We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for female travelers that care about safety”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 21 October 2013

When I arrived I didn't receive the King room that I requested. The alternate they put me in backed on to the garage area in the back with curtains that don't close - leaving light on all night and ability for people to peer in (I'm a single female traveling). So I requested a room change.

I was moved to a room on the 3rd floor and at 4 months pregnant took my own bags from one room to the other.

First day I realized that the outlet in the bathroom didn't work - not just the hair dryer but the entire outlet. Joanne took the request to have it looked at while I was out all day. There was no note that it was fixed and it wasn't when I returned.

The next morning I called to have it looked at again because I had to plug my flat iron in around the door in the bar area. They finally fixed.

I didn't appreciate this level of service nor the level of safety for a female guest.

The driver of the airport shuttle is a tad aggressive on the road - you know that when everyone grabs on to something for dear life.

Only saving graces this trip was the service in the restaurant which wasn't great last time.

For now - this hotel is off my list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor that doesn't back onto the parking area. I had room 309. Bring a clip t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaitieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I apologize for the inconvenience that you went through in not being able to recieve the proper bed type that you had requested. We will make sure to place your bed type preference on your profile so upon your return you will receive the bed type that you have requested. I will also be speaking to all my shuttle drivers to remind them to drive with care.

Thank you for providing me with this feedback to help our hotel strive for superior customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. We normally really like the Holiday Inn brand. The hotel helped us with our request in letting us have a main floor room. There also is an area of covered parking, which is nice. Unfortunately, upon checking into our room, I immediately could smell a terrible smell of cigarette smoke, with the odor being worse in the bathroom. My sinuses burned from the smell, as I have a slight allergy to the smoke, but I lived with it.

The room was a decent size and very clean, so no problems there. Hubby was impressed with the large TV and HD channels. Having a mini bar area with cupboards, microwave, and fridge was nice (no freezer). Air conditioning and furnace worked well (we used both at different times of the day). We had a really good sleep, the option of having two different firmness of pillows was nice, and the beds were super comfy.

One thing we really missed from the usual Holiday Inn hotel experience was a continental breakfast. We got a few groceries the night before so we could make our own breakfast in our room, but it is nice to just go to the continental and then you don't have to worry about doing this.

Another unfortunate thing was the water temp. I definitely was woken up in the morning as the shower I had was no warmer than lukewarm. I wasn't super happy about this. When I made a bath for my 3-year-old son, even he said he was cold and had to get out.

After spending the cool fall day at Calaway Park, we were pretty chilled. When hubby went to shower and only got lukewarm water, he was mad and went to the front desk about it. We did get really good service when the (manager, I think) came to check it out. He did offer us to move to the room across from us with no water issues and a nicer smelling bathroom/room. He said it was likely an issue with the boilers as they have 2 boiler rooms, and that's why our room was affected and the other one not. The smell I think had something to do with the vents.

Anyway, he offered us some breakfast vouchers and some money off our room. That made it better, and you could tell he wanted to make it up.

The pool was nice and actually warm. Some hotel swimming pools are so cold you can hardly stand it. The hot tub could be bumped up a few degrees, but it was I nice size and actually clean.

Would I stay here again? Probably. Overall, it was a good experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank PrairieFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your most recent experience at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I am sorry for the inconvenince you went through inregards to the hot water issue and the smell of the room once you walked in. I will be taking these concerns to my Housekeeping Manager and Maintanence Manager. I hope that you provide us another opportunity to be of service to you again the next time you visit Calgary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have stayed here before we have to fly home and it has been upgraded since then. Brilliant location for airport, spotless, comfortable, ground floor room nice and comfy, and upgraded. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Think they are upgrading them all now
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I am happy to hear that you are happy with the recent renovations that we did to our hotel. I hope that we will be able to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I chose this hotel because it was near the airport, but was wowed by what a wonderful Holiday Inn it was. There was a hotel/airport shuttle as expected, but the driver was pleasant and polite. Registration went quickly and the staff was very helpful with my needs. I was able to print out my boarding passes for my early a.m. flight with no problems at their business center, which saved me time in the morning. My room was large and very quiet, which was wonderful. The morning shuttle was on time, so there was no delay getting to the airport.
The hotel was clean, well run and pleasant. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertsmfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. I hope that we are able to be of sefvice to you again if you are ever visiting Calgary. Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Located on the East side of town, this Holiday Inn has been recently renovated. It is close to the Airport, but bot so close that all you hear are airplanes landing and taking off. Located just off the Trans Canada Highway, this hotel gives you quick access to all of Calgary.

The newly renovated rooms are well appointed and very quiet. The front office staff are friendly and very helpful.

This is a must stay location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. We are happy that you were able to enjoy your stay. We hope to be the hotel of choice the next time you are visiting the Calgary area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

really enjoyed my stay with my buddies, staff were very friendly and cooperative....property were so clean and nicely maintained....worth staying....did not get chance visit swimming pool and other amenities.

Room Tip: no idea lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibi_Rizvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. We had just finished renovations on our Jacuzzi Suites and we are happy that you were able to enjoy the room. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

While searching our GPS for a place to it, we picked this place based on it's name "Sunset Grill".
We figured, why not?

We parked at the Holiday Inn, and proceeded upstairs to the restaurant. We were immediately greeted and seated. Table cloths, and fabric napkins - it felt a little fancier than we expected. The prices were very reasonable, and average price.
Our waiter arrived and was very pleasant.
The kids picked from the kids menu (normal kids fare) and the adults choose from the regular menu.
The food was good, and the price was right. Turns out that kids eat free on certain nights, so that was a nice bonus.
The restaurant was very quiet - we were there on a Sunday right around supper time.

We would likely eat there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your dining experience in our Restaurant. We are happy that we were able to exceed your expectations. I hope that upon your next stay, you will be able to stay and utilize our guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#41 of 110 in Calgary
643 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Airport Inn
Best Western Airport Inn
#49 of 110 in Calgary
457 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary Airport

Address: 1250 McKinnon Dr NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £55 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel. This 100% n on smoking, family friendly Calgary hotel is located near beautiful downtown Calgary and close to the Calgary International Airport At Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, guests have access to the following destinations and attractions: Business: Shaw, Atco Gas, UPS, Coca company, etc. Leisure: including the Calgary Zoo, Sunridge Mall, Calgary Stampede and Barlow Trail Restaurants and entertainment facilities. Discover modern amenities and decor in our guest rooms and suites, including 32-inch LCD televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, and ergonomic chairs, just to name a few. You can also stay connected with friends, family, or the office via our complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel as well as our business centre. We also offer 2124 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. Relax after a long day in our heated indoor pool, hot tub or workout in our fully equipped fitness room. Grab a bite at the Sunset Grill with a wide variety of dishes or unwind with one of our feature cocktails in the Twelve Fifty Lounge. Other features include a complimentary shuttle, plenty of free parking during your stay, in house guest laundry facility and Priority Club points or Air Miles. Find what you re looking for and so much more at the brilliant Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing