a nice bar downstairs, and a continental breakfast was complimentary and really good. The service was also great, although the parking was very expensive. The hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,386 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#19 of 110 in Calgary
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,211 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £112 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing