We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meetings - Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meetings - Stay Away”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We're a national speakers organization that speaks all over the world. We had an experience tonight that defies logic and certainly doesn't show any sense whatsoever that this hotel understands either the convention/meetings business or customer service.

We have their main meeting room booked for a meeting on Saturday morning. We were there on Friday evening at 7PM to approve the room set up - all organized ahead of time. The room was not ready and the staff working on it were unable to give us a time when they would be done or any sense of the size of the stage, which was our main concern.

After being pressed, they told us the room would be set up by midnight and so we said we would be back before midnight, as we were going to dinner with our internationally known speakers. We arrived back at the hotel at 10PM but were refused entry to the room. First of all the excuse was that they didn't have a key. After we pressed them (what about a fire - what happens?), the front desk person admitted they had an employee entrance but would not allow us even through that to view the room.

We have a heavily technical meeting with one hour to set up in the room and so they are jeopardizing the success of the meeting for now apparent reason. AND they were supposed to call me during the evening to tell me when the room would be set up for viewing. They didn't do that, either.

So, if you're planning a meeting at a hotel in Calgary, stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mediamaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageparkinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Village Park Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback and I appreciated the chance to speak with you personally off line to get further details. Our team missed an opportunity to ensure that your meeting was set up properly the night before as there was a degree of difficulty with the audio visual equipment and staging. I have taken this real situation and will be using it as a training tool for my team to ensure that we are reacting to guest’s needs in a thoughtful and caring manner. Luckily, your group meets here monthly and we have a second chance to provide your group with the service level that you deserve. I sincerely apologize that this situation had occurred but appreciate that we have openly discussed it. Sincerely, Jason Clark, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    215
    97
    46
    25
See reviews for
205
138
38
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Only stayed here one night but it was a nice hotel.When we were allocated our room it
was smelling of cigarette smoke and the receptionist immediately gave us another room.Room 238 was comfortable with all the usual toiletries provided and a large bed.
We tried Dennys for breakfast which was ok but not very impressed.Visited Joeys for
dinner but again would not wish to eat here again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageparkinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Village Park Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Thank you very much for your recent comments on your stay at the Best Western Village Park Inn. I was pleased to hear that our staff addressed your concerns with cigarette odor and offered a viable alternative. We have recently replaced the weather stripping on all exterior doors as I believe that a guest who may have smoked on the balcony could have caused the issue. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Calgary and you will be glad to see that we have changed all our bedding to duvets with 4 pillows per bed- it is a nice upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed here for one night only in June this year. The room was clean, comfortable had a fridge and in room safe which were handy. Good location for the airport and plenty of underground parking available (free of charge). Reception staff were very welcoming and the free wireless internet connection was very good. Only negative would be that the wind whistled through the air con unit during the night which was a bit annoying at times however, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago, and it was fine and one that I would have recommended to others. However, move forward a few years and things have changed. The hotel seems old, tired and dirty. The rooms are average size and dated in decor. If you ask for anything extra, such as a pillow, be prepared to be persistent, or you might not get what you ask for. Also the back doors of the rooms are drafty and need new weatherstripping as there was a noticeable draft coming through ours. This also led to exhaust fumes coming in to our room from a diesel truck running in the back lane. Only stay here if you have to, as I am sure that there are better hotels in Calgary that can give you better value for your dollar.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank secretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lberq
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I too am someone who has stayed at this hotel before. A few years ago I would of given it an excellent review across the board. Now....
1. They really need to do something about soundproofing, every time the person staying next door opened or closed their door, it sounded like someone was walking into our room. Kids in the pool echo throughout the building. I'm not talking about a tournament or anything, just a couple of kids playing with their parents in the pool having fun.
2. Cleanliness has gone right downhill. Wallpaper was peeling, grouting in the bathroom really needs to be redone, or at least cleaned. The bathrooms are also really tiny.
3. We asked for an extra pillow the first night and was told that there wasn't any in the entire hotel, yet one magically appeared when we went down and spoke with the management the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lberq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The layout of this hotel is terrible. Its central courtyard design makes for a very loud environment. Maybe I was unlucky that I stayed there at the same time as a youth tennis tournament... but I would likely not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Stayed in this hotel at start of Rockies tour. Spent 2 nights in hotel.

Rooms : Great size. Comfortable beds. Walls a bit thin - or maybe the mexican next to us was just extra loud with his speech and stereo. Rooms have 2 doors - one to the outside balcony and one to the inside courtyard.

Food: Great breakfast. Bar was closed when we visited.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful.

Pool - in centre of the courtyard - it was right outside our room but didnt use it so cant really comment. looked ok though.

Calgary - in May there is only the tower to see. Didnt feel safe anywhere in Calgary due to down n outs (hobos ?). Saturday in Calgary and the place is deserted. Tower is worth the visit. Glad we started here and not ended here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#41 of 109 in Calgary
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 109 in Calgary
670 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Village Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Village Park Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Address: 1804 Crowchild Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 3Y7, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Village Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FULLY RENOVATED. a new design will capture your eyes. new rooms will give your body a night of sleep that you will always remember. Classy, Modern, and comfortable. a piece of art is ready for you to stay and enjoy . The BEST WESTERN VILLAGE PARK INN is Spacious. Open, Warm and Welcoming. Plus we have great people waiting to serve and accommodate you. Discover this full-service Calgary hotel offering underground parking, high-speed Internet and convenient location in the heart of Calgary. The BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn takes great pride in offering attentive customer care to every guest traveling to Calgary for business or leisure. Hotel guests will find this the perfect location situated right off Highway 1 (Trans Canada) and the Calgary Light Rail System. The University of Calgary and McMahon Stadium are within walking distance from the hotel. World-renowned Children's Hospital and the Foothills Hospital are nearby. Business travelers will be near many corporate locations including the Garrison Business Park. For guests looking for things to do in Calgary, the hotel offers access to the Calgary Zoo, Calgary Stampede and Banff National Park. Each stylish and spaciously-appointed guest room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enhanced amenities include an on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge, indoor swimming pool, executive club floor with VIP services and underground heated parking (fee). Business, conference, wedding and ballroom facilities are also available. Stay at the BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn for superior customer service and a great location in Calgary, Alberta! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Village Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Village Park Hotel Calgary
Best Western Village Park Inn Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing