We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like family...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Viking, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like family...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

When I checked into the hostel, I was surprised at how friendly everyone was. Jeff and Lennart were great guys and fun to hang out with... Very helpful and knew the area really well. I stayed for three nights and made some really great friends in that short period. I definitely would recommend staying at this hostel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krista1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
1
13
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

is well located, train station and Parking. rooms are small I had 1 for 4 people but it fit 3 ppl with bags whit lot of luck, if is more than 3 people seriously you guys has to leave the bags in hallway, beds are ok. book for 4 nights but leave before my check out date. is impossible to sleep the rooms are next to the common areas, I went for 3 nights and every night people talking or drinking not going so far the last night I sleep there were people making noise until 4 am and the night before a discussion was quite high almost ended in a fight, the hostel has mostly long terms people so every one know each other it does not look like a real backpacker

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank uprivercamaleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I only stayed at the Wicked hostel for one night before we caught a flight out to Vegas the next day,

was suprised at how quiet the place was, had a bunk room with at least 10 beds all to ourselves, but it was nice and I would stay again.

friendly staff too :D

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Great value for money, great people and all round great place to stay if you're traveling on a budget. Located right near the ctrain, saddledome and stampede.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgettk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Fantastic location for Stampede and downtown Calgary, comfortable beds, clean washrooms, hot showers, nice breakfast, owners and staff are very helpful. Met lots of really nice friendly people. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckleBunny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I needed a place to crash while visiting the Calgary Stampede with friends, and Wicked was ideal for both cost and location (literally right across the street from the Stampede Park entrance!)

I had sworn never to darken the door of anything calling itself a hostel ever again after some negative experiences in Toronto, but I'm glad to say that this place restored my faith somewhat. The atmosphere in the communal areas was relaxed, and thankfully lacked that somewhat pretentious air that I feel a lot of backpackers hostels have.

I opted for a private room, rather than a dorm, and found it a perfectly acceptable place to lay my head for the night. The owner was in town during my stay (I think he normally lives in Saskatchewan), and seemed friendly and pleasant enough.

I don't have too much more to say because I literally only used it as a place to sleep after the Stampede shenanigans, but it seemed a pretty cool place, so if you need somewhere to stay in Calgary and don't care too much for the fancy extras (and cost!) of the chain hotels, then Wicked is well worth checking out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarrior_PPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed one night, on Aug long week-end. The place wasnt full. I got a room for myself! Rooms are clean, bathrooms are clean. Could have use a storage room as the room are pretty tiny. Services are good, staff genuily cares. Ill return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicked Hostels - Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicked Hostels - Calgary

Property: Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Address: 1505 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wicked Hostels - Calgary 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Calgary's newest and only independent backpacker/youth hostel. We are striving to create the best backpacker accommodation in the area by offering such amenities as: The closest possible accommodation to Stampede Park/Saddledome (it's across the street). Free Breakfast, free parking, free long-distance calls to over 40 countries, free WIFI, free internet computers, movie nights projected on the common room wall. Hostel planned events such as pub crawls, floats down the Elbow River, ski trips to Olympic Park, Bike and Golf club hire, Hotel quality pillow-top spring mattresses, Hairdryers /straighteners for hire. But most importantly, we strive to create a great atmosphere where you can have fun, meet great people and have an amazing adventure with us here in Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wicked Hostels - Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing