We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good close to belt line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good close to belt line”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Good hotel close to belt line. Good staff. Needs some renos that they are in the process of doing. Renos a bit noisy but they where done by 5 or 6PM. A bit steep but i guess that is what you have to pay for being downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Good day,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We at the Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown take pride in always trying to improve our facility to better serve our guests, most of which stay with us throughout the year. Your understanding and patience during this process is greatly appreciated as there is never really a good time to do renovations. I hope you will be pleased with the final results.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Calgary!

Kindest regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown Calgary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    288
    99
    25
    17
See reviews for
168
180
61
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Best Western provides clean comfort and a harmonious atmosphere, with pleasant staff, and the basic overall amenities! The breakfast although warm was not as pleasing to me as I have a Gluten allergy and could not find toast or other items that satisfied that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank tgall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Good day,


It's a pleasure to read your unique and positive review about our hotel. We like to be able not to just sell a room but an experience. I do apologize though with regards to the breakfast. Worldwide it can be difficult to provide something consistent for everyone and for gluten free guests to find food options. Some things you can do is to look on Trip Advisor for "Gluten free" hotels or to ask if there is someone at the property who is on a gluten free diet. These people can be a wealth of information and help you find stores or eatery's with gluten free choices.

I hope to be able to host your next stay when you are in town.

Kind regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown Calgary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It was my first time in Calgary, and was for a business trip. Got a very warm welcome from the front desk staff when I was checking in. The hotel has a nice lobby and nice room too - great value for the price. The hotel was in the heart of Calgary downtown, a lot of restaurants and bars around (it's just by 17th Ave which was the entertainment district in Calgary). Bus stop was just 2 steps away (literally). I enjoyed the free parking, very convenient as parking in Calgary downtown was extremely expensive. The room came with free breakfast and free wifi - all the essentials I needed. It was a short stay but I will definitely stay in this Best Western again for my next visit to Calgary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Gabby274,


On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for your glowing review on our property and surrounding area. It is good for people who are not familiar with Calgary to get a picture of what to expect when they travel here and you have painted it well for them.

We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Went to Calgary with a couple friends to see the Flames play against the Red Wings last week. We were happy to find out that the Saddledome was only minutes away from the Best Western. The location is great! So many pubs, restaurants, and cafes around to walk to. The wi-fi was free, so was breakfast which my group of friends and I really appreciated not having to pay an extra $20 for like we usually do at other hotels. The staying price was fair considering that it was in the heart of downtown Calgary. Will definitely stay here again when I come to Calgary again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Rob K,

Thank you for taking the time & effort to write a positive review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and what we have to offer.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I would highly recommend for its location and friendly staff. it is not a fancy hotel but very clean, breakfast was very good and for travelers on a budget you can't go wrong.
The staff were helpful with suggestions for restaurants, shopping etc...The free WIFI and breakfast were a bonus.

Room Tip: Book in advance hotel busy on weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear John M.

Thank you for your positive review on our property. Our motto is "stay with people who care" and we believe nothing shows guests we care more than to offer packaging pricing with no hidden fees. Whether on business or pleasure everyone these days needs internet and we feel all hotels should offer this service complimentary. We are glad you appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mill End
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the Calgary Stampede which our friends in Bedford recommended.
We arrived at the hotel and were not sure if we will get a room as the floods were going on in Calgary. The staff at the hotel assured us that the Stampede will be on "come hell or high water" which by the way the T-shirts they were wearing. A bit of catchy phrase.
They checked is on the second floor as we wanted to be on lowest floor possible.
Our room had a king bed, couch, dining room, kitchen a small living area. we indeed liked the room and spent several hours there eating rather than going out as we needed lots of time to watch the rodeo and all events.
The staff were brilliant in getting us tickets to rodeo and giving us maps and told us the sites to visit.
This is not a posh hotel by any stretch of the imagination, it is a basic one with amenities that suited our needs, Free car park, breakfast and WIFI is all that we needed.
We will definitely go back and visit Canada in the near future.

Room Tip: I liked the second floor as we could walk down to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Good day Barry G,

How wonderful it is to hear that you were treated exceptionally well during your visit to The Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown. It is really pleasing to hear that each staff member you encountered was extremely helpful. With the flood it was difficult but the "show must go on" as they say and hopefully it is all behind us now. Our 2nd floor juniors are comfortable and our housekeeping team are meticulous despite these larger than average rooms.

Thank you for your lovely feedback which I have passed to every department and who will appreciate it very much.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.


Kind regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Clean, lots of outlets for our electronic age which is useful in business. My company booked me in to work the Stampede in 2013. I hope That they book me into the same Best Western next year. Right downtown, perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Bill P,


Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay with us earlier this year. Stampede can be a tough time to do business and I am truly delighted to learn that your visit did not disappoint and that the little pieces of your stay, such as the hotel’s ample outlets added to your experience. I hope your company books you here next year as well.

Best Wishes,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
606 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Property: Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing