We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will try them again now that I know what to avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will try them again now that I know what to avoid.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights last week and was very impressed with a few aspects and very unimpressed with a few as well.
The location is excellent. Right in the heart of the east side of downtown and 150 feet from Stephen ave. The parking staff were very accommodating and did an excellent job. Well worth the $30/day which is fair considering the Marriott across the street charges more and it's a run down crap hole and the closest lot charged me $54 for 28 hours of parking when I parked there. Anyone who says they don't normally pay for parking at downtown hotels in big cities is just dumb. Of course they all charge for valet. It's just about how much they charge in my books.
The room was awesome. Very well laid out with a large open design. I stayed in a standard room. The bed was epic. So comfy I didn't want to leave it. Bathroom was large and very well appointed.
Now for the downside.
Avoid the lounge. Unfriendly staff and they offer a limited menu with no food that anybody will order. Numerous times I've sent out of town clients to stay here and they all say the same thing.
I ordered room service numerous times and the staff were very friendly but again the limited menu is in need of a reality check. Its mostly salads and deserts. Not very friendly on the hours of operation either.
I've eaten at Charcut and it's really good. I just hoped that would transfer into the room service but so far it doesn't.
The front desk staff were really good. It did come up that the whole lounge had left after a rude bartender had informed us that he had only opened 45 minutes ago so not to expect much from him and we were presented with a food menu which included maybe 10 items. Nothing hearty like a meal. And yes I do expect that service when seated at the bar and doing nothing but drinking, would improve, that wasn't what we were there for. When this come up with the manager he immediately offered a discount which I told him wasn't necessary. A discount doesn't change my mind about whether service was good.
Lastly I would advise to specifically ask what charges will be made to your credit card each step of the way. I got bit with this one and currently have a card frozen due to suspicious activity by them. 3 large charges in less than 24 hours and only 1 at best is a justifiable pre-authorization. I've heard this complaint from numerous other friends who stayed here and there was a couple arguing over this when I was checking in and out so it doesn't seem like a rare occurrence.
So I will stay there again but I will order domino's rather than eat there and I'll ask them to explain each charge going on my card and I'll avoid the bar. Then I expect the stay to be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    205
    48
    8
    7
See reviews for
79
372
41
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

As with other reviewers, I agree that the rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. I loved the rich but muted colors, the shower and the bed/linens were comfortable. The downside is the lack of light in the rooms (i specifically requested a room facing the street to allow more light) and the continental breakfast is disappointing. In fact, my boyfriend and I only ended up having some fruit and croissants before going out to a real place for breakfast (OEB - which was outstanding!). At this price point of a hotel, they should include a couple free bottles of water, free coffee/tea in the room, or even at check-in, some refreshing water or fruit should be available like many other hotels I've stayed at. IT's all about the details and unfortunately I think they missed the mark here.

Room Tip: 704 was a corner unit away from the elevator. Had no problems with noise. The walls are pretty thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeydrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great location in the heart of Calgary, walking distance to a number of attractions and shopping, including The Core.
The service is exquisite, consistent with the Germain hotel chain.
Rooms are comfortable and designed with flair.
Breakfast is great with staff eager to look after your every desire.
Can't go wrong with this address.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very good location, good service overall. As for all Germain hotels rooms are large, well designed. Surprisingly there is no place to store our items. A cupboard is missing. The bed is fantastic (important in an hotel...). The breakfast is disappointing. Frankly, for this price, this is not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for our last night before being allowed to return home post-flood evacuation. We were looking forward to the stay based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The suite (normally $760 per night) looked like a very trendy man-cave with lots of bling, including an Nesspresso machine, a boardroom table and white board and bedsite light controls for the whole suite. The glass seemed at least triple paned and the room was as silent as a tomb, which was nice, given the downtown core location. The continental breakfast was one of the best that we have ever had in a hotel. However, we were put-off by two factors: 1) You have to either pay to park or pay to valet park ($30 per day to valet. which is cheaper than using the lot); we have stayed in many upscale downtown hotels in North America and never had to pay for parking before; it seems like the hotel should absorb this fee and 2) when we checked out, we were told that the printer wasn't working and they would email the bill to us; when the bill arrived, we had been overcharged by $100; they first tried to tell us that it was "extra taxes"; when we said that didn't make sense, they then said that the $100 was actually a deposit to hold the room and that it would take up to 5 days for the deposit to be returned to our card; they could not explain why they charged the full deposit plus the full room fee, rather than just charging us the difference; the entire bill then disappeared from our credit card and reappeared a few days later. We think they just screwed up and didn't want to own it, so tried to make odd excuses. It wasn't a nice way to end our stay, particularly given the stress of just wanting to return home after the floods, and instead, having to fight by email with the hotel. It was also poor customer service for the staff to basically initially say that we didn't understand how tax is applied to hotel stays, when actually it seems that they do not understand how a deposit should be applied to a total bill.

Room Tip: Beware that if you bring a car, you will be charged to park. Check your bill very carefully at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Good location next to the Calgary Tower. Stampede and the central malls in walking distance. Stylish and comfortable quality room. Large bathroom, shower room actually, didn't appear to have any heating and was rather cold (in July)
Very pleasant complementary breakfast when we were there.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1leftleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were booked into another hotel but due to the dreadful floods the original hotel was not able to re-open. We ended up with just one night in Calgary as couldn't get there before.
Very disappointing but Le Germain was wonderful and would gladly have stayed many more nights. Beautifully appointed room,spotlessly clean, very friendly staff and a great breakfast.
What a stunning bathroom!
Well done ...a difficult time as they had just that day got most things working.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,235 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
655 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing