We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disgusted” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Calgary South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

we had 2 ipads stolen out of our room while out for dinner. while they ran an "internal investigation" and said no one entered our room, they suggested that we left our door open. beyond disgusted with their service and will tell everyone i can not to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jordana j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review of the Delta Calgary South. Please accept our shared concern for the loss of your iPads. All of our guestrooms are equipped with an electronic lock system which allows us to track the keys that enter each room. Following a review of the room your family occupied, the only keys that were utilized to enter the room during the time were the keys that were issued to yourself.

In addition to our review of the lock system, we also reviewed the physical door of the room for evidence of tampering and this subsequent investigation resulted in no findings.

In our findings to date, we have not found any evidence that would indicate the hotel is negligent and thus responsible for the loss of your items. We have contacted the Calgary Police Service to assist in the investigation as well. We truly share your concern surrounding this incident as the security of our guests is always of primary concern for us.

Our Hotel Manager has since been in touch with you via email to update you on the current status of the investigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    179
    70
    24
    23
See reviews for
156
76
17
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg, mb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Had a newly renovated room and it was fantastic! VERY clean, comfy beds, and fluffy pillows. The breakfast buffet (in the atrium) was also great! Kids loved the water slide! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4familytravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for your review of the Delta Calgary South. We are very glad to see that your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you when you return to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The rooms in the west (main) building have a central air system that is quite loud and cannot be shut off. After one sleepless night I piled pillows and blankets on the grill to muffle the noise.

Also, two relatives were booked into another room. The room was in one name but both were on file - when the second relative showed up first, they would not allow him into the room until the other person showed up. They made him sit in the lobby for several hours. When we checked in and confronted the staff, they claimed it was because the room wasn't ready (a blatant lie).

I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the east tower or go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Assistant at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are sorry about your experience and welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further to ensure that we have the opportunity to rectify your issues.
Please contact our hotel manager, Kevin Kopczynski at kkopczynski@deltacalgarysouth.com.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Delta Calgary South for one night while on a business trip to Calgary.

We had a Tower room, and it was clean, with a very comfortable bed. My only complaint is that the bathroom did not have a true door- just a slide out pocket door, which made it feel very small.

Not truly an issue- and did nothing to inconvenience our stay, but not what I was used to from Delta. And on a one night trip, it really doesn't matter that much.

The front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmtreelover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your night with us.
We look foward to welcoming you in the future for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We checked in last-minute, and were very pleased with our King room on the 8th floor of the tower. It was obviously newly renovated, with a great tile and glass shower and new cabinets and granite top counters. Bed was comfy, and room was spotless. Lobby and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Great value for price, and high level of Delta service. Maybe ask for the 8th floor for the new rooms?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us.
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your room and the lovely mountain view.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
394 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

A re branded property that does not meet the Delta High Standards. It is an old property consisting of a tower and an atrium on opposite sides of the street. They show two lobbies and as we had booked the Atrium pulled into the parking lot unloaded luggage went to the Atruim lobby to see a small sign all chek in at the Tower lobby maybe they should just call the Atrium Lobby an entrance.

Pros: Good location if meetings in South Calgary
Upgraded rooms in Atrium are well appointed and laid out
Buffet Breakfast is outstanding

Cons: We are Delta Privilige but no newspaper or water when question they advised part of the Going Green Program More like cost cutting
Room floor was not vacumed ie old peanuts and other food on carpet
Rooms in the Atrium are not very sound proof so take a room on the top floor away from the elevator. We could hear noises and from room right above us and when people walked to the elevator

In summary just an average hotel not up to usual Delta standards of quality and service

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Assistant at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay, we appreciate it very much and have shared it in its entirety with our team.

Your feedback in particular regarding the debris on the carpet was not up to our usual high standard of cleanliness, please accept our sincere apologies for that. Our sincere hope is that we had the chance to make that up to you prior to departure.

We were also disappointed that our efforts to reduce our impact on the environment were perceived as a “cost cutting” measure. This initiative is part of the nationwide Delta Greens program. We do provide both newspapers and bottled water on request. Please visit deltahotels.com for more details on the Delta Greens program.

We were glad to hear you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet and newly renovated Atrium Rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Made the mistake of thinking this place was a good choice due to the convenience. Room was awful. Main door barely shut and when it did there was still a 2 inch gap along the base that let plenty of light and noise into the room. Sank so far into the bed that I could barely turn over while lying down. And if that was not enough there is was the ever present smell of a toilet that must have overflowed and flooded the room in the recent past.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thanks for posting your review. We’re sorry to hear you experienced the challenges you noted. We’ll do some research to see if we can verify what room you stayed in back in February, in hopes no other guest experiences the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#27 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Property: Delta Calgary South Hotel
Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing