We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in downtown Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First off, you can't beat the location, steps to some of my favourite restaurants and nightlife in Calgary. The rooms are great, bathrooms are wonderful, the showers - to die for. Very comfortable beds and the dark ceilings were a nice touch, so great for sleeping in! The breakfast on the 2nd floor was probably one of the best continental breakfasts I've had in Alberta. The in room spa services are also a fantastic touch and IMO reasonably priced. The Germain is definitely my #1 choice in Calgary, unless its sold out I won't stay anywhere else again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banker_barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I work 1 block from this hotel and it's my fav in Calgary. Westin and Marriotta are old and tired and smoky.

This one has the best beds and linens I've ever experienced.

Free continental breakfast in the morning is great. Amazing coffee.

Only tip for management: get your staff to smile and greet people. Everyone in the lobby is afraid to make eye contact. Everyone seems shy. You are in the hospitality industry. Not librarians.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deanguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Calgary you need not look elsewhere. This hotel ranks as follows:

comfort/bed - 10/10 (best pillows and bed I have ever slept on in a hotel, amazingly spacious rooms and washroom, excellent shower and water pressure etc.)
amenities - 10/10 (stocked fridge, gym, pool, in room massage, bar, restaurant, everything you could want)
staff - 10/10 (professional, friendly, eager to make sure you are taken care of but not intrusive in any way... simply perfect. We also requested an extra hour for checkout which was accommodated without issue and considering this was our oversight it was fantastic to be taken care of.)
location 10/10 (walking distance to almost everything worth seeing in Calgary. Calgary Tower is across the street, crossing the street to the right towards the Marriot will bring you to the Glenbow museum, Stephen Ave is directly behind the hotel with all its restaurants and sights, take an underpass towards 17th ave for more entertainment and even greater selection of restaurants etc.)

Valet parking is 38$ but considering the price of parking in Calgary downtown during the work week its actually more reasonable than you would think.

Excellent hotel! Stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel still had room availability when the 2013 Stampede was on, which is why I booked through them. The décor is beautiful, and the staff were very friendly upon arrival. The bed/pillows were to die so - so comfortable!! The location of the hotel was also very convenient - right in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suasoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights during the June 2013 flooding. Obviously it was a specific context as the first night there was no power nor hot water, but we were back a week later when the power was back on.

Rooms are beautiful for the modern look lovers. Artemide lamps, lighting system, large bathroom, comfy bed, quality furniture.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the room and hallways are quite dark. Also, the fact that they charge 2.50$ for a Nespresso in the room is bizarre. I have seen Nespresso machines in upscale and no so upscale hotels but never have I seen a place charge for it.

Service in general was good. We had many exchanges with the manager Robert and his assistant Lancelot. They tried hard to help us overcome the problems that came with power outage and the need to change our trip itinerary (the hotel closed down at some point), but they did seem a bit overwhelmed by the situation. Other staff we met looked like they were students that did not know much about the city or basic customer service in hotels. At breakfast, we also witnessed a situation that showed some staff lack motivation to give a good experience to customers. A guest showed up 5 minutes after the serving hours for breakfast, while two tables were still occupied by guests having breakie (including us). Food was still out and available. The waitress simply told him that breakfast was closed. No mercy for latecomers! We thought it was pretty harsh.

In general, we felt the level of service did not match the luxury of the accommodations. Having said that, we think it could be easily improved with some coaching/training. The hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

From the first smile of the doorman, every aspect of this hotel insists that one relax ! The lobby is warm and tasteful and welcoming, the lobby bar - a perfect place to meet someone for coffee, the rooms - exude a style that is calming and touches that anticipate every need, the beds are amazing !-('cept paying for the Nespresso a little jarring!). The complimentary breakfast on the Mezzanine was properly European. The Charcut restaurant is truly truly wonderful. Peter had a great lunch on the patio. We then had a late supper at the bar... served by the passionate professional Christopher Cho. Added bonus was running into Justin Trudeau who'd just arrived from Saskatchewan and getting to meet chef/owner Connie de Sousa who inspires the whole staff. Le Germain is my favourite hotel in Montreal and Quebec City .... so exciting to see them in Calgary !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spent one night at this perfectly situated and aesthetically lovely property.

I was sorely disappointed with the low-quality bathroom tissues, toilet paper and towels. They all felt like sandpaper. At $300/night, I would expect the quality of the tissues/toilet paper/towels to match everything else. If you are supplying guests with Molton Brown toiletries, I would hope you wouldn't cut corners on the rest of the bathroom items.

I would like to suggest that a supply of towels be made available in the fitness facility.

The concierge was extremely helpful and very accommodating.

Room Tip: I stayed in a superior room with a king sized bed with a city view. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penelope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,466 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#19 of 110 in Calgary
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,264 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £106 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing