We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice contemporary rooms. Great service. Massive bathroom. Once you get used to the lighting etc. it is a great stay. The fridge is a bar so not really a fridge. Main complaint is the fitness room, it has beautiful views from top floor however both ellipticals are in bad need of repair, very noisy and clunky. Air system in fitness room is also very noisy. But it is an excellent hotel and I will go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    198
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
344
40
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very well Located in downtown Calgary .

The lobby reception area is relatively small and unsuspecting but the rooms are one of the best I've seen.
Rooms and bathroom are spacious ,super modern , sleek and clean with mood lighting .

There is a Nespresso machine in-room with a selection of pods , if you don't see the flavor you like you can ask for it and they will deliver to you , they are provided for Free .

Molton Brown toiletry are provided in the bathroom .

Complementary newspaper and breakfast .
... small selection of cheese and cold cuts for breakfast, the coffee wasn't great either but otherwise adequate .

Staff were helpful and courteous .

Had a drink at the Hotel restaurant and didn't care for it , a number of good bar and restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in a luxury room for the last night of our honeymoon in March. It was very stylish, modern and luxurious. The bathroom was very nice, especially the rain shower and bath. The restaurant and breakfast were also very nice. The room was probably a bit overpriced, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here recently for a friends wedding and was absolutely delighted! The rooms were cozy and clean and we could not have asked for a better location. What really set this place apart, however, was the amazingly dedicated staff! My husband and I had been traveling for a bit before the wedding so we arrived with our outfits a bit rumpled and worse for wear and missing a few necessities! What they couldn't provide, they gave directions and suggestions on where to get and even remembered us and asked if we found everything. In a hotel of this size, it was so nice to be recognized by the staff, it made us feel incredibly welcome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everleigh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is my second vist to the Le Germain in Calgary and it did not disappoint. However this dose come at quite a high price. This is a stylish, modern and very comfortable boutique hotel. The rooms a spacious, clean, an excellent bed, quality linens and bathroom products. There are also nice touches like the nespresso machine and rain shower. The gym is very well equipped with views of the city. All the staff were very friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gromit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This may have been one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Considering we were paying around $450 a night for a room, it was awful.

The car service offered by the hotel was poor, and hadn't arrived to meet us.

We arrived at the hotel, which despite my reservation saying 2 people, they informed me I'd have to pay an extra $40 per night for a second person. The guy on the front desk had poor English skills meaning I couldn't even complain.

We had to sort our own luggage out from the car to the room.

Upon entering the room, we notice how dirty it is, there are stains on the ceiling even!

The lowest temp the air con goes is 20 degrees Celsius meaning it's roasting in there.

They lock the TV down to the point you can't plug anything in and have to watch what they offer.

The shower has a rainfall feature but doesn't have enough water flow to work correctly.

The blinds in place are useless at blocking out light.

Room service food arrives cold.

Only one side of the bed has power sockets for charging phones over night.

The staff were the most unfriendly bunch of people I've ever met. Every morning I get up and go for a starbucks and to bring fresh juice back, in other hotels staff say 'good morning' and smile etc, this doesn't appear to happen at this hotel. The staff don't even look at you.

There is no door man to open the (heavy) front door.

The lighting in the room is very dark.

The phones in the room didn't work.

The hotel is in a good location with a few minutes walk to Princes Island, and a nice shopping mall.

All in all, there is little to no chance I will ever stay again in one of these hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Dougie317,
Thank you for submitting a review on trip advisor. I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations. We have taken good note on your comments and will review with our internal team.. If you would be able to email me a contact number I can reach you as I wanted to follow up with the car service company that you had used.
Warm Regards,
Robert.
rdorazio@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently had our wedding at Le Germain and we couldn't have picked a better place. The staff at the hotel was absolutely wonderful - especially Glen Mckenzie, who was our contact for months leading up to the wedding. A few of the reasons we chose this hotel include: its central location - our out of town guests would have lots to choose from while not participating in wedding festivities, the fact that it's right above Charcut restaurant - one of our favorite restaurants in the city, and the hotel rooms themselves were all very comfortable and seemed to have just that little bit extra over your typical hotel room. We stayed in the apartment suite which was a wonderful size with a living room and two bathrooms, but the smaller rooms that our guests stayed in seemed just as comfortable. I'm a believer that service can make or break your stay at a hotel and despite the hotel being able to stand on its own to make for a wonderful stay - the staff at the hotel really made the difference for the weekend. They were very friendly, knowledgeable, prompt with requests, and seemed genuinely happy to help. The bottle of Moet and Molton Brown products (which they offer in their rooms) was a welcome surprise when we returned to the room after the reception. Thanks again Le Germain - we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear cynthia587,
Thank you for sharing your comments on trip advisor. We are glad to hear that the wedding weekend was everything you expected! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Robert
rdorazio@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing