We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Have Been Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Could Have Been Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I wish there was a way to rate 3.5 because if I didn't have to factor in the steep price during stampede week maybe my expectations wouldn't have been as high.

The hotel is older but well maintained generally. There is underground parking available but you can't access the elevator without first using stairs which makes transporting luggage a pain.

There is a restaurant on site which is very good. There is also a lounge, a coffee counter and a little gift shop which is all very convenient. There is no complimentary breakfast. The staff were all very friendly.

The pool area has water slides, a kiddie pool and 2 hot tubs. Unfortunately the closest one one to the pool was out of service.

Housekeeping was the issue for me. The ice bucket still had a bag of water from previous guests. We also found clothes left in the drawer which we turned in to the front desk. The bottom sheets never fit properly and kept coming off. House keepers also failed to replace the toilet tissue. We were left with only half a roll. The facial tissue was left empty a well. Minor things but on our last morning the housekeeping staff woke us up by having a long loud conversation right outside the door.

The location is so near the airport you can watch the planes take off. It's quite noisy and disrupted our sleep. Not near anything else really but a Tim Hortons. You can take a city bus to the light rail train. Quite a distance from shopping and attraction but convenient for air travel.

I would stay somewhere next time.

Room Tip: Take your luggage in throughout the lobby before parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akanshu P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Hello Angelana,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am really disappointed to know about your recent experience at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations at this point. We have noted your comments & shared it with our house keeping team & taken necessary action.
However, We are really glad to know that you like our brand new restaurant, Coffee Shop & Gift Shop. Our Water Slides are on censor mode in order to save energy, it runs automatically when it detects some one on the top of the slide. Therefore, sometimes it appears that its not running until someone is up on the slide.
Thank You for appreciating our staff, they are definitely an asset to us.
We would welcome an opportunity to serve you with great care & would definitely make your stay better.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (403) 291-4600.
Warm Regards,
Akanshu Popli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    303
    79
    15
    13
See reviews for
469
146
34
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived later in calgary and were able to check in and get the kids to bed in a timely fashion. The beds are comfortable and I don't know who had more fun on the water slides, The kids or me.. I have stayed here for both business and pleasure now and this Best Western has meet my meets for both..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The Calgary Stampede was the reason for our stay in this hotel. It was great for getting to and from the Airport but a bit too far from the Stampede. Our taxi down to the grounds was $45. The hotel was super clean and really up to date with all the amenities you could ever need. Our room looked great, smelled great and had an awesome view. My son and I loved watching the airplane's come and go. The only down fall would be the noise. It wasn't too bad for us but if your a light sleeper you could have a problem. The staff is super friendly and very accommodating. The pool is great for kids and adults. It was a bit busier than I like but I was expecting it to be as it was Stampede. We had a great stay and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with or without children. The restaurants are awesome. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ern678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haughton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

It was simply way overpriced. This was probably due to the fact that it was the weekend of the Calgary Stampede, which was not the reason for my visit. I just needed a place to crash for a few hours before my flight was due to leave. Those few hours cost me over $200. If, however, that doesn't seem like a bad price to you, then by all means stay here. It was a nice hotel with a beautiful, clean room. The bathroom was really nice, with two sink areas and a large bath tub. The bed was comfortable, too. There was a nice pool with what appeared to be a slide for the kids. (I didn't go in there)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Direct shuttle from and to the airport. By combining bus and train, you can get to the city pretty easily and quickly (although the wait can be rather long). The kids did enjoy the indoor pool, with slides, quite a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daidalos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our Pee Wee girls fastball team with parents in tow stayed on a long weekend. Staff were friendly including smiles and greetings from the cleaning staff. Easy check in and out. Breakfast area was outstanding - flavourful food and good selection. Rooms were clean and stylish. Decor throughout the hotel very nice. Right on the flight path for Calgary International Airport but did not hear any aircraft at night or early morning. Kids loved the waterpark - would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightjug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Despite its somewhat tired and uninspiring exterior and surroundings this hotel was surprisingly good in terms of accommodation and food.

We had a one night stay, hastily arranged on the same day as our stay. Check in was smooth. Rooms were quiet, despite being so near to the airport and were large and reasonably well appointed, with very comfortable beds and functional bathroom.

Evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant were good with good quality food, well cooked and presented by friendly, helpful staff.

Overall, a good hotel at a sensible price and very convenient for Calgary airport. The hotel provides a free of charge shuttle bus to & from the airport which was most welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandJLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#41 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel
Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing