We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have been staying regularly for over 10 years and considering this property my home away home. I stay in the one bedroom suites which have separate living room and cooking facilities and still enough space to conduct my business affairs. If I require anything such as fax services, courier services I can get this done easily by the staff.

As a business traveller you like to see no hidden fees so the complimentary internet, parking and breakfast helps me to budget my trips.

They have a heated underground parking lot as well as an adequate above ground lot for visitors especially since parking in Calgary is very limited.

The maintenance staff (Alan , Izzy & Jay) are very helpful whenever I need to facilitate business from the apartment.

It is my intention of continuing my relationship with this property for years to come.

Room Tip: For people who are staying for a month or have family with them I recommend the two bedroom suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leschack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

It's a great pleasure to read your unique and positive review about our hotel. While the property and neighborhood have went thru many changes over the years it's good to know the regulars who have been with us thru it all haven't changed their view of what we try to accomplish everyday; to offer a great room at package pricing.

We look forward to hosting your future stays for years to come.

Kind regards,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Best Western PLUS Suites Downtown Calgary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We checked in and the first room had an electrical panel and the smoke detector were hanging lose, and looked right into an office building. The next room, pubic hairs in both beds and in the tub! So unclean. The third room in the middle of the night the mini fridge rattled, but I couldn't be bothered to change rooms again. The "Fitness Center" does not have a universal gym like shown on the website in the pictures... and the ceiling is so low, the gym is hot even though I asked 2x if the maintenance could turn the air-conditioning on, below what it's set to! The gym was crowded with 2 people and gross with 3. The bathroom in the Fitness Center area is outside of gym, and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned EVER.
The breakfast, well microwaved egg patties are not breakfast to me, nor were the tater tots!!! The price of this hotel is ridiculous for this dump!!! There is a Holiday Inn Express or a Sandman just down the street. RUN away from here. Oh and even though I had to change rooms 2x and wasn't happy with the 3rd room no price adjustment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitsilanovancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear kitsilanovancouver ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review of our hotel!

I appreciate you responding to my email and by calling me back so we can discuss your comments. I appreciate your comment that it must have been an off day as we do pride ourselves on a clean and welcoming facility. We strive to ensure that we hold ourselves to the highest standards of customer service.
We are pleased to hear that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel was new to me and I was very impressed! It is not a large hotel and the room had more amenities than we needed. The bathtub was nice and deep, great for a bubble bath! The room had a mini kitchen area as well as a couch, desk and chair, table and two chairs. very nice. They had outside and underground parking for free. Our pickup was higher than the 6'1 allowed for underground.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear breezy07 ,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times in the last while and it's still a good hotel; great location, efficient staff, and excellent breakfast. However, there are signs of wear and tear and the cleaning staff don't seem to do a good enough job, and the rates are higher now. The first room, had disgusting stains on the sheer curtains, I'm not sure what it was, but not a lovely sight. The coffee machine was full of coffee grinds so it wasn't great to use for tea.

The bathroom doors have chipped paint, and the under the bathroom sink there are knicks in the wood. There was hair in the bathtub that wasn't cleaned. There was a dirty napkin just behind the tv stand, and the exterior of the fridge was dirty.

If the cleaning improved, then I would say this is a 4 star review again but lately I've been disappointed with my stays. The heater fan is very noisy and not good for light sleepers. I tried to shut it off but it got a little cool so I got hot air blowing every few minutes instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear LovingSunandSand ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel!
We greatly appreciate feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our location. We will pass your favourable comments onto our staff.
We are also pleased to advise that we are in the midst of ongoing renovations to keep our facility updated.

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Is a really great hotel with great convenient location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms and room service , Clean well stocked rooms with comfortable beds.
The restaurant is both convenient and good for breakfast or leisurely suppers with good service and quality, and choice of meals. All at a reasonable price. Everyone at this Hotel is very outgoing and friendly. I would stay at this hotel anytime I visit Calgary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear bill b ,

Thank you for completing a trip advisor review.

We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very convenient and enjoyable stay; appreciated comfort and attentive staff. Close to town but you can get around easily from this area, good and free parking. Most of all clean! Breakfast was really good and again, convenient when you're on the go. All in all a very nice stay and I will definitely be doing it again at this BW.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Joan B,

Thank you for your trip advisor review!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Calgary.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Close to shopping, restaurants & downtown, all within walking distance. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and the buffet breakfast was very good & included. Also free parking, which is a big deal for me, normally downtown hotels charge an arm & a leg for parking. Free internet & also a communal computer room to print off your boarding passes. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Navah B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you had good shopping days in Calgary and found the location convenient.

Thank you and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £69 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing