We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Calgary University
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 16 June 2014

rooms and hallways could have used paint, ac unit in room very noisy and water dripped out of it constantly making carpet wet and didnt smell good, breakfast selections was poor, ice bucket was filthy with no liner available first night, outside appearance was poor, just generally not a great stay, i really expected better

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank bradvq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your experience in regards to your recent stay. We do take great pride in the upkeep of our hotel, and I am very disappointed to hear your stay was less than you expected. Please be assured that our staff is working every day to keep the property looking clean and uplifted. Just recently, we have completely repainted our lobby and first floor hall way, and are now moving on to the other floors and guest rooms. Our breakfast selection is actually much larger than most continental breakfasts in the industry at our rates. Our breakfast includes: waffles, three different cereals, pastries, hard boiled eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt, muffins, oatmeal, coffee, juice & milk.

Once again I do apologize if you found your accommodations less than satisfactory and we would love to make it up to you if you do decide to give us a second chance! Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your concerns further.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TlodgeUnv, Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Let me start with the fact there are many upsides to the Travelodge Calgary University. The relatively central location is great, there is lots of food and shopping within easy walking distance, easy access to the University and McMahon Stadium, C-train station just up the street.
Unfortunately there are downsides as well. The main one is that this is not a new hotel. It is way past the point where it is shiny and new. It is in need of an updating. Our experience was great at this hotel, and the rooms and public spaces seemed well maintained and clean, but the overall impression that you get from the hotel is that it is worn out. The pool is outdoors and was still "closed for the season" in late May. The area where the free breakfast is served is very cramped. All the rooms are air conditioned, but the air conditioners are window style air conditioners mounted in the wall which are quite noisy and lead to difficulty sleeping for light sleepers.
That said the hotel staff were very friendly and attentive and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back. Banff Trail can be noisy and does have the trains going by and a lot of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamedePlumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Guest feed-back is extremely valuable to us, and we appreciate all that you have offered us with your comments. We are certainly aware the hotel could no longer be considered “new”, however our staff does take enormous pride in the upkeep. We are pleased to hear that you found your room clean, and our service friendly. We hope to serve you again very soon!

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Donelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TlodgeUnv, Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TlodgeUnv, Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

In January 2013 I reviewed this hotel and had many issues with my stay. I was contacted by the hotel manager as they seemed very upset that my stay was so stressful. They were very understanding of my complaints and came through with a free night stay to make up for all the trouble. They even put a small fruit basket in the room for us for when we arrived. This time the stay was much better with the staff more attentive and friendly. The room was clean and the issues we faced the first stay were not present the second time. My hat is off for them at least stepping forward to right the situation. They obviously do make every effort to satisfy customers. I was very impressed with our second stay and indeed would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room that does not face the west parking lot as they pick up garbage bins at 5am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are so pleased to see you chose to share this experience with us. We do strive to make each and every stay great for our guests, and we truly do care about each of them. Thank you for letting us make-up for your previous experience, and we hope to provide you with more great hospitality in the near future.

Thank you & all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TlodgeUnv, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#49 of 109 in Calgary
700 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#73 of 109 in Calgary
334 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing