We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and very nice rooms”
Review of Centro Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centro Motel
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked this for a wedding and were very happy with the motel. The rooms were very, very nice with a king bed and a pack n' play for my infant daughter set up. There's a fridge and Keurig with coffee in the room. Room was clean and modern. Price was best I could find in that area.
The only drawback was the area for breakfast doesn't have much seating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

We wish to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Centro Motel. We are extremely satisfied to hear that you found everything to meet your standards. We appreciate your feedback with respect to the breakfast room space and are looking for different configurations to allow for more seating while not foregoing the overall experience.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary in-room amenties and find your comments an affirmation that we are working in the right direction to providing an excpetionall overall guest experience. Our guests and their satisfaction are very important to us.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit to Centro Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Centro Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had booked this motel based on TA reviews and when we arrived, I first thought we had made a horrible mistake.. But I was wrong! Even though the outside looks a bit shabby, the lobby was really nice, we were greeted by two friendly Indian guys, checked in promptly and when we got to our room, it was excellent! Modern, new decor, done with good taste. We experienced no particular noise even though the highway was just there, and the breakfast was great, with more options than most motels with a continental one offer. A really good stay through and through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review regarding your stay at Centro Motel. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to meet all your expectations. It is rewarding to know that the effort put in by both staff and management is recognized and appreciated by our guests. We realize that there are many options available to each guest in terms of accommodations and appreciate that you recognize the value that we provide and that you choose Centro Motel.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to provide the same service and value you have become accustomed to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Centro Motel August 17 2013 for a wedding nearby. Can echo many of the comments below. This motel is definetly not remniscent of boutique, however.

Room was a decent size, very comfortable beds. Some of the furniture was newer, however the bedside tables and desk were chipped, faded and very worn. This hotel has been given a facelift of paint and accessories but does not hide the age of this place.

Front desk staff (owners?) were very friendly. Check in was good and quick.

As far as noise, we didn't drink a bottle of scotch but a bottle of vodka so we slept like logs. My husband is normally a very light sleeper but had a great sleep. It is right beside a very busy roadway and I was a little weery of this when booking but all was good.

I would've given this place 4 stars if the furniture wasn't so worn/ beat up but the price was right and we would probably stay here again if we were in this neck of the woods.

Room Tip: We requested a top floor as the rooms have laminate and can be loud on the first level.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennybuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Centro Motel. We also thank you for your comments regarding the in-room furniture. After four years of use we recoginze that some pieces will need to be changed out and are currently looking for options that will stay in line with our modern décor. Our staff and management are proud of the product we offer and desire to maintain the up-dated, modern and clean feel.

We are happy to hear that check-in was quick and our staff friendly. We understand that after a long day of travelling, people just want to get to their room to relax.

We hope that on your return travels to Calgary, that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Centro Motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

At its heart, Centro Motel is just that: a motel. Sure, they've done it all up in espresso-coloured modern furniture, put some art up, and painted in designer colours, but it's still a motel.

This being said, it's a far nicer motel than others on the 16th Ave. strip, and I appreciate the effort they made.

A few areas where they could improve:
* A/C - don't be fooled. The property doesn't have central air-conditioning. Rather, they've cut a hole in the wall and put in those giant portable air conditioners. It's noisy and ineffective, and I do hope that this feature is rethought soon.

*There was a faintly sulphurous smell coming from the water from the sink faucet. We opted to drink bottled water. I know that Calgary's water supply is potable and the smell was not present in the shower.

* Cracked front window. Also, the window right next to the door was openable. This is a definite security hazard, since it's fairly simple to punch right through a screen and open the door from the inside.

On the good side:
* Easy to park. It's a motel, after all.
* Helpful front desk service.
* Cheap.

Would I stay again? Probably, under the same conditions: Stampede week means the prices throughout Cowtown are jacked up. I'd stay here so as not to blow the budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjouanjou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review of Centro Motel. We are pleased to let you know that we are currently working on replacing the current A/C and heating functions with quieter, more efficient PTAC units. A lot of research has been done to find the best solution with the least amount of sound. We are on track to have the installation completed by November 2013.

It is always great to hear that our staff is helpful and pleasant as we understand how important and impactful that aspect of a guests stay is to the overall experience. We are pleased to hear that you found our pricing in line with the value that is provided.

We look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back to Centro Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

They did what they could with the place, but between being on the Trans Canada Hwy, having partition walls made from newspaper, and having a herd of elephants stampeding in the room above you, don't expect to sleep unless you drink a bottle of Scotch, bang yourself on the head with the empty bottle or wear ear muffs. Still over $110/night which is excessive for a motel anywhere. Someone's making a lot of money here.

Room Tip: If you have a room with a dividing door in it, expect to hear your neighbour's dreams...and toil...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbourstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Centro Motel. We apologize for the that sound issues you seemed to experience. While we are located next to the Trans Canada highway, we find that most guests do not find traffic noise to be much of an issue. We are, however, continually working on new ways to curb sound transfer as we understand that a quiet, peaceful rest is what our guests are looking for.

In terms of our pricing, we do find our prices are competetive with surrounding properties and fair in consideration of the complimentary amentities that are included and the value provided.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide the service and quality we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The photos on the website make this room look elegant and classy. It was recently renovated but I still found it just average. I wan't convinced that the sink was entirely clean and thought the bathroom could have been cleaner. Bathroom was tiny. Bed was huge and reasonably comfortable. Housecoats a nice touch but almost unnecessary really. Fridge was tiny as well. Curtains were heavy and u really couldn't open them if you wanted any privacy. Parking lot was sketchy. Can't say I felt overly safe........but maybe it was because I don't know Calgary at all. I wouldn't have felt comfortable staying there as a single lady though. I was with my boyfriend. Reception was helpful with trying to help us find restaurants and such. Good for the one night we were there but glad I didn't stay any longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlonkieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your comments with respect to your recent stay at Centro Motel. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful and our beds comfortable. We thank you for your comments regarding the complimentary bathrobes and find them to be appreciated by most guests.

We have recently replaced our window coverings to a more ease-of-use product that are easily drawn open or closed. If you encounter difficulty, we would encourage you to make a quick call to our front desk and the agent will assist you in that regard.

We have also recently replaced our in-room refridgerators to a bigger model with a snooze feature for complete silence while sleeping along with a Quick cool feature to quickly attain the desired coolness you may be looking for.

We hope that you will choose Centro Motel for your future visits to Calgary and look forward to showing the updated features as described above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night, and that was enough. The dead flowers in the hanging baskets should have been a tip off. The formica that was chipped on the sink was another tip off. The room was extremely small. While the bathroom was clean, it was tiny, and there was frosted glass on the door, which made us all uncomfortable. There was no way to use the sink area without waking everyone up in the morning, since the sink is open to the rest of the room. Our phone didn't work, so no free calls for us. The breakfast was decent. We have stayed in hotels all over the US. This was our first in Canada, and it was not a good first impression, and we are still wondering why it is called "boutique." Maybe it means something else in Canada.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Centro Motel. While one of our hanging flower baskets succumbed to the heat of the sun, we quickly replaced it and can assure you that all of the hanging baskets have colourful flowers and are very much alive.

It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy our updated open concept rooms. We do have virtual tours of our rooms on our website along with photos, which include the bathroom area, and encourage all guests utilize these tools to familiarize themselves with the product that we offer prior to making your reservation.

Thank you for bringing the issue of your telephone and the chip in the countertop to our attention. We apologize for these oversights and have made our maintenance team aware of the issue. We encourage all guests that experiences anything less that acceptable to contact our front desk team so that they may be given the opportunity to correct the situation.

Thank you again for your comments which assist us to constantly improve the experience we provide at Centro Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#49 of 109 in Calgary
690 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#70 of 109 in Calgary
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Motel

Address: 4540 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £55 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centro Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Motel is a trendy boutique property that provides you with the comfort of a 4 star hotel at half the price. Enjoy our smart decor and funky furnishings while lounging on our pillow-topped mattresses that are draped in our luxury linens. Wrap yourself in our plush bathrobes provided for your comfort in all of our rooms. Complimentary with all rooms every day of the year is - calling to anywhere in Canada and the U.S., WiFi, continental breakfast and parking! Centro Motel is located in Calgary’s NW quadrant in the trendy area of Montgomery. We are 3.5 km away from the Children’s Hospital, 3.1 km away from the Foothills Hospital (check with us for special Hospital rates), 4.3 km away from the University of Calgary, 4.7 km away from Canada Olympic Park, 4.1 km away from McMahon Stadium, 4.4 km away from Market Mall and 9 km from Downtown Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing