We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accomodating staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and accomodating staff.”
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The rooms were roomy and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bear4Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    318
    79
    15
    13
See reviews for
515
151
36
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at the B.W. Port of Call - - the entire facility is absolutely immaculate and our king-sized bed was oh, so comfortable -- wish I could have taken one of the pillows home, they were so comfy! Rooms have been beautifully decorated. The Staff (everyone!!) is very courteous, respectful, and efficient. Check-in was swift and thorough. We ate in both Destiny's restaurant and the Lounge; all meals were good. This is a top-notch facility and good value. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox BC
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We had occasion to stay at this BW both on our way to and our return from Palm Springs late Nov/early Dec. We stayed at a BW in Sidney last year for a similar adventure south and were very pleased with it so decided to give this close to the airport Calgary location a try.

We were very pleased with both the accomodations and the staff. We had what is called a 'family suite'. This included a small kitchen area with microwave, bar sized fridge and small sink. Wouldn't want to be cooking gourmet here but fine for heating a sandwich, coffee, pastries, etc. There is a gas fireplace with a TV above, two queen beds and a sofa bed (and thus a sofa), additional occasional chair, a computer desk and a long dresser with mirror over. The balcony has a double set of sliding doors for safety, noise abatement from aircraft and for cold insulation in the harsh winters. (Those double doors work well as there minimal to no noise within the room.) There is an additional sink/mirror across from the closet area before the full bath.

A snowstorm blowing into Calgary resulted in our staying two nights rather than one on the way home. There is nothing really close at hand - as in walking distance -(particularly in a snowstorm) except Tim Horton's so your kind of stuck with the hotel facilities in terms of food. Restaurant was okay - hotel food so not gourmet but the staff was pleasant enough and the food quite edible and filling. There is a small coffee/snack/juice bar but IMO it doesn't serve anything foodwise to get thrilled about. They could definitely improve the selections and quality there. The two bar areas are quite pleasant and the food we had was good.

Front desk staff was very pleasant and accomodating.

I doubt that I would stay there for a week but for an O/N on a trip thru YYC it was just fine. Have stayed at the Airport Delta several times and - for us - their postage stamp rooms with no better food and extremely expensive prices just aren't worth the onsite convenience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WCGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

I stayed here for 10 days for work. Here is what I think... Given a room on the third floor with 2 beds. I would've preferred a King, but it was being paid for by the company, so that's what you get. The room was very clean, especially the bathroom, which I definitely liked. Very nice tub/shower and modern. Add curved shower rods though!! No problems with bed. Cable reception wasn't very good. I find this happens with a lot of hotels, I don't know why!! Temperature in the room was easily controlled. Lots of lighting and found free wi-fi with no problems at all. Overall, good experience.

Here is what I didn't like. The bar/lounge was nice enough, but main course items WAYYYY overpriced for the food quality. I could've went to Moxies for the same price and got 10 times the quality. One day I ordered the cake for dessert and it tasted like it had been in the fridge for 2 weeks at least. Also, the portions aren't even that great considering they are all $16.99. I wouldn't recommend eating here unless you don't have wheels. Tons of other stuff around.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighFlyer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I have stayed at many high-end hotels in downtown Calgary and have been the most satisfied at the Port O'Call. Even if it is out of the way a little bit, it is completely worth the extra drive. I spent five days in the hotel, relaxing in the pool and steam room and using the gym facility. I found that the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff are very polite. Everything is quite well managed and the room had a microwave and all the other things you would need. I was VERY impressed and loved that it is kitty-corner to a Tim Hortons!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cranbrookannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisco, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed there for the one night only and we mostly booked for the water slides and hot tub which we could barely use because the hotel had rented out the area for a kids birthday. There's only so much screaming one can handle. Definitely a dissapointment for us, otherwise hotel is clean and nice. Staff are doing their job, nothing above and beyond. Rooms are big and clean, we had a fireplace in our which was nice but pretty noisy. Pets are allowed at this hotel for a 10$ fee. airport shuttle goes every half hour unfortunately, this hotel charges extra for parking for a week so if you are looking for free parking this is not the place. Had dinner at Jetz pub which was busy, poor service and food average. I would try the main restaurant next time...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovefromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Johns,Newfoundland,Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

My family and I stayed here for one night in July/09 along with two other different family members and friends who had their own rooms and we enjoyed our stay here.The front desk lady was courteous and professional.as check in was fast.The room was newly done as it was very clean and comfortable.The location is good as it is only 5 mins away from the airport and there is a shopping mall just 5 mins away too.There was very little noise from the arriving airplanes which was a surprise to me considering the location by the airport.The indoor swimming pool is small but the hottub is very nice.There is a restaurant in this hotel but we didnt eat there as there are several other restaurants just a 3 min drive away.The hotel is in the process of doing renovations to add a water slide to the new swimming pool.I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay and I will be definitely be staying here again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing