We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to have parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to have parking!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel was new to me and I was very impressed! It is not a large hotel and the room had more amenities than we needed. The bathtub was nice and deep, great for a bubble bath! The room had a mini kitchen area as well as a couch, desk and chair, table and two chairs. very nice. They had outside and underground parking for free. Our pickup was higher than the 6'1 allowed for underground.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear breezy07 ,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    283
    99
    24
    17
See reviews for
167
177
59
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times in the last while and it's still a good hotel; great location, efficient staff, and excellent breakfast. However, there are signs of wear and tear and the cleaning staff don't seem to do a good enough job, and the rates are higher now. The first room, had disgusting stains on the sheer curtains, I'm not sure what it was, but not a lovely sight. The coffee machine was full of coffee grinds so it wasn't great to use for tea.

The bathroom doors have chipped paint, and the under the bathroom sink there are knicks in the wood. There was hair in the bathtub that wasn't cleaned. There was a dirty napkin just behind the tv stand, and the exterior of the fridge was dirty.

If the cleaning improved, then I would say this is a 4 star review again but lately I've been disappointed with my stays. The heater fan is very noisy and not good for light sleepers. I tried to shut it off but it got a little cool so I got hot air blowing every few minutes instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear LovingSunandSand ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel!
We greatly appreciate feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our location. We will pass your favourable comments onto our staff.
We are also pleased to advise that we are in the midst of ongoing renovations to keep our facility updated.

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Is a really great hotel with great convenient location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms and room service , Clean well stocked rooms with comfortable beds.
The restaurant is both convenient and good for breakfast or leisurely suppers with good service and quality, and choice of meals. All at a reasonable price. Everyone at this Hotel is very outgoing and friendly. I would stay at this hotel anytime I visit Calgary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear bill b ,

Thank you for completing a trip advisor review.

We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very convenient and enjoyable stay; appreciated comfort and attentive staff. Close to town but you can get around easily from this area, good and free parking. Most of all clean! Breakfast was really good and again, convenient when you're on the go. All in all a very nice stay and I will definitely be doing it again at this BW.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Joan B,

Thank you for your trip advisor review!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Calgary.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Close to shopping, restaurants & downtown, all within walking distance. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and the buffet breakfast was very good & included. Also free parking, which is a big deal for me, normally downtown hotels charge an arm & a leg for parking. Free internet & also a communal computer room to print off your boarding passes. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Navah B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you had good shopping days in Calgary and found the location convenient.

Thank you and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Overall the BW is well.. BW.. true to its chain... a 3 star..

It has good service and a complete breakfast.

The hotel itself is dated... but in a city where hotels regularly sell out, this is a good downtown option when selection is limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear PrincessS,


Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property. While we are often sold out Monday - Thursday throughout the year with a waiting list we also find that sometimes rooms open up at the last minute and we can help travelers who are sent to Calgary on short notice. We are happy to have helped you out when you needed it. We would be more than glad to help you out in the future should the occasion arise again.


Warmest regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Good hotel close to belt line. Good staff. Needs some renos that they are in the process of doing. Renos a bit noisy but they where done by 5 or 6PM. A bit steep but i guess that is what you have to pay for being downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Good day,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We at the Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown take pride in always trying to improve our facility to better serve our guests, most of which stay with us throughout the year. Your understanding and patience during this process is greatly appreciated as there is never really a good time to do renovations. I hope you will be pleased with the final results.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Calgary!

Kindest regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown Calgary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Property: Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located just south of Downtown (North of 17th Avenue), steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 50 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing