We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride the rising tide of greatness”
Review of Centro Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centro Motel
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This motel is on the cusp of greatness. You can feel it straining against the traditional motel limitations; two story walk-up, small front office, busy road out front. It is a joy to be here because you can feel the rising tide of greatness. It hasn't quite reached the peak of its potential, but this little motel is on its way up!

Taking advantage of the special prices over the Valentine's weekend, I booked a king room for in between business trips. The motel supplied bubbly juice, slippers, and housecoats. The front counter staff was very friendly, and I could the gentleman was trying hard to please. The rooms are beautiful. The outside of the building looks a little...well...rough. It has been updated, but the place is built like a typical two floor, walk-up motel. You can't get around that. The rooms, however, harken to downtown Vancouver or Calgary - fancy! The interior decoration was well tailored to the small room. The closet was replaced with an innovative installation on the wall to hang clothes. Very cool. The bedding was like sleeping on a cloud. Even though the motel is near the TransCanada, the rooms were very quiet. We haven't slept that well in ages.

The complementary continental breakfast was wonderful, and you can tell the owners are trying to use the space well. What the room lacks in atmosphere, it makes up in the general air of trying hard to be better. The breakfast was a little lacking, but when you're a vegetarian/gluten free, continental breakfasts usually are. There were the standard options of cereal and milk, pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea. Very nicely displayed.

I completely recommend this motel. It has a nice quick exit heading west to the mountains, and it is not too far off Stoney Trail so it easy to get to from the north. Take advantage of the beautiful walking trails along the Bow river at Edworthy Park, which is conveniently located across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasualVegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for posting such great comments about your recent stay with Centro Motel. We are so happy to hear that you found your stay to be valuable and enjoyable. It is our guests and their feedback that help us to constantly improve our product and services and we appreciate your input.

Our team is very proud of the product we offer and of our recent awards – our 2 year running streak of the Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor and our most recent Housekeeping Award from the Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association.

We will use this great feedback as motivation to constantly improve, which we are sure you will notice when you visit Centro Motel again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Free phone calls, breakfast, wifi and parking! Fantastic stay.
Check in and out was a breeze and the staff were friendly.
Room was clean and comfortable. Decent amount of counter space by the sink. Nice toiletries offered. You can request deodorant and lipbalm for free (haven't seen that at other hotels).
Only thing i didn't like was the location. There are no nice restaurants within walking distance and we had no car. The area is a little sketchy especially across the street with the questionable motels but we felt safe on our side/section.
The area is also covered by car to go if you use that service. I would stay again as it is close enough to the University of Calgary.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank erica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with Centro Motel. Having guests take the time to post their comments is very much appreciated by our team as it validates their hard work and attention to service detail that we strive for.

On a return visit to Centro, we would like to recommend NoTable restaurant, which is a 2 minute walk from Centro Motel. It is owned and operated by a very talented chef, Michael Noble and has excellent food coupled with a nice ambiance.

We look forward to your next visit and providing you the customer service we are known for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This motel was amazing. The bed was super comfortable, they had Keurig machines in the room. Location was on a main hwy, so it was easy to find. The shower head sprayed a bit rough but that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitalmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay at Centro Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at Centro Motel and I like it very much and will keep coming back. Personally I do not enjoy being in any city's downtown (unless we're talking Venice!).

At Centro while close to a busy road it isn't too loud( I pretend it sounds like ocean waves), there is a nice neighbourhood area just 2 blocks away with smart restaurants, spa, salon, liquor store, parks to walk to, and easy in and out on Trans Canada Highway to the mountains. U of C is very near, as is upscale Market Mall. Literally across the road is access to the river and extensive bike trail paths of the city. The hotel is on the Trans Canada (busy during the day, quiet at night) so I imagine there are easy city buses to nearest c-train if you don't have a car.

The best thing about this hotel are extremely large rooms and comfortable beds. I like the king rooms that have been updated most of all to new standards. Rooms have a tiny bathroom (toilet closet with shower) but adjacent is an overly large make-up/vanity counter with wall to wall mirror, sink, Keurig coffee maker and full length mirror. . Rooms come with Fridge (no freezer)/large TV/desk/telephone with free long distance/ironing board, working heat controls, bright windows and a few drawers/hangers for clothes. Bonus is free wi fi, free fluffy terry cloth bathrobes, free parking, and free breakfast. The huge bonus is the size of rooms with extra high ceilings, peaked inside like a house. As you can tell I am a big fan of Centro and will continue to go back. Excellent service, extremely clean, and in a more scenic part of the city. This place is a hidden gem. If you have pets there are pet specific rooms.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both 2 queen and deluxe king rooms and the deluxe king rooms are awesome. Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments and the time you put in to write such a detailed review. We are so happy to hear that you not only noticed all the great complimentary amenities we provide but also that you appreciate them. We appreciate you and your repeat business and we look forward to many more opportunities to welcome you to Centro Motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is the best Motel I have ever stayed at ....customer service was second to none.... they have Keurig coffee machines in the rooms and yes even robes on the bed ...... and a beautiful deck that was made for the smokers ....keep up the good work ..... we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCaron901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you very much for posting your comments with respect to your stay with Centro Motel. We are extremely happy that you were so satisfied with our amenities and service. Our team is very proud when our valued guests recognize how important you are to us.

We look forward to your next visit and having an opportunity to welcome you back to Centro Motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I reserved a room for my children in Calgary through Hotels.com. They did a great job and reassured me that my kids would have no problems and did not need a credit card due to the fact that i had already paid. When the kids got there the manager refused to let them stay without a physical credit card. I called the motel and the manager was so rude. He wouldnt let me give a credit card for incidentals and said that the kids would have to give $500 cash. 4 young adults do not have an extra $500 to spare. I complained to Hotels.com and they called him. He finally agreed to let me use my credit card. I would advise anyone needing to stay here to have the front desk clerk go through the room with you to make sure you get your money back. He is a bit of an jerk! So not impressed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank 699Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the concerns raised in your recent review. Hotels.com is a third party site advertising for thousands of hotels across the world. A credit card or deposit for incidentals is industry standard that we adhere to. If you go to the Centro page of the Hotels.com website and read the policies and regulations, this is clearly outlined. If someone told you that you would not require a credit card or deposit upon arriving at our Motel, they were in error.

In order for an establishment to be protected by a deposit, the credit card must be physically on site with the owner. If for some reason the owner of the card is not present, a third party authorization form with copies of identification are required (again an industry standard) and you would not agree to provide this, therefore requiring our front desk agent to ask for the cash deposit.

Please understand that the conversation you had was not with the Motel Manager but rather our front desk team member who was merely following Centro’s policies. We regret that the outcome was unsatisfactory to you, however, we must stand by and adhere to our policies in order to protect our business and future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We checked in later in the day. Check in was smooth as silk. Great customer service. Room big, Clean. Easy to use heater so the room was kept warm. Road noise was minimal considering it is on 16th avew. Curtains closed and overlapped so noise reduced and kept dark so you could enjoy your sleep. Breakfast was great.
Would recommend this Motel in a heart beat ...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you very much for your time in writing about your recent wonderful experience at Centro Motel. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you would recommend us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
718 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Motel

Address: 4540 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £36 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centro Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Motel is a trendy boutique property that provides you with the comfort of a 4 star hotel at half the price. Enjoy our smart decor and funky furnishings while lounging on our pillow-topped mattresses that are draped in our luxury linens. Wrap yourself in our plush bathrobes provided for your comfort in all of our rooms. Complimentary with all rooms every day of the year is - calling to anywhere in Canada and the U.S., WiFi, continental breakfast and parking! Centro Motel is located in Calgary’s NW quadrant in the trendy area of Montgomery. We are 3.5 km away from the Children’s Hospital, 3.1 km away from the Foothills Hospital (check with us for special Hospital rates), 4.3 km away from the University of Calgary, 4.7 km away from Canada Olympic Park, 4.1 km away from McMahon Stadium, 4.4 km away from Market Mall and 9 km from Downtown Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing