We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I did not see the difference from a basic bestwestern to this premium bestwestern. The breafast was good and the room clean, but only standard sized. Nothing special compared to other BW's I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank elegance999
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CKYoung1, Manager at Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel looks a little rough on the outside but once you walk in you realize it is quite fancy. The room was very clean. The hotel had a restaurant with pretty good food at competitive prices. The staff were friendly. I have no complaints about this hotel. It's a little bit pricey but you get what you pay for and in this case it was worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Room was very large and clean! No noise thus excellent sleep.Staff were very friendly and informative. Great location just off the Trans Canada. Near restaurants and Sunridge Mall for Purdy's chocolates! Lots of parking..Easy access to the zoo.Quiet area so we went walking in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

On our return trip on the 17th of feb.we experiencend the worst shuttle SEVICE ever.
In freezing cold it took almost an hour to ferry six other passengers and us to the hotel.
When I confronted the clerk, in charge of the shuttle service, he handed me a cock and bull story about how construction and the like were reason for this delay.
This was sunday near midnight and no one was working anywhere near the shuttle route.
O top of that ,he the clerk, displayed an unseemling attitude.
Unhappy camper William Coblenz

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKYoung1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank You Mr. Coblenz for sharing your point of view regarding our hotel shuttle service and our team member's handling of such . Firstly , please allow me to apologize to you and your friends for the unfortunate occurrence, as it is always our guidance to our team members to do the "right thing " as an advocate on behalf of our valued guests. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to review and provide guidance to our team member in order for him to learn and grow.
We provide the complimentary shuttle service to the airport to and from the hotel, while we do encourage incoming guests to coordinate and communicate all specifics in order to meet every guests' needs, we did not meet yours. I will be contacting you to review your experience personally . We do review this process on a continuous basis in order to benefit all as well as ensuring the efficiency of this service is met .
We do appreciate your feedback and kind support in order for us to improve and grow.

C.Young , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Flying out on holiday?? Stay here! Great service good food, excellent staff and very reliable shuttle to airport. We left our car in the heated garage at the hotel for a month at very reasonable cost. Just give them your itinerary and they will make sure you are at the airport on time then pick you up on return.. The staff are outstanding in all areas. Large clean quiet rooms. I noticed families there for a weekend of fun for the kids on waterslides. They also host BD parties for children in a special room. This hotel is always our choice when in Calgary for any reason.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed here last week and had a great stay! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the facilities are very clean and comfortable. The new restaurant is beautiful - disappointed that I wasn't able to try it out - it opened after I left. I ate in the lounge the first night and had breakfast and lunch the next day - the meals were great - everything was fresh and tasty! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#43 of 110 in Calgary
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Family Hotel in Calgary
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location midways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure focus on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing