We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Early enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night hear while on holidays. Excellent place to stay and it is dog friendly. Very clean and comfortable close to a number of restaurants, nice pool hot tub area with a great water slide for the kids. Lots of shopping close buy. Very friendly front end staff. Breakfast was included, and it was fantastic, had everything we wanted and more very well organized and serviced. Rooms were a good size and the bed very comfortable and clean. Great place to stay while you are in Calgary.




Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    24
    17
    27
See reviews for
68
53
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night, over the Easter weekend. The rooms were nice and comfortable and very clean. The continental breakfast the next morning was excellent- there was way more selection than we thought there would be. To us, a continental breakfast is nothing merely more than tea/coffee, juice and muffins. This went way beyond- there were many hot items to choose from.

The only downfall would be the lack of hot water when we attempted to shower in the morning. It wasn't cold, just luke warm.

Other than that, I think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Second time staying here was same as the first. Nice place, friendly staff, clean and comfortable. However, in the breakfast room..the amount of plastic fork and styro plate usage is pretty insane. Real plates, cups,saucers etc would be appreciated please. Even those in an Express rush would agree we don't need to be generating such waste. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banffperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just got back from a weekend at the Holiday Inn on Lake Fraser Drive. We often stay here when our girls have a tournament in Calgary. The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms are spacious, the showers have great water pressure and the price is right. The breakfast buffet in the morning is a real treat if you need to be out the door quickly with the team. No need to order and wait. The food choice is excellent. Coffee is as good or better than the drive through coffee shops. On the second day we asked if there was any yogurt as they were out. 15 minutes later someone showed up with yogurt. They had sent someone to the store to buy some for us. The staff is absolutely excellent. We asked for a room change after the first night, as we were across from the elevator, which can get quite noisy. They were more than happy and wiling to accommodate our request. They even moved all of our stuff for us. The beds are very comfortable. The room can get quite warm, so definitely cool it off well before going to sleep. This is the only reason I did not give 5 stars fo our sleep quality, as the room can get very warm during the night and it got quite noisy close to the elevator. There are lots of amenities very close to the hotel. (Chinook Mall, Tim Horton’s, Esso, Boston Pizza, Vietnamese restaurant, bank, liquor store) We will definitely stay at the hotel again when we go back in April.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great size rooms, stayed one night up on the 4th floor in a suite, the suite had everything you could ask for. The beds were great, pool and hot tub area was fantasic.
Our second night we moved to the 1st floor for a pet friendly room, my suggestion for pet friendly rooms is to have the same quality experience. Some of the furniture was really in rough condition,
the room was still very spacious and the beds very comfy. It does give you a strange feeling seeing the differance.
We have always been very happy staying at Holiday Inn Express

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twobcurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just got back from a weekend at the Holiday Inn on Lake Fraser Drive. We often stay here when our girls have a tournament in Calgary. The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms are spacious, the showers have great water pressure and the price is right. The breakfast buffet in the morning is a real treat if you need to be out the door quickly with the team. No need to order and wait. The food choice is excellent. Coffee is as good or better than the drive through coffee shops. On the second day we asked if there was any yogurt as they were out. 15 minutes later someone showed up with yogurt. They had sent someone to the store to buy some for us. The staff is absolutely excellent. We asked for a room change after the first night, as we were across from the elevator, which can get quite noisy. They were more than happy and wiling to accommodate our request. They even moved all of our stuff for us. The beds are very comfortable. The room can get quite warm, so definitely cool it off well before going to sleep. This is the only reason I did not give 5 stars fo our sleep quality, as the room can get very warm during the night and it got quite noisy close to the elevator. There are lots of amenities very close to the hotel. (Chinook Mall, Tim Horton’s, Esso, Boston Pizza, Vietnamese restaurant, bank, liquor store) We will definitely stay at the hotel again when we go back in April.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I typically avoid Holiday Inn hotels for several years now simply because they are a little hit and miss. We stayed here only because of the reviews on trip advisor. I will say I was pleasantly surprised! PROS: The hotel is newer so it is nicer. The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean. I don't know how busy the hotel was but it was quiet. We did not have the breakfast but noticed it was still going at 10am...which seemed later than most hotels. It is close to stores/restaurants ect. CONS: The staff was not friendly or welcoming. The pillows were really lumpy. The air conditioner was noisy. The wifi was up and down. The tv channels and movies were limited (and expensive).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenLoverinAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#38 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#28 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Address: 12025 Lake Fraser Dr, Calgary, Alberta T2J 7G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy A Smart Stay At This Calgary, Alberta Hotel Both leisure and business travelers will benefit from the prime location and amenities found at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in South Calgary. Our hotel's location is 30 km from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and .05 km from the C-Train at Canyon Meadows Station. From the 24-hour fitness centre with elliptical trainer, treadmill and life cycle to the indoor pool with a water slide and a hot tub to the complimentary hot breakfast with warm cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausage, cheddar cheese omelets, yogurt, juice and coffee, we go beyond other hotels in Calgary to give you the amenities you need. Each room features cable TV, a microwave, a refrigerator, a workspace with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. You'll enjoy being in close proximity to Heritage Park, Spruce Meadows Equestrian Park and the major attractions throughout Calgary, Alberta. Our hotel is just a shopping trip away from SouthCentre Mall or Chinatown, and we're a short drive from outdoor fun at the Calgary Zoo, Canada Olympic Park or the world-renowned Calgary Stampede. Lodging here puts business travelers within minutes of Daimler Chrysler, Agrium, Earth Tech, Graham Construction, Reimer Express Lines, Fluor Daniel and other major businesses in South Calgary. Our hotel's amenities include a meeting room and a 24-hour business centre with copy, fax and print services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Calgary South
Holiday Inn Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing