We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service excelled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We met with some other family members here for a weekend of activities in Calgary. Check in went smoothly, but when we got to the rooms they were not what we had booked a couple of months prior to arrival. We made a call down to the desk and asked about the reservations. The desk staff were very apologetic and fixed up the boo boo right away. She said that she would be up right away to escort us to our new digs. She got off the elevator with a luggage cart and wanted to take care of our bags for us. We explained that was not necessary, so she told us where our rooms were located, and gave us coupons for complimentary breakfast for all seven of us!
The room were located at the end of the corridor and had a small, private, locking vestibule connecting them. It was very convenient and added a layer of privacy.
The hotel is somewhat older, but renovations have been completed over the last few years and the updates are well done. It was quiet even though there was a wedding, a birthday party and a family reunion going on (we never heard a peep).
The water park was a great way to spend a couple of hours with the kids and the kids all had a blast on the slides.
We may make this our annual gathering place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kermit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked this hotel mainly because my tour starts here. We got in the day before. The hotel website states it is 15 mins to downtown. Well, not quite. You first need to catch the #57 bus in front of the hotel, which does not run very frequently, maybe every 30 mins. So, if your timing is off, it can be a longish wait. Then, you transfer at Whitehorn station for the city train. It is about 15 mins to downtown once you are on the train. So, factor in 40-60 mins to get to downtown.

You can buy tickets at $3/adult at the hotel front desk and charge them to your room. The staff has to repeat the directions all the time. Why don't they just print up the directions for the guests?
A. Going downtown, drop the ticket into the receptacle on the bus, ask for a transfer for the city train.
B. Returning, validate your ticket at one of the stops. The machine will be obvious. Hang on to the ticket. The police do come on the train to check. Take the train labelled Saddletown. Catch the #57 bus on the opposite side of the street going in the opposite direction from A. Drop the validated ticket into the bus receptacle.
Once you have done it. The trip to downtown is very easy but not 15 mins.

This hotel is ideal for families with children because of the water park. If you are a light sleeper or an early sleeper, ask for a room not facing the water park.
This hotel is not for people who cannot tolerate lots of kids noise, who need to be downtown often, who does not have a car. The streets are very wide with heavy traffic and no sidewalks. It can be over a 20 min walk to nearby restaurants. There are no nearby markets.

Even though, the hotel website states they have airport shuttle. It runs only every hour. So, again if your timing is off, it can be a 30-40 mins wait at the airport. Go out to the middle island, post #11, call the hotel on the courtesy phone. Returning, be sure to book your shuttle at the front desk for your desired time.

Room is OK with refrigerator and microwave. Fitness room is OK with a small pool and hot tub that is quieter than the water park upstairs. Breakfast buffet was pretty good.

Nothing wrong with the hotel, but was not a good fit for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the Water Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've stayed at this hotel a number of times when we are in Calgary. With the close proximity to the airport, the aviation theme is very hard to miss throughout. Check in and checkout was very fast and efficient. Room was very spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. The beds came with 2 sets of pillows; one soft, one firm.

The pool area is one of the largest and most attractive that I have seen. A kids pool area with mushroom shower, rock waterslide. The pool has 2 waterslides (1 covered, 1 open).

We dined in the attached restaurant (Skyharbour grill). On the night of our stay, they offered a pasta buffet. The spaghetti was served in warming dishes, and was hard (as if it had been sitting for a while). We mentioned it to the staff who promptly brought out fresh spaghetti, bringing the plate to our table.

On a side note, our room was pre-paid through AIR MILES (loyalty reward program). The day after checking out, I noticed a charge on my credit card for full rate. After calling the hotel, they refunded the charge. Although this is the first time to have happened at this hotel, keep an eye on your statement.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor has stairs to the lobby. Makes it quicker than waiting for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel especially for the pool and it was the best choice I made. The poolside was clean and so was our room and the rest of the hotel. Friendly staff, good beds, great rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank CarlieBrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel July 2014 when visiting for the Calgary Stampede. It was ok....not excellent, but ok. Hallways smelled a little funny, the decor was older, but it was definitely very clean. They are doing renovations currently (as of our stay). My son and I went to the lunch buffet and most of the food was gone, they did not replace it and I ended up paying $35 for not very much food. I didn't care for the front desk staff at all, they were curt bordering on rude.

I guess the end question...would I stay here again? Probably not. I think there are probably other hotels in the Calgary area that are more updated in the same price range that would be a better choice. i would try another hotel in Calgary before staying here again, although again, it was not bad, just ....not as good as I would have liked, especially for the money they charged during the Stampede.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbs1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I travel quite often on business and this was one of the nicer, spacious rooms I have been in. Nothing out of the ordinary with my stay at a Best Western, just the usual clean rooms, fast attendant service in a friendly environment with lots of smiles from the staff. That's the reason I keep coming back to Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Waves Waterpark in the hotel is great. Our kids spent hours in the pool and on the waterslides. Everything was clean and the hotel staff was great. Would have been nice to have some sort of a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#42 of 110 in Calgary
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#11 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location midways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure focus on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing