We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Memorable wedding weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently had our wedding at Le Germain and we couldn't have picked a better place. The staff at the hotel was absolutely wonderful - especially Glen Mckenzie, who was our contact for months leading up to the wedding. A few of the reasons we chose this hotel include: its central location - our out of town guests would have lots to choose from while not participating in wedding festivities, the fact that it's right above Charcut restaurant - one of our favorite restaurants in the city, and the hotel rooms themselves were all very comfortable and seemed to have just that little bit extra over your typical hotel room. We stayed in the apartment suite which was a wonderful size with a living room and two bathrooms, but the smaller rooms that our guests stayed in seemed just as comfortable. I'm a believer that service can make or break your stay at a hotel and despite the hotel being able to stand on its own to make for a wonderful stay - the staff at the hotel really made the difference for the weekend. They were very friendly, knowledgeable, prompt with requests, and seemed genuinely happy to help. The bottle of Moet and Molton Brown products (which they offer in their rooms) was a welcome surprise when we returned to the room after the reception. Thanks again Le Germain - we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear cynthia587,
Thank you for sharing your comments on trip advisor. We are glad to hear that the wedding weekend was everything you expected! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Robert
rdorazio@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    198
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
344
40
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

If you enjoy a stylish top rate boutique hotel, modern, clean and with top notch service, then stay here. The Germain group knows hotels and this is the second property of theirs where I have stayed, the first being Germain Toronto Maple Leaf square.

The room is excellent, from the bed, to linens, washroom, etc. Wonderful rain shower head, nespresso coffee machine, great lighting, window that opens for fresh air, top notch bathroom amenities.

Special mention goes to the concierge, Francesca, who took my reservation. Outstanding customer service, which included a pleasant, professional telephone manner, followed up with an email providing me all the information I requested for airport transfer and restaurants nearby. Then upon my arrival a personal note welcoming me with chocolates. Truly outstanding and a credit to the hotel.


The only thing I would suggest is that slippers be provided in the room, rather than having to call front desk for them. As well, a hardwood floor room option would be truly innovative, if Germain would consider such.

I will be back and this will be the hotel I stay in when in Calgary.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Francesco C,
Thank you for the great comments about our hotel on trip advisor. We are glad you enjoy the Le Germain Hotels and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Warm Regards,
RD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This a great hotel in Calgary! Fantastic staff & beautiful, comfortable rooms. The hotel is located in a great location and there is free wifi. I was staying in another hotel which was old, stuffy and crazy expensive. I changed hotels mid-trip and am so glad I did. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGBuckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here over a weekend, and we were truly impressed. The rooms are clean and spacious. We ordered in room service one evening and even though it was a bit pricy, it was delicious. There is also a Milestones nearby for those that would like to eat out. The hotel is located right next to the Calgary tower and if we had more time, we would have loved to eat there.
The only issue we had was sorting out where to park our rental. I knew there was valet service, but didn't know where to park to find the service. It turns out there is an alley behind the hotel where you can access the valet service.
Overall, we really liked the hotel and would definitely stay again. The location was perfect, the price was right and the staff were extremely helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedgi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Central location, close to shopping, dining and night-life. Really nice, clean hotel with cool interior and super friendly staff. Much better than previous encounters in Calgary... Only small minus was that front desk sent us to a local sushi place in Chinatown that was not so nice with very few guests which is usually a bad sign for such places. However when we came back another front desk staff suggested Globefish at Kensington which was a vibrant and very good sushi place, considering you are far away from the sea...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GoodTravelJeanPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

No fault to be found here. Yes, a bit pricey, but I've spent more on less. The location is downtown, so it's close to many amenities. The rooms are large and spacious, bathrooms are large and well appointed, and all the little things are there too. I have nothing but praise for all the staff.
I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
267 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our first trip to Calgary. After spending two nights in Banff, we took the prepaid Brewster Airport Express to the Mariott Hotel (with a short stop at the Calgary Airport first), which is just across a small road from the Hotel Le Germain. Check in was a little slow as Reception seemed new and very young. Having booked a Deluxe room, we were probably upgraded to a corner Deluxe room - with views of downtown Calgary in two directions, nice!

Once you enter, you cannot but to feel very special as the room was very spacious and very new, with well thought out interior designs at every corner you turn! It was very luxurious too - one of the biggest rain shower I have seen, walk in wardrobe area, safe, coffee maker, free & fast Wifi, huge King bed (really King sized!), intelligent lighting everywhere and a comfy chaise lounge! Moreover, they offer you Molton Brown toiletries ... great!

Slight niggles here are - no swimming pool and the spa which has a sauna starts too late at 10am?!, breakfasts has great pastries but no bacon, sausage nor scrambled eggs and starts too late at 7.30am!, no free mineral water in room, connection charge if you make local calls,

The location of the Hotel? Coundn't be any better! Even for first time visitors like us, we had no trouble finding places of interest - the Hotel is directly opposite the tall and iconic Calgary Tower, so you do not get lost easily, 2 blocks to Stephen Ave for lots of shopping and restaurants and 5-6 blocks to Chinatown where you can have the best sushi and ramen at Sushi Tokyo (located in the big Dragon City Mall)!

After visiting our old friend in Calgary and staying one night at this luxurious hotel, we took a 20 mins cab to the airport (about Cdn $35) the next day. Staff even helped to waved down a cab for us in heavy snow, much appreciated indeed!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor corner Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing