We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need in One Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Everything You Need in One Location”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel has everything on site (Lounge, Restaurant, Coffee Bar, Fitness Centre, Pool, Free Underground Parking) or nearby (Tim Horton's, Gas Station, CrossIron Mills Shopping Outlet). The room was fine, but the bedding was very light (just felt like a sheet), so I had to get some extra blankets. I also had some troubles with the toilet running and the TV. I brought the attention of the toilet to the staff, and it was fixed immediately. As for the TV, they had lost the signal, but were working on it.. When the signal came back, I would lose the sound on CTV, so I would have to switch channels to get the volume back. A little annoying, but maybe that problem will be fixed in the future. I spent 2 nights here and had dinner in the Sky Harbour Grill. The service and the food (Sirloin Steak, Atlantic Salmon, Creme Brulee) were exceptional!! At checkout, Front Desk staff asked how everything was, I told them about the TV and they seemed sincerely concerned and were going to mention it to the appropriate people. I would definitely stay here again, despite the minor issues because the amenities and location are more important to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    318
    79
    15
    13
See reviews for
515
151
36
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

They have a great waterpark with a toddler area, as well as two large waterslides. We have stayed here twice now, the rooms are nice the food is good in the restaurant and room service. It's nice, newly renovated, and clean. The service is good and staff is friendly, I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, and I am picky if you are in Calgary with children stay here it's great!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I did not see the difference from a basic bestwestern to this premium bestwestern. The breafast was good and the room clean, but only standard sized. Nothing special compared to other BW's I have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel looks a little rough on the outside but once you walk in you realize it is quite fancy. The room was very clean. The hotel had a restaurant with pretty good food at competitive prices. The staff were friendly. I have no complaints about this hotel. It's a little bit pricey but you get what you pay for and in this case it was worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Room was very large and clean! No noise thus excellent sleep.Staff were very friendly and informative. Great location just off the Trans Canada. Near restaurants and Sunridge Mall for Purdy's chocolates! Lots of parking..Easy access to the zoo.Quiet area so we went walking in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

On our return trip on the 17th of feb.we experiencend the worst shuttle SEVICE ever.
In freezing cold it took almost an hour to ferry six other passengers and us to the hotel.
When I confronted the clerk, in charge of the shuttle service, he handed me a cock and bull story about how construction and the like were reason for this delay.
This was sunday near midnight and no one was working anywhere near the shuttle route.
O top of that ,he the clerk, displayed an unseemling attitude.
Unhappy camper William Coblenz

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKYoung1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank You Mr. Coblenz for sharing your point of view regarding our hotel shuttle service and our team member's handling of such . Firstly , please allow me to apologize to you and your friends for the unfortunate occurrence, as it is always our guidance to our team members to do the "right thing " as an advocate on behalf of our valued guests. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to review and provide guidance to our team member in order for him to learn and grow.
We provide the complimentary shuttle service to the airport to and from the hotel, while we do encourage incoming guests to coordinate and communicate all specifics in order to meet every guests' needs, we did not meet yours. I will be contacting you to review your experience personally . We do review this process on a continuous basis in order to benefit all as well as ensuring the efficiency of this service is met .
We do appreciate your feedback and kind support in order for us to improve and grow.

C.Young , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing