We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and myself s tyed here for 3 nights a tthe beginning of June. I would say that with it's location near the downtown core (or City Centre) is it perfect. You could probably walk to the core area in 20 or so minutes, or to the C-train in 10. There is a Safeway grocers about a 5 min walk away and some pretty good restaurants another 5-10 or so minutes away walking. Although there is free parking, we tried to walk to most locations.

We had a king room and it was perfect. Perfeclty clean and roomy. I picked this hotel on price based upon what other downtown hotels cost and I was super happy with my choice. Although this hotel seems to be a major staying place for business travelers, as older people on a holiday this was a great choice too. They have a small kitchenette in the room along with a mini-fridge. You could probably cook a meal although they "stove" were electric burners, why not go out and try some Alberta Beef when you are there. The did have the basic continental breakfast with juices, cereal, milk, coffee, breads, rolls and of course the do it yourself wafflemaker (and thank you to the nice woman working the breakfast room, helped with my ineptness trying to learn the basics of waffle making!).

The front desk was very helpful in getting me directions to places I wanted to see, and they have a nice little business/computer room if you need to use a computer, although they do provide free internet in the rooms. FYI, although the hotel has free WIFI, it was faster using the cable (cad) connector in the room rather then the WIFI,,the cable is in the desk.

If I make it back to Clagary (and I want t o be there some year for the Stampede) this will be my choice of hotels to saty at.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Calgary for just one night after a Rocky Mountaineer train trip from Calgary and before going to Vancouver Island..
.
This hotel chosen because it is one of the locations that Pacific Coach Lines will pick-up from for their service to Victoria, Vancouver Island.

We arrived at about 6pm and were greeted in a friendly an efficient manner. Our room was swiftly allocated `and was perfect for our needs - a little smaller than some, but with a very confortable bed, nice decor and well furnished and equiped. The airconditioning unit worked quietly and effectively (unlike our previous night in Kamloops.....)

We didn't need to eat so cannot comment on the bar / restaurant.

But would use the hotel again and recommend it for anyone needing a comfortable, cost-effective downtown hotel.

Room Tip: aswk for a higher floor
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

As a consultant who travels from coast to coast I have been a frequent guest at the newly renovated Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown Calgary for more than a decade. Many of these reasons are practical and make enormous sense for the business person. Being in a suite and close to the downtown core with available parking both surface and underground is a real advantage year round. You are only a 5 to 10 minute walk to a large grocery store, great variety of restaurants of all types and prices, drug stores, gas station, public transit and access to a diverse shopping zone that ranges from the reasonable to up scale. After long days of working and meetings there isn’t a better location in Calgary and frankly I have tried almost all of them.

However, Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown Calgary works for me is because of the staff. They have always been more than helpful and respond quickly and effectively to requests. The right staff, location and facility make it a pick for me, my staff and my colleagues.

Room Tip: for single traveller: room 70 on each floor
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PJMT-SALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My husband and I have been staying at the Best Western on 14 St. and 8th Avenue on a regular basis basically since 1996. The staff are wonderful, the location is excellent for us, and all of our needs have been met. The new elevator system is a definite asset to the efficiency of the hotel.

Room Tip: We like the __90 rooms on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirleymcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone for its great staff, clean rooms, friendly reception, and downtown location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calgarybound41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Over the past 20 years or so, I have been visiting Calgary on business or pleasure, and have stayed at a great many different hotels (equivalent 3-4-5 star). About 12 months ago, I tried this one, and was impressed by the friendly, courteous, efficient staff; the clean and comfortable rooms (with kitchenettes); the copious buffet breakfasts; and the free outdoor parking, and (even better) free secure, indoor parking (great when it has been snowing all night, and you want to get into a warm, dry car!)

The hotel has a business centre, with two computers, which is very handy. While not in the very centre of the downtown area, it is only a few blocks by car, and I even enjoyed the walk north and northeast to the theatres and pedestrian precinct of Stephen Avenue.

I love the view of downtown Calgary from the upper floors. The hotel has brand-new elevators, so waiting on the upper floors will now be speedy.

Room Tip: Corner ones quietest; but cold walls in winter!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I have been staying at this BW hotel location for the last few years for all my business travels. The convenience of free parking, proximity to bus/LRT routes and being so close to 17th Ave with all its shopping and restaurants is very appealing.

The hotel serves up a decent continental break fast and the suites are always clean; as well, having ready, reliable access to wireless internet at no additional cost is appealing.

Best of all, staff has always been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edmonton_AlbertaAzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £70 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing