We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was for us a two day stopover before going into the USA. On entrance the hotel looks a bit dated, but front desk helped us fine checking in.

The hotel has an underground parking garage that is with some very small turns. Keep clear off the concrete walls. We had a regular room without breakfast as it seems and that is a downside of this concept. The water park is a big word for two slides in a small pool, but our son loved it as expected.

Room was clean, but also outdated...

A safe in the room to hold my laptop would be a great upgrade. Front desk lockers are too small to hold anything....

Lots of restaurants within driving distance.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    310
    79
    15
    13
See reviews for
473
148
36
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stay at this hotel mainly due to the great water park. With 2 waterslides and a shallow pool with a slide for the younger tots it made this hotel an obvious pick! Our kids had alot of fun swimming at the water park, although I was a tad disappointed due to the hot tub being closed.

We had a spacious room with 2 queens and were able to fit a cot! The bathroom was a great feature with a huge sunken tub. The room was very clean and had a great view of the city!

If your in need of a hotel thats close to the airport this place would be a great place to stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shelcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately We have stayed at this hotel many times due to my daughters hospital visits, but we have yet to have a bad stay. We like the cabana room for easy access to the pool. Beds are super comfy and rooms always clean. Underground parking is nice since today alone there was a hail storm. Id say the rates are about right for Calgary for a hotel with a water park. Unless something changes, we will be back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mtburns77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stay at this hotel often enough for business and have always had top quality service. On my most recent visit I left a few articles of clothing behind accidentaly. Upon realizing this I immediately phoned the hotel and they ensured that the articles were recovered. What they did next makes this hotel a step above the others. I explained to them that I would be passing through the airport on a layover a couple days later and they arranged to have the clothes meet me on the airport shuttle as well as had them dry cleaned at no expense. The rooms are always clean and the staff are great. Highly recommend this hotel to both the business and pleasure travelers.

Room Tip: They are normally more then happy to accomodate your room preference, whether you have kids or are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilotman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night here while passing through with our teenaged sons. They really enjoyed the water slides. The hotel appears to be older but is well kept and the rooms are modern as well. Higher priced than anything else in the area but you're paying for the water park. There is a Tim Hortons directly across the street and McDonald's just down the block. It is also nice and close to the Cross Iron Mills mall. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Treena29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Best Western Port of Call is a great family hotel with waterslides for the kids, restaurants and good room selection. We had a room for 4 with 2 bathrooms, a table, mini kitchen area and a lot of space. This was a fantastic room for our family of 4.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Service received exceeded my expectations in location, service and helpfulness of the staff.The availability of the shuttle and long stay parking was a pleasant surprise. The regular times of the shuttle to and from airport was a plus

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank C7861KBpeterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing