We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed here our last night in Calgary. We had an early flight and this location was very convenient. It was close to the airport but very quiet. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The Jettz lounge was nice and relaxing. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was great. The hotel looks old from the outside but the interior is very modern and up to date.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    314
    79
    15
    13
See reviews for
496
150
36
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel is conveniently located near the Calgary Airport, and is also very close to several restaurants and shopping.

The hotel is very well maintained, and the lobby is very inviting. One of the first things you see entering the hotel is the waterpark, which has a kiddie pool featuring a waterfall, rock-like waterslide and a mushroom shower. Up above is the swimming pool which has 2 slides; one open and the other covered. The covered waterslide is great! It's pitch black the whole ride down, so you can't tell where the twists and turns are.

The rooms are very spacious and the beds were comfortable.

There are 2 elevators in the hotel, however 1 of them was always out of service, and it seemed to alternate every day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I have been staying at the Port "O" Call about 5 days per month in the last year or so for business purpose in Calgary and I have never been dissapointed, always clean always smiling personel and everything you need is there, small gym, swimming pool and water slides for the kids, the rooms are well equiped and free wi-fi, the only down side is that it is about 20min. drive from downtown and there is not much to do arround the Port, but it suits my needs. Also east side rooms are more quiet, less noise from the airplanes landing at Calgary International airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_bono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed for two nights during the Calgary stampede. The hotel is accessible by taxi from downtown - approx $20-25 each way. The hotel has great facilities - the pool was ideal and the free chilled fruit water at the entrance to the hotel was delicious. The staff - from the breakfast room to the bar - were extremely friendly and helpful. Good value, particularly during the stampede, and helped to make our stay in Calgary a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKLRk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Nice, but somewhat expensive hotel conveniently located literally just beyond the southern end of the Calgary airport runways. Heard an occasional plane, but nothing too loud in my view. No doubt contributing to my view of high cost is the extensive extra facilities provided at the hotel (pool, restaurants, bars, conference rooms, etc.), the near parity of the US and Canadian dollar, and the generally higher costs and taxes of stuff in Canada.

Still, a nice place to stay for one night as we flew in a day early before meeting up the next day at the airport with a camping group we belong to. Room was comfortable and clean with all the usual amenities like TV, refrigerator, etc. Plenty of towels, unusual was the two sinks (one outside the toilet/shower area).

No problems with their van shuttle from and to the airport that runs on the half-hour upon request. Shuttle was free although an E-mail to them a week earlier generated a reply from one of their sales managers that there was a min. $3/room charge for that service.

Staff was polite and accommodating. When we had a problem with a water leak over the toilet the morning we were checking out, they offered to give another room temporarily for a few hours. We turned down the offer as we were about to check out shortly, and at checkout they gave us an unasked for $30 discount plus included taxes.

Not much in way of other consumer commercial establishments around the hotel, mostly industrial park stuff. Area obviously not designed for pedestrians (no sidewalks), had to be very careful crossing the streets that are very busy during weekdays. We had breakfast at a nearby Tom Horton's (much cheaper than at the hotel), and there are at least one Chinese/Vietnamese and one Indian food place we noted nearby that probably cater to the industrial park people. Walking less than a mile south brings one to a strip that has more consumer stores like for liquor/wine, restaurants (we ate at a Thai place), etc.

I'd recommend the hotel for their quality, and airport location (if that's important to someone), but wish it was somewhat less costly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FmrEngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel last night. The front desk staff is very pleasant. The room was a nice size, two queen beds, a fridge, microwave and a desk. There is a 2nd sink/vanity area outside the bathroom which is great when travelling with kids as I can get ready while someone else showers. My children loved the waterpark and spent many hours watersliding. When we checked in we initially tried to park underground. It is not well lit and since I was going shopping and coming back late by myself I did not feel comfortable parking down there. When we decided to park in the surface lot I had to get out of the vehicle to guide my husband so we didn't scratch our vehicle. It is a very tight parking garage. There is plenty of surface parking though. It is a little far to walk to any shops or restaurants but there is a restaurant on site and if you have a vehicle there are many restaurants and shopping not that far away. It is near the airport, very near. My kids loved watching the planes take off. We could definately hear the planes however, once we turned on the fan we didn't have any problem sleeping. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver,co
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Water park just rocked! My kids never had a better time! When we arrived in Calgary, there were 50F and is was raining! I had everything I needed in the hotel and didn't have to go out again: convenience store, restaurant, bar and most importantly the fabulous water park! The room was very comfy and spacious, the beds were excellent. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that there was no free breakfast. Also, being so close to the airport you can hear the noise of the planes landing and taking off.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arianatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
329 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
603 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing