We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very pleased with our stay! Good size rooms with small kitchen with fridge which is great for those extended stays. Breakfast room offers nice variety. Staff was exceptional, very friendly, efficient, and very tentative to your needs. We were here with a large group and needed several rooms, all parties within our group were very pleased with the choice of hotel. Extremely convenient location with several choices of restaurants, shopping, hair salons etc all in walking distance. We have had several trips to this location and always stayed on the upper floors which have proven to be extremely quiet.To find a hotel that has top scores in staff, rooms, amenities and location - this is a hotel that should be on your frequent visit list.

Room Tip: Have had mulitple stays at this location, and therefore had rooms on both sides of the building. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Marie K,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are happy that we met all your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    279
    97
    24
    15
See reviews for
165
172
57
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed Here for the stampede and always do when i'm on business in Calgary. Convenient, clean, good room size and always accommodating. Breakfast is good too. Restaurants and bars close few blocks away, nightlife around the corner on 17th Ave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PravT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear PravT,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel! We are glad that you find our services up to your standards and enjoyed the location of the hotel. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

There is nothing glamorous about this hotel, but it does the basics well. Lots of space in the two bedroom suite for a family of four (you could easily fit more children in). Kitchen fully functioning and room service good. Good location for restaurants and the Stampede.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Nancy H,


Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in BW Downtown for 5 days at start of our round trip in Rocky Mountain (during Calgary Stampede). Our family (parents + 2 children’s) find this hotel very comfortable. The rooms are really big (it is an apartment of 3 rooms + kitchen + bathroom), clean and enough equipped for the family usage. Our child were very happy to play in the living room. Maybe a kitchen equipment can be revisited (not enough even for partial usage). If we return to Calgary, this hotel will be for sure one of our first choices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank leoz966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear leoz966,


Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and our spacious suites. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With regards to the kitchen supplies, we are always happy top assist with and bring anything else need. All you need to do is contact our very helpful front desk staff. We are here to help!


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place to stay in Calgary. Some of the hotels were very pricey but I was surprised by the rates of this Best Western and what it had to offer. We were pleased with the variety of the continental breakfast. The rooms were clean and spacious, with lots of towels. It was nice to sleep in a comfortable bed with wonderful pillows after a long day of touring and shopping in Calgary. This Best Western is conveniently located near restaurants, tourist attractions, and shopping! Front Desk staff were friendly and helpful with directions. We will again return to Calgary, and once again stay at this hotel. Thank you for making our stay better than we thought possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Rachelle L,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are happy that we met all your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed for four nights for client events during Stampede. My room was clean and quiet, which was perfect for a great sleep after a long day. The BW Plus is well located within easy walking distance of 17th Avenue restaurants and shops as well as downtown.

Room Tip: Quiet room by the exit stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Dave M,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel! We are glad that you find our services up to your standards and enjoyed the location of the hotel. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here during Stampede week. Price is set at a premium due to the Stampede, which we don't mind paying if a hotel can justify it with a good quality room, but Best Western Downtown Suites Calgary failed to provide that experience. Broken cooling system, refrigerator, spotty internet and hard king bed were the downsides of our two night stay. However, the room is very large and clean and close to city centre - with a 30 minute walk to the Stampede gates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 224James224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear 224James224,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel!

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Our cooling system was in fact down for a very short period of time, and our staff dealt with it immediately.
I am also surprised by your comments about the bed as we have always received rave reviews about our new pillow top mattresses and have actually sold these same mattresses to many guests who said it was the best sleep ever!

In the event that you ever have any questions or issues, please contact our helpful front desk staff immediately and they will be happy to assist you, as guest satisfaction is a top priority for us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Thank you and look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located just south of Downtown (North of 17th Avenue), steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 50 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing