We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
“Needs a renovation”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The room was pretty large, more kind of a Suite, but old fashioned and standard interior design. In my opinion, needs a general renovation and pay attention to small details like lighting, socket outlets next to where needed,..... Staff was friendly. Breakfast ok, but small variety

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Joan M,

Thank you for completing a review of our hotel!

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations as a designer hotel as the survey you completed for the hotel indicated.

We are an all-suite hotel that offers spacious ,comfortable, and clean suites with complimentary hot breakfast that consists of, eggs, meat, and hash browns, 3 types of cereals, a variety of bagels, waffle stations, fruit salad, fresh fruit, croissants, English muffin, muffins, danish, 3 types of juices, coffees and teas.
In addition we offer free parking in Downtown Calgary, wired and wireless WIFI.

"We were surprised by your comments as most of our guests find our hotel to be excellent value given the downtown location"

"Again, we appreciate you taking the time to complete a review.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    283
    99
    24
    17
See reviews for
167
177
59
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Rooms are average. The beds were good, had nice duvets and great pillows. The bathroom was ok. It could use a little work. Plenty of towels. The first night there was a disturbance in the hallway late at night but the front desk kindly relocated us for the next night. Nice to have underground parking but I don't think larger vehicles would fit. Service and location were great. Had breakfast in the restaurant, food and service were also great. Good place to stay if your on a budget and want to explore downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel!

We are glad that you find our services up to your standards and enjoyed the location of the hotel.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good hotel, Great customer service, Yummy free breakfast and Comfy beds. The security feature in elevator was nice as you needed your room card for it to work.

Price was high, but reasonable in comparison to any other hotel downtown Calgary.

Our room was great as we were across the hall from ice machine and pop machine... Very convenient.

Security guard in lobby at night... Definitely a safer place to stay and close to down town amenities.

Business Centre provided free printing and free computer use.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lionesss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lioness S,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!

We are happy that we met all your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This Best Western Plus is in a very good location, close to a lot of amenities, walking distance. Nice clean rooms, comfortable bed, quiet. Front desk staff pleasant. Not impressed with the free breakfast, poor quality food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Jacqueline N,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review of our hotel!

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, the location and amenities, that's great!

However, we were rather surprised at your comments on the breakfast as we routinely receive rave reviews about our breakfast service.
Please feel free to contact me directly to share details and recommendations.,

Thanks again for choosing the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown and look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville BC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A great location close to downtown and near a few wonderful restaurants. It is a high-rise and we stayed on the 11th floor with a nice view of downtown Calgary. Impressive!

The room was a bit tight and the TV was terrible. Yes, they were switching to Shaw and all the channels changed and they provided a "cheat sheet" so we could find stations - but the remote was the old style and we could not get the channel guide to figure out what was available. The room itself was quite cramped inspire of a "kitchenette " as part of the decor. The window was difficult to open to get some fresh air and one had to move furniture around to do that. I was not impressed to put up with this for the money asked.

It is NOT a Best Western PLUS by any stretch of the imagination.

The breakfast room was not very good. They had the standard continental stuff and little egg omelettes and beef sausages (yes, it is Alberta)but they were very dried out and hard. We ended up just doing a toast and jam morning on the second day and cereal on the third, Second morning was a disaster - a group was in having a breakfast and it was very loud. Why do people yell across the room to each other before other people have their morning coffee????? Sorry to sound like a crank but it was awful!

The parking was underground but very tight with 110 degree turns - not for the feint of heart.

All in all, not a great place to stay - there has to be better in Calgary.

Room Tip: Face the city so you don't have blazing sunshine late in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Viking46,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, many thanks!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and surrounding amenities, but we were somewhat surprised at your comments regarding the size of the room, as it is really quite a good size coming in at 405 square feet which far exceeds industry standard.
We would like to clarify the television issue as we actually were upgrading from standard TV to high definition TV. The cheat sheets we provided were to help navigate the channels. The remote control provided is the latest industry remote and is classified "clean remote" .

Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, so please feel free to contact the undersigned to discuss your stay with us!


Bets regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were displaced by the floods in Calgary. We were having a hard time finding a new home to move into. Many so called flood friendly places were just a joke or a con job. This hotel was right across the street from work and surrounded by many shops and restaurants all walking distance. The suites were good and kitchen functioned very well. there was plenty of space for the 4 of us. We ended up staying for almost 2 months and were quite happy. The internet was slow at times and the cleaning staff needed to be educated at times, but any issues were quickly resolved by mgmt. We finally convinced them to open up our balcony because of the heat and air conditions. The fact we are not smokers nor suicidal probably helped too. The stay included a daily buffet breakfast which was full of variety and goodness. Although there were never enough tables, you could always take the food back to room. It was a different menu for each day of the week. The laundry facilities and spa were average. There is also underground parking. Staff very easy to deal with. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Simple choice if you want to face a major street or a parking lot, the parking lot is in back and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear candyman,

Thank you for your review!

We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you during the floods of June 2013 and are pleased to read that we met your requirements.
I am hoping you can write me back and let me know about our spa and laundry room. Our laundry room is one of the largest in the city with three washers and dryers, a folding table and TV to help you pass the time while you are waiting.
Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed with my husband and mother; large suite - good sized living room. Dining table very small. lacked some kitchen items. Huge main bedroom, very small and crowded second bedroom - ok for one person, not for two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank ChanteEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear ChanteEdmonton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased that you found our rooms spacious and comfortable and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Property: Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located just south of Downtown (North of 17th Avenue), steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 50 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing