We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Warm Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

George and his staff went out of their way to ensure that I had a wonderful stay. This hotel was highly recommended by a colleague and I wasn't disappointed. I loved being able to walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Randy,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with regards to your summertime stay. It is important when our regular customers refer people our way that we deliver on what we are known for and we are happy to receive such high marks for it. We hope to see you next time you are in Calgary!

Kind Regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was in Calgary for 1 night in late August and booked this based on the proximity to my work site and price.

The check in was pretty smooth after waiting a few minutes while they attended to other customers.

You need to insert your key card on the elevator...not my favourite thing. I assume it was for security reasons given the downtown location. The suite was huge with 2 bedrooms, a massive living room, a kitchenette and dining area. The layout of the living room area was interesting in that the couch was close to 20 feet away from the TV so I just watched TV in my room. The bathroom could use some fixing up - some of the grout was a bit gross but otherwise pretty clean.

The street noise (Fire engines) was noticeable where I was located on the night that I stayed. Nothing the hotel can do about this but its good to be aware of the street noise.

The location was amazing and allowed me to walk to my work engagement on 16 Avenue. I also love the fact that there is a good cafe located across the street from the hotel.

The breakfast was pretty standard for a complimentary one. Free parking was a really nice feature because of the cost of parking in downtown Calgary.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side, away from the street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bald_giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear bald_giraffe,

Thank you so much for completing a review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed both our facilities and location.


Thank you and look forward to hosting you in the near future.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I always enjoy my stay at this Best Western. Stay here frequently when I’m on business in Calgary, very convenient for nearby restaurants and bars. Has it all in my opinion, comfy beds, nice size rooms, good breakfast and accommodating for last minute reservations if available. One of those hotels you can book in advance with peace of mind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PravT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear PravT,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about our hotel.

It is very gratifying to know that you always enjoy your business trips at our hotel.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,


George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Love this hotel, so convenient to everything. We were able to walk to all the sites., lots of restaurants and shopping. The room was large ,spacious. Loved having the one bedroom unit, our son was able to have the living room with pull-out couch to himself, with his own tv. Great views of the city, especially at night, love the lights!! The breakfast room is big and bright, and clean.
The staff is very friendly always smiling and helpful. The front desk is most helpful, gotta love their smiles after a long day of sight-seeing :)

Room Tip: We loved the room on the upper floors facing east ( I believe), great views and no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Verla T,


Thank you for the lovely review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the one bedroom suite and our location.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,


George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stay in Calgary fairly frequently and only stay here. The rooms a great - large and comfortable . The breakfast is wonderful, it changes daily a nice touch for when I'm there for a couple of nights. The staff is warm and friendly. They always find me a space to park my oversize Sprinter Van.
I will stay here every time I'm in Calgary

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Ed,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about our property and for the unique comments. Great frequent guests like yourself are always an inspiration to the staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your continued patronage and hope to see you again soon!!

Kind regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western Suites Downtown and had a great experience. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful, a full hot breakfast and the ladies kept it very well stocked. I liked the fact that there was underground secure parking. And nice to do a load of laundry as well! I would definitely stay at this location again, nice and close to everything we needed and very friendly staff!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheffield C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Sheffield C,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
we appreciate your kind comments and will share us with our staff.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming back in the near future.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Was here for an one night stay with my family. The hotel was in a good location, very close to restaurants, pubs and bars. However, the hotel itself was a nightmare... when we walked into the front desk lobby area, there was a huge smog probably from the renovations. Then when we drove down to the secured underground parking, the garage door was wide open and you can drive in without having to use your guest card. It was definitely not secured. When we got to the room that's when the nightmare began. There were no duvet covers covering the dirty and old duvets. The floor in the kitchen was sticky and dirty. The room was just old, dirty, and run down. Carpet was old and dirty. Everyone felt itchy all over as if being bitten by bugs. It was terrifying... however, their breakfast was pretty good. But I will never return to another best western... they are just not what they were used to anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tea-sah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Tea-sah,


Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests and apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate your comments about our breakfast and with regards to the secure parking lot, at time of your check in, electricians were replacing and adding light fixtures.
We pride ourselves on providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and has always strived to ensure that each guest leave our hotel satisfied.
We welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to go over your concerns and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 110 in Calgary
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing