We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Amazing and intimate stay EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Amazing and intimate stay EVER!”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I booked the hotel's "couple's retreat" for 1 night....wow was it ever awesome! The staff was so gracious and went over and above to make our experience very romantic. They upgraded our room free of charge upon arrival, had chocolate covered strawberries ready, sparkling wine, "mood music" and lighting, and an intimate package. Breakfast in bed the next morning was also included! The hotel is very modern, the bed was extremely comfortable, there was a flatscreen tv with free video on demand, an inroom 1 cup expresso maker...and the list goes on! We would highly recommend this hotel and particularly the "couple's retreat" package to anyone wanting to get away for an intimate night with their significant other...especially if it is to get a break from the kids! ;)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    198
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
348
40
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and thought we would pamper ourselves by staying at a nice hotel. We considered the well established hotels in town but decided to try out Le Germain. When the staff learned that we were there to celebrate, they went above and beyond anything we expected. The hotel rooms are styled very differently from other conventional hotels which provided us with a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. Having free movies on demand was a great bonus! Thank you to all the staff at Le Germain Hotel for making our celebration wonderful!

The restaurant, Char Cut, delivered a very good meal at a reasonable price. Thank you for making our celebration special - the cheesecake was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nebula154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Our overall experience in Alberta [Northern Alberta that is] for the past 2 years has been nothing short of awful UNTIL we decided to go South and have a weekend Stampeding in Calgary. It was because of this hotel our Albertan experience completely did a full sweeping turn-around. The customer service experience from the moment you drive up [actually from the moment you call in to do your reservations] is top-notch. We never thought we'd be comparing a hotel experience in Alberta to those we've had in NYC, Vegas, LA, or the Caribbean - but this hotel absolutely does compare to the best-of-the-of-best... Service A+, Room[& oh my gosh the bed!!] A+, Shower [& the rest of the bathroom] A+, Restaurant [everything is actually made in house, from the garnishes to the sauces] A+. Thank you L'hotel Germain and your front-end team. You were clearly beyond any expectation & absolutely fantastic in doing so!! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heinstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel twice now. It just might be my favourite hotel in the entire country. The rooms are modern, spacious and the beds are great. The location is superb and the staff are friendly.

You also get rub shoulders with some famous folks who stay at this place.

Highly recommended for business or for a couple! Also the double rooms are big enough for a family no problem.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mattskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We arrived with a rare car and felt very comfortable with all of the valets who parked it for us. The first valet was so eager to show us around the hotel while he assisted us with our luggage. He showed us how everything worked and treated our sons (9 and 12 years) with light hearted humor which they enjoyed. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room temperature was perfect. The bathroom was amazing, no shortage of mirrors, plug ins and lighting. The decor was top notch and our whole family was impressed with the phone by the toilet. The breakfast was delightful with ice water, lattes, and orange juice to drink and plenty of choices that suited our whole family. When it was time to leave the valet service was quick and pleasant, he brought the luggage cart up and the car around within 5 to 10 minutes and a call came to our room to let us know the valet was on his way to the room. Lastly, when we first arrived we were greeted by a pleasant man and women at the front desk who asked how they could help with any activities we had planned. So with that being said, once we were settled we were able to walk down to the corner restaurant without worrying about finding phone numbers and making reservations - it was all taken care of. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling alone or with well behaved children. Le Germain takes care of all the details to ensure your stay is memorable. We are planning to stay in the same hotel chain while visiting Quebec.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayBeeSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We are fans of Germain hotels. We've stayed at all their locations, so it was a natural for us to choose them for our stay in Calgary. We weren't disappointed, we loved it. The location is really good (right in front of Calgary Tower). Our room was really nice. We had some minor problems that were promptly fixed (the pay per-view (free for customers) and our phone weren't working). The hotel is new, so they still have some things to fix... The gym is not finish yet but when it will, it will be great, the view is spectacular. Also since we're from Montreal we appreciated the fact that some people from the staff were speaking french. The only low point was at check-in when they tried to give us the room with the worst view in the hotel (they have probably like 2 rooms with a view on an air conditioning unit). Of course they changed it after we asked. But... they tried to get rid of it and it wasn't appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I love modern boutique hotels, and Calgary has always been short-changed in that category. Now they have two to choose from: the venerable Hotel Arts, and now the brand new Hotel Le Germain, a sister boutique of the Montreal Le Germain (easily my fave Montreal hotel). I'm pleased to report that the Calgary Germain is fantastic: gorgeous, modern, minimalist, sleek, smooth, sexy. Open only 3 months, it still has its 'new hotel smell', but all the details are in place. Rooms are spacious and full of the deeply comforting charcoal greys and chocolate browns that define their Montreal experience. They're located at the very base of the Calgary Tower, so their downtown location couldn't be better . . . Hotel Arts, you now have some competition!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metaleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing