We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff great rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

the staff actually cares about your quality of stay.
hotel is only 4 years old so everything works very well
in house concierge that is "KEY" certified is on duty during regular business hours.
doors are on touch key system so they always work well
beds are on frames attached to the floor directly so you get a good comfortable sleep every time.
rates are reasonable in comparison to Hyatt and Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    196
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
341
39
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This boutique hotel right in the centre of Calgary is close to many tourist attractions. It is an ultra modern hotel with one of the most appealing and serviceable rooms I have ever stayed in. The main area had a king size bed and a comfortable seating area. The bathroom was a good size with a funky sink and a huge rain shower. The extra touch was a walk in closet area with not only a clothes rack but shelving space and plenty of room for luggage. All the amenities are available including an espresso machine, wifi and an ironing board and iron ( conveniently hidden in a special cupboard).
The lobby and breakfast room are funky modern and the staff are most helpful.. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I suggest the king deluxe room. Weekend rates are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
689 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel, downtown Calgary, steps away from everything that is happening here.
Got a beautiful room 813, just like a dream. Mood light, space with superb attention to details, bathroom that is out of this planet.

Really nice place.
Also, I would like to mention that this place has a superb service. I stayed numerous times before, but now I have to say service in this hotel is better then ever. Reception desk people are all amazing, and all ready to help you and assist you in your needs. More then service was given by Ms Sara, I assume manager, who really went several steps above expectations. She was really something special and hotel is lucky to have her. I mentioned to her that I am nig fan of classical music, just before I left for dinner. Once I was back, in my room, there was folded printed information about every single music concert in Calgary, just for me. She was also great in assisting us with all other details. Bravo for her.
Great hotel, superb service.
Room that I had was a superior suite, and it is much bigger then regular room, but in any way, you re there to sleep only, so room or suite, it is all good.
I have just one single complain to make: TV remote will drive you crazy. To change from one channel to another takes 15-25 seconds, hotel should get new more modern remotes, for real.
Other then that
Bravo for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabioinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear fabioinmontreal,

Thank you very much for the great review on trip advisor! We are glad you enjoyed the room and very happy to ready your comments about our service. Sara is our Front Office Manager and we are lucky to her have her as a Team Leader.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you make in the very near future!

Warm Regards,

Robert D'Orazio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Currently staying at Le Germain. Love the modern design yet without the Ikea decor. Im on the 9th floor facing office buildings ( when i open the blinds I'm watching people work ) not exactly the best view. However, the bed is extremely comfortable and the room itself is VERY clean!

CONS
-wifi isn't the best
-theres only about 30 channels on the tv ( most of which are news or local canadian programming )
-when room doors close they are EXTREMELY LOUD!
-location, since the hotel is situated downtown ( not walking distance to 17th ) you've got to snag a cab to any of the good restaurants or bars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Aug 07 first time staying in downtown Calgary & thrilled we booked "boutique" (small yet mighty) Hotel Le Germain, excellent from check in to check out, accommodating staff & love the "modern" decor! Appreciate attention to detail & layout, eco features throughout hotel. Location superb in heart of city (Calgary Tower across street & walk to shops & restaurants). We had a spacious corner room even with the cot for our 10 yr old! Great beds & linen & shower made it hard to leave our quiet, comfy, "home away from home" room....slept in & almost missed the great continental breakfast on 2nd floor, staff again understanding. Excellent food at Char Cut for dinner and lunch in the great Lounge space. Hotel Le Germain a definite highlight on our 9 day (7 different hotels) vacation, leaving us with fond memories of Calgary! We will be back!

Room Tip: For a "quieter" dining experience ask to be seated in the comfortable Lounge & they se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Travellin53,
Thank you for the fantastic comments on trip advisor. We are glad we were noted as the highlight hotel during your travels. Yes, bed linens and mattresses in our hotel are very comfortable and rain fall shower heads makes it feel like you are at a Spa. We look forward to welcoming to Le Germain on your next visit to Calgary!
Warm Regards,

Robert D'Orazio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIANA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a gem! ultimate 5 star service, huge rooms, modern bath/shower, rain shower head, free expresso machine, location wonderful. Valet & conceirge are the best! bed- side lighting was great for reading ,, flat screen tv.
loved it!

Room Tip: there are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNAKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear DONNAKG,
Thank you for writing a review about your past stay at Le Germain Hotel. Yes, other than a great spacious modern room, our guest enjoy the many perks while staying with us which is included in the room rate such as, free nespresso in each room, WI-FI, continental breakfast, and a fantastic roof top fitness room. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,

Robert D'Orazio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel did not disappoint. The rooms are clean and very nicely decorated in modern decor. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were luxurious. Room service was quick and the treatment we received both when checking in and out was exceptional. Only negatives were that the lighting was very dim and there was no do not disturb sign. This was annoying at 8:45am when I was trying to sleep in and housekeeping came knocking on the door. Not a huge deal, did not affect how I rated the hotel. Parking and valet was included, that was a nice plus.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DREAMEN.FOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear DREAMEN.FOOL,
Thank you for the review. We defiantly take pride on the cleanliness of our rooms and public spaces. Please feel free to ask us for extra lamps on your next stay. We do have electronic DND switches in each room; I will make sure our team informs all our guest!
Warm Regards,

Robert D'Orazio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing