We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Dalmeny, Canada
1 review
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked using the last minute deals and got a very good price for the 3 nights we used it. The rooms were a very nice size, with a comfortable bed. The kiddie area in the pool made it so nice to allow our 2 year old to play without needing to be holding on to her. On our first night the hotel was packed with kids, yet it remained very quiet. We also loved the location as it took no more then 15 minutes to get to the zoo, mall and any other destination we were headed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    301
    79
    15
    13
See reviews for
466
145
34
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Easter Sunday and our first ever stay at this hotel. The wedding was scheduled for 1pm and our room was available hours before normal check in time. Thank you so much reception staff!
Our room was equipped with a very comfortable king size bed and a fold out couch/bed. After the wedding and reception our grand children came to use the attached water park. What a treat! Plenty of clean towels, and everything worked as it should. This water park is very clean and well maintained.
From what we could see, the whole hotel is in great order. The staff were pleasant and especially the buffet staff when dealing with the grandchildren. Food was really well prepared and presented.

Summary...reasonable cost, staff that really want your stay to be pleasant. Clean, modern rooms. Good bed and very quiet in the rooms and hallways. Not a single complaint and we will return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank maguirejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Flying into Calgary for a conference, this hotel was easy to find late at night. They have spacious rooms, very clean and well appointed, and courteous staff. I loved the pools! In enjoyed swimming in the cool pool, and relaxing in the hot one. There's a waterslide as well, for families. There are alternative routes to ensure a quick commute to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is an upscale hotel from most Best Western Plus hotels we have stayed at. The service is impeccale. The food is great and the overall stay is exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. However, we believe the price is a bit steep for the average person. I think if they were to keep their prices between 130.00 to 150.00 per night they would be booked solid every night. It was quite quiet the evening we checked in. That should tell you something?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

its a very nice hotel the rooms are spacious and cleaned, the tub is very nice and spacious although it would be nice if the shower curtain was bowed your up against the curtain all the time while showering the room temperature was very good all night. the restaurant was very nice the morning buffet was very tasty. the bar is probably good if you could get service. I waited for 15 minutes no service I thought maybe you had to go get your own food and drinks. I started to leave then I got some service to late. she said go to the lounge so I did it was empty I waited no one came. I decide to check the expresso bar no one there. kids every where its great if you have a family. finally I decide I would just go set in the lounge and wait I didn't care if I got service. I finally did get service the waitress was nice. she advised me to have wings they are very good. don't expect to escape kids their in the lounge too. The bar is the best bet for that. it is very nice. I found all the staff right down to the maintenance people to be very friendly. you do get hallway noise, but that's to be expected with all the kids.

Room Tip: the room we had was very nice . I would take a higher floor. If your not into children all over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur63-ardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights during Spring Break. The water park is fantastic for kids. There are two slides (one is very dark inside) that were fun. My only complaint would be that the landings on the stairs are a bit slippery. My very cautious child slipped and fell at a walking pace. Adults might not be aware that there is another much quieter pool and hot tub one floor down.

The rooms were what I've come to expect from a Best Western property. They were clean, quiet and comfortable. The Wifi seemed strong. I was a little disappointed that there was no included breakfast for the price. The workout room had a nice selection of cardio equipment, some of which has seen better days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to stay over on our annual trip and decided on Best Western Port O Call. Asked for early check in as our flight landed at 9.00 am and got to the hotel about 10.00 am. From Dale, the white hat at the airport, to the front desk and hotel shuttle driver, everything went as smooth as silk. The driver was great, very personable and pleasant, the front desk staff were amazing, nothing being to much trouble and the restaurant staff were fast and attentive. Meal prices were good as well as the meal itself. Have to congratulate all I had the pleasure of meeting, really enjoyable start to our trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#38 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel
Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing