We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient & Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Castlegar, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Efficient & Accommodating”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel is very well located in downtown Calgary. Easy walk to major streets with shopping and restaurant attractions. Staff are friendly and accommodating in their service. We needed a play pen set up in the room for our youngest daughter, while the first play pen was faulty, it was quickly replaced by a second and set up by the staff themselves. As we also had extra family traveling with us, a separate cot was already set up with fresh linen. The hot breakfast is also good. There is a wide variety to choose from and the menu changes daily. My family and I will definitely be back and we would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Robin R,

Thank you for your trip advisor review!


We are glad that we were able to meet your needs and look ¸forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    301
    104
    27
    18
See reviews for
180
193
64
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As usual, I had another great visit to friendly Calgary,Alberta. I had an enjoyable stay at the Best Western Plus Downtown. My Suite was very well equipped with super nice beds and , I wonder where they get such comfortable pillows?? This hotel is close to everything downtown be it business or pleasure. We had a good time while staying there!

Room Tip: Free Parking including a nice warm underground parking (handy in winter). & Rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear bill b,

Thank you for your trip advisor review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked our pillow top beds and comfy pillows.


We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Oh yes...a super comfortable hotel experience! We had 3 generations sharing a suite (dbl room). Grand kids and parents had their space with us grandparents being able to sleep in! All of our additional requests for extra towels and service were met in a timely friendly fashion. Thanks Celso.

Continental breakfast was certainly above expectations and above what is normally delivered at other hotels.

We'll be back! Thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Navah B,

Thank you for completing a review of our hotel!

We are very glad that you found our family suite very comfortable and met all your expectations

Thank you for your kind words and look forward to hosting you in the near future.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I booked online for this hotel and on arriving found I had booked for the previous night. The people in reception sensed my anxiety and they were so helpful. They managed to change the booking and even upgraded our room for tonight. The room is a King Suite and is lovely - spacious, clean and comfortable. I very much appreciate the friendly assistance I received at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Christine R,

Thank you for completing a trip advisor review of our hotel!

I am so glad that the staff were able to assist you with your erroneous booking and forgo any charges for the second night. Mistakes do happen and we are so glad that we were able to help you.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very comfortable amenities and great room layout. Being a frequent business traveler, I am quite picky. I will certainly be back and the location is perfect for downtown attractions.

Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicceliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Nicceliz,


Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is average. It is clean and conveniently located. I got a great rate, but you do get what you pay for. I found the staff to be just average. They weren't outright rude but also somewhat disinterested and not overly helpful. The room was very hot. I had a hard time adjusting it to get the A/C to kick in and the toilet didn't flush well. It was fine, nothing to really complain about, nothing to really write home about either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cecily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Cecily P,

Thank you for completing a trip advisor review of our hotel!

We are glad that you liked our location is conveniently located and that our rooms are very clean.

We sincerely apologize for the challenges you had with your room and always recommend calling our staff who are there to help the guest.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We always stay at this centrally located hotel when we come to Calgary, The location is perfect, near restaurants, cafes, shops and sights. Steps away form the 17th Ave shops and downtown. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, love all the windows with the corner unit. Love the lights of the city at night.

Room Tip: High up, corner unit. The bedroom suites are very nice when travelling with a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Verla T,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
654 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Property: Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing