We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here because I had a discount promo from BW. Hotel is in a good central location; easy access to main routes. Front desk staff was friendly enough and explained things well. Parking is excellent - choice of underground or surface lots. Room was good - lots of space; kitchenette was a bonus (and stocked with dish soap, cloth, tea towel, etc.). Bathroom smelled like food that had gone bad - not sure the reason. Breakfast was edible - I have had better at other BW hotels. A major annoyance was having to use the keycard to access just about everywhere in the hotel. I understand the need for security, but it is a real inconvenience to have the card handy for doors, elevator, etc. when you've got luggage and a child to contend with. Overall, a good place to stay for a few nights in Calgary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extradenticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear extradenticle,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and suites!

As with most downtown hotels these days, guest security is of utmost importance , and as such, we are always happy to help with any issues or challenges that a guest may encounter with the safety features in place. Please let us know!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

excellent location in downtown Calgary. spacious free parking lot. clean and comfortable accommodations,great hot breakfast included. This is a gem right downtown Calgary, close to shopping and restaurants, and entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank T5779IPmariac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear T5779IPmariac.


Thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to hosting you in the near future.


Best Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night, Monday 21 April 2014. Free breakfast, wi-fi and bonus of parking absolutely great. Travelled from USA, arrived, parked and was greeted by a lovely receptionist, Jason who efficiently gave us keys to our 12th floor room and kindly told us about shopping in Calgary, which we had asked about.
Great room, great views, clean and big
We slept well though we are not used to beds a little harder but still comfy.
Breakfast, now we were a little disappointed. Had every type of tea but not red rose or as we call it English tea. We asked the server and she got us some. Very plain but again creaks, toast, etc. i think if breakfast staff had been more friendly, ie, a smile perhaps or a 'good morning' the food may have tasted better.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk to 7th avenue, not the cleanest of roads but nevertheless, not far.
We handed in our keys, were smiled at by reception staff as we left who wished us a pleasant onward journey. Not bad at all

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Maureen L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor review of our hotel!

We appreciate your kind comments and recommendations, we will share it with our staff.

Best Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel while visiting friends in Calgary, it was in a nice location, close to places to buy groceries and some of the interesting places to visit. It was also good value for the cost, the room was both spacious and had a nice TV. The breakfast was really good as well, will definitely consider staying again next time I'm in town. As a side note, I was a bit curious about why the building has a lion rampant symbol on the side

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Emmanuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Emmanuel C,

Thank you for your review!

we are very happy to read that you had a great stay.
To answer your question about the architectural detailing on the exterior, namely the carved lions, this building was originally called Monarch Towers and the detailing was an enhancement constructed at the time.
Thank you for taking such an interest in the history of the building and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great place to stay. Clean rooms, friendly staff, free parking. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Overall an excellent experience! We always stay at the Best Western Suites in downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Fred C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel!

We appreciate your nice comments and thank you for your business.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent the night here so we would not have to hit the highway after a concert we recently attended. Suite was quite large with separate bedroom and jacuzzi tub. Room was on the top floor (16) with a huge shared balcony that stretched the entire length of the top floor. The entire wall shared with the balcony was windows which made for a decent view of downtown (would have been better only the windows were incredibly dirty). The room has been recently renovated which was nice but the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The bed was very comfortable which made for a great sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Lloyd B,

Thank you for completing a trip advisor review of our hotel!

We are very pleased that you had a good sleep in our pillow top mattresses!

With regards to the exterior windows, unfortunately we have not been able to do our normal spring clean due to the extreme weather conditions that we have experienced this winter.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was in a great location, walking distance to everything downtown with lots of restaurants, shops & places to get your grocery & coffee. Our room was quiet so that made a huge difference in a good night sleep! The breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Melaida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Melaida C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are very glad that your stay was enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 110 in Calgary
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £71 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing