We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Yukon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over night near airport”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is NOT a convenient location for anything. Only 1 restaurant walkable. Hotel shuttle was great, very accommodating.
Room was a bit grubby feeling, worn looking. Too isolated from everything, would not stay again. Staff was very helpful but just too far from anything. Heater also an issue, loud.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear crackermonkey,

Thank you for your review. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel shuttle service. However, I am sorry your stay was negatively affected by our location and room accommodations. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    77
    25
    18
    28
See reviews for
72
53
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

stayed here one night for a work trip. Didn't have breakfast. Good room-decor is modern. TV had tons of channels. Room was very clean. Location is great. Only concern was that the heater was quite loud and I slept in the bed nearest it and it got hot and then cooled off and then quite hot again. Wouldn't put me off staying here again but the circulation could use work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for the location. Close to malls, commercial area and restaurants within walking distance.Noticed all staff were unhappy males except for the front desk. Breakfast was below usual standards. Room window repair was special. See pictures.

Room Tip: Stay for location if need to and consider pets allowed on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2olddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear 2olddogs,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas of improvement with our rooms. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is our second time at this hotel. The hotel is newer and clean. The bed was super comfy. The pillows a little lumpy. We travel with dogs and this was a great place for us to stay. We will be back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenLoverinAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We travel with a dog, and this place is very dog friendly. Our room was 124 on the ground floor close to the exit so I could take our pet out first thing in the morning. Each time we have gone the staff have been very good to us. The beds are very comfortable, and there is no noise from outside. That said, the air-con was pretty noisy, so I turned it off and opened the window. I also parked outside the room because the air intake is directly in line for car exhausts. The Fairfield in Kelowna has signs up asking drivers to park nose in, perhaps this would be a good idea at this hotel as well.

With regards to eating, there are loads of eating places (sushi, Original Joes, pizza, etc) 5-10 minutes from the hotel, some of which deliver to your room if you don't want to go out.

Although still there, the smell of smoke in the lobby was much less pronounced this time.

Room Tip: Again, avoid the rooms near the lifts to avoid the noise, and if on the ground floor, near the offic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCL2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July with 2 adults and 2 kids. We booked a suite with 2 queen beds and sofabed, at check-in offered a free upgrade to a King Suite we accepted with a roll-away being brought in so everyone would still have their own bed! Suite had a fireplace in the bedroom and a wet bar area in the living room.

Hotel was very clean, all employees were very friendly, breakfast was of good quality with good selection. Great location right along McLeod Trail in South Calgary. Kids enjoyed the pool area also.

Would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtravelswith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for a one night stop over in Calgary on September 21 2013.
I had requested early checkin and was able to check into the room by 1:30, awesome!
Romm was clean and the bed was very soft. Pillows however were too soft and small (even the "firm" was too soft for us).
We were the first room (116) right by the lobby, the elevator and the pool but still didnt hear too much noise. The pool was loud during the afternoon but after 7:30 we didn't notice it anymore.
Nice location, close to a few good restaurants, convenience stores and near C-Train station.
Will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britta_D_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#28 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Address: 12025 Lake Fraser Dr, Calgary, Alberta T2J 7G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy A Smart Stay At This Calgary, Alberta Hotel Both leisure and business travelers will benefit from the prime location and amenities found at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in South Calgary. Our hotel's location is 30 km from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and .05 km from the C-Train at Canyon Meadows Station. From the 24-hour fitness centre with elliptical trainer, treadmill and life cycle to the indoor pool with a water slide and a hot tub to the complimentary hot breakfast with warm cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausage, cheddar cheese omelets, yogurt, juice and coffee, we go beyond other hotels in Calgary to give you the amenities you need. Each room features cable TV, a microwave, a refrigerator, a workspace with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. You'll enjoy being in close proximity to Heritage Park, Spruce Meadows Equestrian Park and the major attractions throughout Calgary, Alberta. Our hotel is just a shopping trip away from SouthCentre Mall or Chinatown, and we're a short drive from outdoor fun at the Calgary Zoo, Canada Olympic Park or the world-renowned Calgary Stampede. Lodging here puts business travelers within minutes of Daimler Chrysler, Agrium, Earth Tech, Graham Construction, Reimer Express Lines, Fluor Daniel and other major businesses in South Calgary. Our hotel's amenities include a meeting room and a 24-hour business centre with copy, fax and print services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Calgary South
Holiday Inn Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing