We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, but room too hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of May during the first days of Calgary's monsoon rains. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. But we were unable to get the temperature of the room below 75F. The heat was not on in the room. But the windows in the room did not open and with an outside temperature of barely 50F the air conditioning would not turn on. Consequently, we could not get the room cool enough for comfortable sleep. The hotel sent a maintenance man to look at the problem and he could do nothing. It was a "Catch 22" situation, too cool outside for the sir conditioner to operate but too hot in the room.
Otherwise the hotel was fine. We enjoyed the pool, waterslide and hot tub. Would we stay at the Delta Calgary South again? Perhaps in the dead of winter or height of summer. But our first choice would now be a hotel with windows that open.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, it's great to hear our team made a difference during your stay. We did install a new Air Conditioning System in late May in our Tower Building, and have since seen a drastic improvement in temperature control. We are not sure where your room was located, so have shared your feedback with our team to review logs to see if we can isolate the issue for repair if required. Thanks again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

So here I am on Sunday June 23rd doing things around the house when the phone rings deploying me to high river with 5 minutes to report to the office to go on a journey with no end date... We show up ready for whatever the task may be just to be told around 1030 pm to find accommodations and be back for 0700. After numerous calls around the only place that greeted us with open arms was this delta. The staff were amazing, willing to take 3 federal government employees on a day to day basis. As the days at the flood site were tiring and overwhelming it was always soothing to know what we had to enjoy after the end of our shifts!!! Thanks for the 10 nights!! Your comfortable beds, clean rooms and great staff made what could
Have been an exhausting time into something completely the opposite thank you!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your review, we wish we would have hosted under better circumstances. Kudos to yourself and your colleagues along with every individual who has assisted during and following the floods, we have the privilege of living in a great community that really came together with the help of individuals like yourself. All the best from all of us at the Delta Calgary South!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were blown away by the amazing staff. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the wait staff at breakfast, everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay great.
We were there in the midst of the Calgary flood and great effort was made to keep us informed and reassured. (The free Wifi went down briefly and a note was slipped under our door explaining that the provider was experiencing flooding and service would be restored ASAP - which it was within a few hours.)
The breakfast was included with our wedding package and was excellent - a nice variety of fruits, deli meats, cheeses, cereals, pastries, breads, hot dishes (eggs/bacon/sausage/waffles/etc) and made-to-order omelettes. Coffee is a little lacklustre but drinkable.
The waterslide was a huge hit with our kids. There is no lifeguard. The pool is clean and the hot tub is HOT! Lifejackets are available to borrow for free from the front desk. There is no height restriction on the slide - small children are advised to ride with an adult, and kids must be 14 or older to be in the pool area alone.
Lots of amenities nearby as MacLeod Trail is a retail area. Walmart is across the street and many chain restaurants are within walking distance. (White Spot, Jack Astor's, Moxie's, etc.) There is a grocery store and bookstore within walking distance.
We really liked the pub attached to the hotel (The Boomtown) - see my separate review.
We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Calgary!

Room Tip: The waterslide is in the Tower. The smaller non-slide pool is in the Atrium building, as is the bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrSquirrel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your review DrSquirrel14. It is great to hear that our team made a difference during your stay. We're quite proud of everyone's efforts in assisting in making your stay most enjoyable. Your review will be very helpful for future travellers as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel and were given a room in the atrium building overlooking the inside portion, over the restaurant area. Our first night stay was on Saturday and we were tired from our flight and the 2 hour time difference so we were trying to get to bed at around 10p.m. Our room was so noisy from the kids running around and yelling we could hear everything as if the window was open. Also noisy in the morning from the restaurant.
I tried to get our room changed to one facing the outside of the building but could not do so until the next day. On the next day we were given breakfast vouchers, moved to another room and given a late checkout.
So they did make it up to us that was nice.

Room Tip: If you want some quietness do not stay in a room in the atrium facing the inside on the weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerandrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thanks for sharing your review, we're happy to hear we able to resolve things for you during your stay. We have shared your feedback with our entire team and we are happy to share we are taking some specific actions to reduce the noise from our restaurant which are starting to take shape over the next few weeks. The plan includes new equipment that eliminates current equipment that is quite noisy just when "normally" used. Lastly, we are finalizing a plan to install a noise reducing "sweep" on the bottom of each inside facing door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed one night. Although the location was good, the room was lacking. For a "deluxe" room at $200, there was only one robe, not enough towels, and there was no extra blanket in the room. On top of this, the cleaning staff were very loud and noisy in the hallway from 7 am on. Even with the do not disturb sign out on display. I am not very impressed. The elevator was not in service either.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Songsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, please accept our apologies for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay. We have shared your feedback with our entire team. I am pleased to share our Elevator that was malfunctioning has since been repaired, so we do not expect that to be a repeat occurrence. I am hoping we had the opportunity to make things right for you prior to check out, if not, please do email me directly at gerickson@deltacalgarysouth.com. We would really welcome the chance to discuss what we can do make things right. Thank you again for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

When we got there the elevators were down and we had to wait In lobby for over 45 mins as my mom could not do stairs. we just missed from being stuck in the elevator. the people ahead of us did get stuck. The air conditioning was broke down and it was 29 C in our room. we asked someone to check our air conditioner and no one showed up. Mom was showering the next morning and was almost severely scolded when scolding hot water came shooting out...she fell back and thank goodness she wasn't burnt or hurt. The blow dryer we had to use was broken. kept over heating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your review Wayne W, please accept our apologies for the shortfalls experienced during your stay. We were especially relieved to hear your mom was not injured when the shower temperature became hot. Although we are happy to share that we installed a new Air Conditioning System, and the warm room temperatures you experienced were during the installation process, we would still like to ensure we are able to "make things right for you". Please email me directly at gerickson@deltacalgarysouth.com at your earliest opportunity as we would also be interested in completing a full inspection of the room you occupied to ensure no other guest experiences the water temperature fluctuation or malfunctioning hair dryer. Thanks so much Wayne W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I travelled to Calgary for a conference recently at stayed here. The room was clean but the air conditionning unit was broken and it was smoking hot in the room. The staff provided a fan, which did help to some degree.

The food for the conference was very good. I was most impressed with the banquet staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the heat during your stay. If your stay date in your review is accurate, you were with us during the time we were replacing our Tower Building A/C unit. Since the unit became operational the following week, our rooms are now cooled by a new system. Thanks again for sharing and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again, when we are confident summer heat will not be an issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#32 of 110 in Calgary
1,046 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 110 in Calgary
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £79 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing