We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Had a great stay a few weeks ago at the Port o Call. We booked it solely because we'd heard the water park was excellent and it lived up to its reputation. There are two bigger water slides that our 6 and 8 year olds could go down by themselves (but the water was too deep if they didn't know how to swim or have water wings). The only knock is the water was COLD! The part they liked the best was the little rock waterslide that led to the kiddie pool - the water in that pool was the temp of a warm bathtub!

Other favorite part of this hotel is the underground FREE heated parking! No free breakfast but Denny's is about a 10 minute drive or close to Tim's, McDonald's etc - not a big deal.

Overall very nice stay - pretty nice gym in the basement with a second pool and 3rd hot tub (there's two in the main pool).

Recommend this place for sure but be ready - the pool is a little chilly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKYoung1, Manager at Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear robngaby,

Thank You for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We get many positive feedback from families regarding the Waterpark feature . I will be going over the water temperature with our Maintenance team in order to fine tune the appropriate temp in the large pool, in general we follow the guidance of the City of Calgary Facilities and up the temperature several degrees based the depth and bather load. As you had pointed out , we are located half ways from Downtown and the YYC with easy access to many of the amenities that suit individual traveler specific needs.
We look forward in being your choice hotel on your future travels!

Kind Regards

C.Young General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Do not agree with the Hotel pre-billing my credit card for incidentals prior to my checking out. I am not aware of anybody pre-paying for a non-service.Otherwise all services and amenities were accetable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MIKE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKYoung1, Manager at Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Mr. Mike R ,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel , I am pleased to learn that your experience overall was positive. Our hotel takes steps to safeguard certain transactions in order benefit all stakeholders, There are instances when reservations are not booked directly with our hotel and we request for credit card reference to validate the transaction of checking in , other options includes a cash deposit or advance deposit . Common practices such above in retail may include a photo ID . Depending on the financial institution , these references are usually re-credited back from 3-5 days upon check-out .
Thank You for bringing your concern to my attention , so that we can best anticipate your travel needs. We do look forward to your return soon !
Kindest Regards,
Chung Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Best Western traveller
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed 9 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A Best Western traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 January 2013

great exprience from the front desk staff, resturant service and food, the breakfast buffet (was extra) was great.

the quality of the suite was outstanding
Business centre was equiped with 2 computers, that had Windows 8 on them, two printers and a scannar

When in Calgary it is home away from home :D


  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank EBakry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at "The Port" many times. The rooms are clean and mostly updated. The breakfast is one of the best I've seen/eaten (included in room depending on what you pay). Jetz bar is always happening (local airport hangout).

My only complaint/concern is that the road that gave very quick access to the airport terminal has been closed and now what used to take 5 minutes takes 15+ minutes (if there is no traffic). I know that the hotel can't control road closures but they do control the frequency of the bus which sometimes only goes on the hour.

All in all "The Port" is a good hotel and at this time I don't see any more convenient options.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeisterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

If you are looking for a mini winter getaway for a great price try the waterpark at the Port o call. Great pool, two hot tubs, waterslides and children's area. A family room is a great deal and room for 6. Staff is great and when the kids wanted to swim more they were great and gave a checkout after 2 p.m. Clean rooms and friendly service, who could ask for more.

Room Tip: The also have family rooms with patio's that open onto the pool. A bit noisier but nice for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vance_Neudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#43 of 110 in Calgary
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Calgary
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £70 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location midways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure focus on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing