We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BW Plus Port o Call Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Old, smelly, broken furnishings, unwelcoming exterior, breakfast not included. Would do in a pinch, but not my first choice for another stay in Calgary. Proximity to airport, extra sink in room were good features. Staff courteous but seemed stressed by their workload.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank padminim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband and two small children. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and well taken care of. The room was nice, the beds were comfortable. The pool is perfect for kids. The only negative was the restaurant. We had the Italian buffet and I thought it was very overpriced for what it was. The restaurant staff was great though!
We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 days after a long flight to overcome the jetlag. We paid CAD166 per night for 2 fine queen beds. We had a room with our own entrance to the nice swimmingpool with glides. Our children loved it (10 and 13 years old). 2 disadvantages of this: the darkness of the room because the lack of daylight. No windows to the outside. And the pool is very noisy untill 10pm so if you want to sleep early it will be difficult. And we wanted that because of our jetlag. The hotel is not far from the c-line train which will bring you in 20 minutes to the center of Calgary for about CAD 3 per person. There is also an atm machine in the hotel. This was handy because i have a maestro paycard and yoy cannot pay with this in Canada. But you can get money out of the atm with it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here with my parents, and my brother and his family so we got to see 3 different rooms. One was a smaller queen room that my parent's stayed in, it was nice, 2 beds, nice bathroom, microwave, fridge, BIG tv, a desk and 2 smaller but comfortable chairs. The room was cozy, but just great for the two of them. My husband, son (age 6) and I stayed in a larger queen room, it had the same things as the smaller room, but the chairs were larger and there was another table and a little bit more floor space. My brother, sister in law, and their 3 kids (ages 3, 2 and 6 weeks) stayed in a family room, which was larger still, and had a pull out couch with a chair and coffee table, a small kitchenette area with sink, and a fireplace - although I don't know what a fireplace has to do with a family room, really. It also had a small balcony.

The rooms were comfortable, and quiet, and the a/c worked so well that my mom walked in and complained of the cold!! We had rooms on the 5th floor, and one on the 2nd that was quite a distance from the elevator and around a lot of corners, so unless you were led to it, it might be hard to find. Lots of towels in the bathrooms, and nice décor all around.

The waterpark is where this hotel really shines, all the kids loved it, and the adults enjoyed it as well! There is a small separate kids pool with a small waterslide, 2 hot tubs, and a large swimming pool with 2 big waterslides. There are lifejackets there for the kids to use, and quite a few chairs around the pool for the parents who don't want to get wet :)

The underground parking was nice as well, and the lobby and seating areas were very attractive.

Definitely a good place to stay with kids!

Room Tip: There are rooms that open onto the pool, but they are probably quite loud so I don't think I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JenwaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed there for four nights recently and was very impressed with the friendly, professional people who work there. The room was nice, well equipped and clean. Great place! Best bacon ever at the breakfast buffet!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We met with some other family members here for a weekend of activities in Calgary. Check in went smoothly, but when we got to the rooms they were not what we had booked a couple of months prior to arrival. We made a call down to the desk and asked about the reservations. The desk staff were very apologetic and fixed up the boo boo right away. She said that she would be up right away to escort us to our new digs. She got off the elevator with a luggage cart and wanted to take care of our bags for us. We explained that was not necessary, so she told us where our rooms were located, and gave us coupons for complimentary breakfast for all seven of us!
The room were located at the end of the corridor and had a small, private, locking vestibule connecting them. It was very convenient and added a layer of privacy.
The hotel is somewhat older, but renovations have been completed over the last few years and the updates are well done. It was quiet even though there was a wedding, a birthday party and a family reunion going on (we never heard a peep).
The water park was a great way to spend a couple of hours with the kids and the kids all had a blast on the slides.
We may make this our annual gathering place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kermit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked this hotel mainly because my tour starts here. We got in the day before. The hotel website states it is 15 mins to downtown. Well, not quite. You first need to catch the #57 bus in front of the hotel, which does not run very frequently, maybe every 30 mins. So, if your timing is off, it can be a longish wait. Then, you transfer at Whitehorn station for the city train. It is about 15 mins to downtown once you are on the train. So, factor in 40-60 mins to get to downtown.

You can buy tickets at $3/adult at the hotel front desk and charge them to your room. The staff has to repeat the directions all the time. Why don't they just print up the directions for the guests?
A. Going downtown, drop the ticket into the receptacle on the bus, ask for a transfer for the city train.
B. Returning, validate your ticket at one of the stops. The machine will be obvious. Hang on to the ticket. The police do come on the train to check. Take the train labelled Saddletown. Catch the #57 bus on the opposite side of the street going in the opposite direction from A. Drop the validated ticket into the bus receptacle.
Once you have done it. The trip to downtown is very easy but not 15 mins.

This hotel is ideal for families with children because of the water park. If you are a light sleeper or an early sleeper, ask for a room not facing the water park.
This hotel is not for people who cannot tolerate lots of kids noise, who need to be downtown often, who does not have a car. The streets are very wide with heavy traffic and no sidewalks. It can be over a 20 min walk to nearby restaurants. There are no nearby markets.

Even though, the hotel website states they have airport shuttle. It runs only every hour. So, again if your timing is off, it can be a 30-40 mins wait at the airport. Go out to the middle island, post #11, call the hotel on the courtesy phone. Returning, be sure to book your shuttle at the front desk for your desired time.

Room is OK with refrigerator and microwave. Fitness room is OK with a small pool and hot tub that is quieter than the water park upstairs. Breakfast buffet was pretty good.

Nothing wrong with the hotel, but was not a good fit for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the Water Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
357 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £78 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing