We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

On a road trip from Helena to Vancouver, booked in at the Best Western Hotel. It is located near 17th avenue in the hub of pub and restaurant district. We went to Morgans that night for a quick drink as we needed to leave early.
The staff at the hotel were very courteous and knowledgeable about the area and surroundings.
They upgraded us at no cost to a king suite on the 8th floor the room was on the East side of the building and had a view of the downtown skyline. The bed and pillows were amazing, I had the best sleep in my life. I highly recommend this place and would probably stay there again on my way back to Helena.

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms on higher floor away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear Daks B,

We are glad to hear that you had an amazing sleep at our hotel.
We hope to see you on your way back to Helena.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Jacuzzi suite on the top floor was great. The kitchen was a bonus. So nice to have a fridge to keep our beverages cool.
Breakfast had a great variety and there was always lots.
The boiler room was a bit rumbly but we didn't notice it too much. Got a great nights sleep and had lots of fun in the tub!
I would recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redtrouble2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear Redtrouble2,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hot tub suites on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your comments and kind words.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in a jacuzzi suite on the top floor, and it definitely met expectations. This was the most inexpensive jacuzzi room I've ever stayed in (approx $200 after tax), and was still worth the money. The suite is HUGE and includes a separate kitchen and sitting area, and a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, feet away from the bed. The bed was comfortable - not too soft, not too hard. The only downside was the water pressure. It wasn't horrible, but definitely could be better, as well as the temperature control on both the tub and the shower.

This hotel is a great downtown location, situated within walking distance of good pubs and restaurants. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for the jacuzzi suite. It's about $50 more than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heat912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear heat912,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hot tub suite. Your comments are greatly appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I've stayed at many hotels all over the world, its getting harder for me to get around I'm 82 years old now.
This was definitely the best hotel we've ever stayed in! Never received such a warm welcome, we had a great time since the 1st seconds we entered. Room was spacious, clean, bed comfortable, bathroom had a very good size. Breakfast was fantastic, loads of things to choose from and every single member of staff very kind, polite. Location was brilliant too, that we didn't realize until we got there. Everything was walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear John T,

I am very happy to read you comments on TripAdvisor.
It was our pleasure having you here at our hotel and look forward to many returns.


Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hotel s clean, the free breakfast is great and free parking!! Check in staff friendly and accomodating. Room was a little dated but the bed was comfy. Nice to have a small kitchen.

Good shower and free wireless too. Close to 17th street and also downtown core.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beanboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear beanboy2000,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read that it was an enjoyable stay for you and that the amenities provided were to your liking!

Thank you and We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have stayed at Best Western hotels all over Washington, Oregon and BC and this was our first time staying at this one in Calgary.
I got an amazing deal for a king bed suite on hotels.com and we chose the hotel because of it's location.
I have to say that this room was the nicest one we've had at all the Best Western's that we have stayed at.
Generally speaking we know that this is the not the fanciest chain.... and typically we choose it only based on location and pricing.... but we will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Calgary.
The room was spacious, and super clean. The king bed was much comfier then normal BW beds, and the little kitchen area was cute. Not your typical kitchen area, but useful none the less.
The location was good, and we were on the top floor facing the city skyline.
Not super duper close to the downtown area, but we wanted to be close to the breweries and pubs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel_princess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear travel_princess82,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read that it was an enjoyable stay for you and that the service you experienced will prompt you to recommend Best Western Plus Suites Downtown!
Thank you and We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great Management and great rooms! We picked this location to accomodate our families for our Wedding. The staff took us for a tour of the various suites and hotel rooms available ahead of time and promptly took and held our reservations, all that during the busiest time of the year (July long weekend). The rooms are great and fully renovated. Every single party that stayed there had a great experience. We had to cancel a room last minute and the Management was very professional about it.

I have also referred corporate clients to stay there while being in town, and they all had a great experience. I believe that they offer a great product (great rooms) for the price compare to many other Hotel chains in Calgary, while being located two blocks from trendy 17th Avenue SW.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guillaume B,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed both your stay and our newly renovated facilities.
It is heartwarming to hear such positive reviews on our staff and we will share your comments with them.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £51 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing