We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal and would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good deal and would stay again”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We chose this hotel as we were able to get a good deal from hotels.com. We were checked in efficiently and got a Tower room on the ground floor. I was afraid that it would be noisy on the ground floor, so close to the pool. But, we enjoyed a very quiet night and slept very well.

The rooms seem newly renovated, are spacious and include all the essential amenities. The kids enjoyed the water slide and hot tub. There was a shortage of pool towels, but once I called for some more, new ones were brought down in a timely fashion.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrato at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with the Delta Calgary South.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms comfortable with all the amenities that you needed.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    200
    76
    27
    24
See reviews for
169
86
18
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is horrible. The staff is rude and inconsiderate. The rooms are tiny and dirty. The pool and waterslide are rundown and extremely small. Once 4 people were using the waterslide is was overcrowded that my kids couldn't even enjoy themselves. There was dirty dishes in the hallways our entire stay. Our room was extremely small and it was dirty that I had to clean the bathroom before my family could use it. The beds were rock hard and horrible to sleep on, we couldn't control the temperature in our room so it was extremely hot all night long. They advertised free WI-FI, but it was so slow you couldn't even take advantage of it. There wasn't enough parking, I will never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkw083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback and please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

What you encountered was not indicative of the experience we have become known for delivering, so upon review of your feedback we were especially disappointed.

The hotel is equipped with an additional swimming pool in our Atrium Building (Pool and 130' Waterslide is in the Tower Building).

If given the chance, we would have done everything possible to make things right during your stay and at very least prior to your departure.

Thank you again for your feedback and I assure you, we take it very seriously and have shared it with our team. If you have any questions regarding the hotel or wish to discuss any aspect of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Grant Erickson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Both my wife and I travel for business, so we know what to expect from a hotel. We needed a “cityscape” to celebrate our anniversary and we had friends recommending this hotel. Well, from the reservation process to the check out everything was beyond our expectations and perfect for the get-a-way.

First we received a great weekend rate for the Saturday night that we stayed at the Delta South; at check in we were welcomed by a very friendly Front Desk Clerk who showed she cared. We received an upgrade and the Suite was in the adjacent building. As it poured outside we used the walk way connecting the two buildings so we remained dry of course.

The Loft Suite is huge with two bathrooms, two balconies overlooking the atrium, clean and had everything we needed. The upstairs bathroom had a Jacuzzi; the king size bed was great and we had a great quiet sleep.

We did not stay for the Sunday Brunch, but the food looked great. The check-out was again friendly and courteous and we were thanked for our business. This hotel was recommended to us by friends and we will recommend it again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPLManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

After a horrific day of travel, arrived 8 hours late, check-in was fine. Thankfully room service was available as I did not have the energy to go down to the restaurant. Met my boss at 6:30am in the lobby and to my surprise, breakfast was not available until 7am which was when we had to leave for our off-site meeting. Not happy that I could not even get a cold bagel. Good night's sleep the final night. Woke to find a note under my door explaining problems with hot water system. Was invited to use the showers in the fitness center (in another building) but was so tired I opted for the luke warm shower hoping it would wake me up. Given that I only slept here, it was not a bad stay -bed and room were very comfortable. Location was close to my business meetings so that was a plus. If in Calgary again, whether or not I stay here will depend on reason for visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We did experience a short disruption in our hot water service due to an on-going project. This issue was resolved soon after your departure. I can assure you this is not a regular occurance. As well, our Atrium restaurant is open at 6:30 AM, 7 days a week for breakfast. Please accept our apologies that this was not communicated to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We had booked a standard room with 2 Queen, when we checked in, they told us they didn't have one available but upgraded us to a family room. Bathroom was way down the hall, the room was very hot and the air conditioning didn't work. There was still garbage in the can and the floor hadn't been vacuumed. On top of it there was only1 chair to sit on in the whole room. Great for a family of 6 (all beds) but not for a couple.

Bartender Dave gave excellent service and food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyWhitehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through your comments and feedback that we are able to improve our service, training practices and facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstream B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel in 2009 so we new what to expect. The first time we stayed we had two main complaints. The "Family Room" that we stayed in was noisy -- first level atrium building -- and the check out took forever! We solved the noisy family room by bringing two air purifiers. We put one purifier in the 1 bedroom and the other in the main area where the bunk beds are. The hum of the fans were an excellent way to block out the noise from each bedroom and from the super noisy restaurant and swimming pool that is just outside the rooms. Bonus, the 9 month old in the bedroom and the 3 year old in the bunk beds couldn't hear each other either! Also, we brought Gift Certificates for the Delta on both stays. The first time we stayed there when we tried to check out in the morning there was a huge line-up and it took forever; plus, the Gift Certificates have to be processed in some special way so that added to the time. This time, we solved this problem by paying the night before -- that way there are no anxious kids waiting in the morning to check out. Also, love the waterslide and swimming pool ! Our 3 year old had a blast going down the slide with his parents and our baby loved watching... then she has her own time in the pool. It's a long way from the airport and public transport in Calgary is horrible so expect $60 taxi ride... the Delta provides no shuttle. The restaurant breakfast is good but it's expensive so we only ate there a few times -- Tim Hortons's is just down the street so save some money and get some breakfast bagels.

Room Tip: Bring white noise (fan) for the family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chezza_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The satff are great and try the best they can to make your stay enoyable.

But you need to know these things.

The hotel is understaffed so it seems the people working here are completely overwhelmed, yet they still manage to keep a smile.

1. Make sure you check into the Tower building because there is no checking into the Atriuim Building. There is only "Guest services" and the attendant appeard to also work the switchboard. Wonderfull person balancing more the guest services.

2. If at all possible request a room in "The Atrium Building" the rooms are much larger and "Room Service" is located out of that side of the property.

3. If you do have any problem or corncern regarding your stay make sure you make it known. The Staff actually bend over backwards to fix any prolblem you may have.

4. The property does not have proper climate control unless you stay in the Atrium building..

5. The Atrium Cafe in the Atrium building has very bad lighting. The sun shines onto the staff and guests and they are blinded.

6. The distance between the two building is overwhelming.. The walk is incredibly long and looks exhausting to the staff. You often see the the same employees running between the two buildings.

7. This place has a great waterslide and is one of the perks.

8. If your staying on the weekend becareful. The hotel tends to be booked with youth sports groups and tends to be very noisey.



1. Nev

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank SeanJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
941 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
521 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#86 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Property: Delta Calgary South Hotel
Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing