We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but sketchy city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Hotel staff was, mostly, very friendly and helpful during my 2 nights stay. Room price is fine. Breakfast and breakfast staff are great even if there are no eggs&beacon (you can get strawberries, ham and tons of other things). I think they reached the state of the art in hotel industry by providing modern and working equipments such as ethernet wire, great rain shower, soft lighting system, coffee machine, and fine beauty products although the lack of curtains is a bad point and the temperature of the room (too cold) is another one.
Thing is, some customers of this hotel, it's the same at Marriott in fact, just don't get along the product offered by the hotel, some look really vulgar in the way they dress (outrageous I mean). The city itselves doesn't worth the stop if you're heading to the Rockies, even if Glenbow museum people are super friendly and so are the one at Calgary tower. There are a LOT of agressive homelesses, people smoking forbiden substances in streets, Algerian flags on Olympic Plaza... well, being a European, I was a bit disconcerted and disapointed by the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ST7515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

I can highly recommend Hotel Le Germain and would encourage those who would be spending more than a night in Calgary to book this hotel. The rooms are large, well appointed with beautifully furnished. The bathroom is also large with good lighting and storage. The single serve coffee machine was most welcome, but if you prefer tea, there is no kettle. Wifi is an additional cost. The service was professional and responsive. As a downtown hotel, there is no view, but it is situated right downtown within walking distance of the pedestrian downtown area, restaurants and bars. I was catching the Rocky Mountaineer (train) early in the morning and the train station was just across the street. I could have easily spent some more time enjoying the hotel than I had!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredbutnotTired13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very nicely done hotel in downtown Calgary at the base of the Calgary Tower! Could not of asked for a better location. It is one block off of Stephens Street which is loaded with great restaurants and bars. It was so nice to have everything within walking distance. The Hotel was ver modern in its decor and the staff was exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: There were a lot of use in a wedding block and none of the rooms out shined any of the others. A li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChadDanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I had to travel to Calgary for business and unfortunately for some it was during Petroleum Week in the city so there was a shortage of vacant hotels. Fortunately for me, I was able to snag a lovely room at Le Germain.
I was initially placed in a room with a less desirable view however, staff quickly rectified that problem and moved me to a better room.
The room was kept clean and was very dark and comfortable to sleep in. Nice shower and bathroom! I liked the bath products as well.
The breakfast buffet which was included in my rate was small but very satisfying. It included hot oatmeal which I loved.
Front desk staff were very helpful and the hotel has a restaurant Charcut if you get hungry and do not feel like venturing out. If you do, there are a wide variety of restaurant choices at your doorstep.
You can walk to most places downtown.
Overall, a very good and comfortable stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alleycat1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our room was outstanding with excellent amenities. The location was ideal in downtown Calgary and within walking distance of restaurants and the walk on the river. The staff was very customer service oriented. We highly recommend this boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mimi_Ann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

great location if you are doing things in the down town core.. I enjoy the lounge also for a drink after work or on the weekends. The rooms are also nice as are the guest hosts. The restaurant is also nice although I find it to be a uninteresting or inspiring.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

the staff actually cares about your quality of stay.
hotel is only 4 years old so everything works very well
in house concierge that is "KEY" certified is on duty during regular business hours.
doors are on touch key system so they always work well
beds are on frames attached to the floor directly so you get a good comfortable sleep every time.
rates are reasonable in comparison to Hyatt and Fairmont.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,436 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#19 of 110 in Calgary
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,240 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £112 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing