We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn - Renovations Didn't Stop Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
463 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn - Renovations Didn't Stop Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Even though this hotel was undergoing renovations, the staff went the extra mile to make their guests stay a pleasant one. Although lacking in decor, the temporary restaurant set up still managed to do the trick in meeting the guest's needs. Good breakfast buffet...average price. Nice pool and hot tub although only used the hot tub. Clean rooms, up-to-date decor. No major complaints. Restaurants were close in vicinity to hotel but still had to drive due to extreme cold temperatures (obviously not Holiday Inn's fault!). Would recommend the hotel and would stay there on returning visits.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn CAlgary Airport. I would also like to thank you for your patience during our renovations process. I hope that you are able to come and visit us again once our renovations are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    139
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
86
95
42
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge Alberta
Level Contributor
214 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is our six year in a row that we have stayed here for our winter get away hotel here in Calgary. Shuttle service both ways, very good. Our room was in great shape. I know this is an older hotel , but the upgrades are very nice. Parking our car in the back , no problems at all over the years . looking forward for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. We pride ourselves in consisten service and it is really great to hear that you have been getting that type of service everytime you have stayed here. We look forward to being of service to you again next time you are in the Calgary area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This Hotel is renovating and charging the same price as other Hotels. Their Halls are drywall only and their Restaurant is in an office suite. Pathetic! I expect a certain level of quality from the Holiday Inn chain and was extremely disappointed. However if you like cold showers with very little water pressure, paper thin walls, cramped dirty and dated rooms, and management that frankly doesn't care, than this is the place for you. Do yourself a favor and shop around. Very sad for the Holiday Inn chain, but hopefully they can turn things around. I suggest a change in management would be a great start.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your most recent stay here ay the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I am sorry that your stay was an inconvenient one. We are renovating the hotel to make the decor more modern and up to date. I will speak to my maintenance regarding the hot water problem that you had encountered. We are also in the processof renovating our guest rooms to take care of the paper thin walls that you were speaking of during your stay. I hope that you would provide us with another oppourtunity to provide you with the customer service that you are accustomed to from Holiday Inns, once our hotel is completely renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Coming with client we came here at the last minute. The hotel team organized a meeting room with coffee break and meeting requirement in few hours. The lunch and service was also very good. Next time I would most likely stay here as the hotel is very close to the airport and under refurbishment.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eskimo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed one night on our way to Mexico. We chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and had a 24 hour shuttle. The shuttle was a little bit of a problem as the driver locked the running van with all our luggage in it when we arrived in Calgary, We had to wait an hour for a spare set of keys to be brought to the airport. The restaurant was good, beds comfortable and the rooms quiet. The 4am morning shuttle was waiting for us and no problem. Would use this hotel again for an overnight trip, for anything else it appeared to be in the middle of not too much, we didn't even see many places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you want a great hotel close to the airport this is the place. Everyone friendly and very accommodating to your every need. Business required extra chair and few amenities and they were there in no time. One of best Holiday Inn I have stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Check in was ok. Girl at the desk was new and her trainer was not paying attention to what was going on. Room was good size, could not get the TV to work. Had no control over the heat in room and found it very dry. Got woken up because someone was trying to get into my room. Very loud in the hallways, which kept me away. Had a bath and the stopper would not work so had to stuff a face cloth in the drain. Coffee maker would not work properly and poured coffee all over the counter. Was so fed up with staying there that I left early. When I checked out the front desk man did not ask me how I wanted to pay and put it on my CC which I did not want to, I had my debit card in my hand but he didnt even bother to look up at me. I told him I was upset with that and that I had a horrible stay and he just strugged his shoulders and said sorry. Will never be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations during your stay. I have addressed your comments with all departments to ensure that his does not happen again in the near future to one of our guests. I hope that you will provide us with another oppourtunity to provide you the customer service that we usually provide everyone that stays at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
#55 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Address: 1250 McKinnon Drive NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel. This 100% n on smoking, family friendly Calgary hotel is located near beautiful downtown Calgary and close to the Calgary International Airport At Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, guests have access to the following destinations and attractions: Business: Shaw, Atco Gas, UPS, Coca company, etc. Leisure: including the Calgary Zoo, Sunridge Mall, Calgary Stampede and Barlow Trail Restaurants and entertainment facilities. Discover modern amenities and decor in our guest rooms and suites, including 32-inch LCD televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, and ergonomic chairs, just to name a few. You can also stay connected with friends, family, or the office via our complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel as well as our business centre. We also offer 2124 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. Relax after a long day in our heated indoor pool, hot tub or workout in our fully equipped fitness room. Grab a bite at the Sunset Grill with a wide variety of dishes or unwind with one of our feature cocktails in the Twelve Fifty Lounge. Other features include a complimentary shuttle, plenty of free parking during your stay, in house guest laundry facility and Priority Club points or Air Miles. Find what you re looking for and so much more at the brilliant Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing