We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good - Meets expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quite good - Meets expectations”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice hotel, a little dated but OK.
Room size was smallish, but tasetefully decorated.
Clean.
Good front desk service.
Okay waterslide, pool and amenities.

In general, a mid class hotel for a mid class budget. Don't expect too much and you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiantruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we'll share your feedback with our Front Desk Team, thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    200
    76
    27
    24
See reviews for
169
86
18
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to me by the company I was working with in Calgary. It is situated in a nice enough area with sufficient restaurants etc within walking distance. I was on the eighth floor and has reservations about how busy it would be for lifts though with three to choose from I never had too wait more than a couple of minutes for one. My room was in the tower building so it was a bit of trek everyday, across the skywalk to the breakfast area and fitness room. The latter was well spacious and well fitted out considering it was in a hotel though one of the machines was broken during my week duration. Food in all restaurants in the hotel was good with a good variety. Would normally use the pool for a relaxing dip but didn't as one was too public and the other was intended more as fun pool with slides. Staff were very attentive, courteous and friendly. My room had a excellent view over the wooded surrounding area on one side and a distant view of a mountain range-Rockies? On the other. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, though the air con was a bit noisy. The shower was of the walk in type with plenty of room. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for charing your experience, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the fitness equipment issue, but we are happy to share we are currently awaiting the arrival of all new machinery for our fitness centre. We expect that to arrive in the next few weeks. Thank you again for sharing you review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After being kicked out of the Holiday Inn Express South for posting an unfavorable review on their website. I was without a reservation looking for a hotel for the evening I got great service and a nice room at the Delta Hotel. It is located north about 1km of the Holiday Inn Express. Their rate for me walking in was better than the corporate rate at the Holiday Inn, the room was more comfortable and the staff was friendly and courteous. If you are staying in South Calgary on business my advice is avoid the Holiday Inn Express and try the Delta.

Room Tip: Didn't try the spa or the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Business_Traveler544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we're so happy to hear you found our team members friendly and courteous, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Somewhat old fashioned rooms, which need an upgrade. The breakfast buffet, is great especially the eggs and pancakes ;-). Two swimming pools, the one with the slide with too much chloride. Great and helpful staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your review, it's great to hear our team made difference during your stay. We'll also share you feedback tregarding the chlorine levels with our Engineering Team. Thank you again for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Looked for a room close to IKEA with a pool for the kids to have a swim before hitting the road again. Delta fit the bill with a waterslide. Check-in was smooth, the front-desk staff directed us to parking for our camper, as well as to the room. Room was clean, beds were comfy. The waterslide and hot tub was clean, although there weren't any towels by the pool. We had a good sleep until someone pulled the fire alarm at 3 am and everyone had to stand outside until the fire department cleared the place. Check-out at the Delta is nice, a bill is slipped under your door and if you are satisfied, leave your room keys in the room and your card is charged - you don't have to go to the desk. Speeds things up!
My only suggestion for improvement would be to stock the rooms more generously. There were four of us staying in the room but it seemed to be set for 2 guests, only 2 towels, 2 glasses, etc.
Room was very reasonably priced so would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your insights and will share them with our housekeeping team regarding how the room was stocked. Please accept our apologies regarding the fire alarm being triggered at 3am, thankfully it was a false alarm and we were able to identify the individual responsible. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This is actually our second time staying here the first was for a hockey tournament. This time we were in the atrium building and our room overlooked the pool and restaurant area.
Our room was huge, very clean and very comfortable.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alitrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, We're glad to hear you enjoyed the extra space offered in our Atrium Rooms. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to welcome you and your family back again, and your entire hockey team if your travels bring you back next hockey season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We arranged a group booking for our wedding guests through the Delta Calgary South and couldn't be more pleased with the service we receieved. From our initial point of contact to getting our group booking site set up and then all the way through our stay, the treatment we received was first class. I would highly reccomend this this hotel for an individual, a group booking or event.

My bridal party and I stayed in the King Loft Suite for one night, and then my new husband and I stayed in the suite for the next two nights. A lovely room, perfect set up for a bridal party and for a romantic weekend.

The hotel also accomodated an earlier check in for many of our out of town guests, and could not have been more helpful with accomodating our needs - extra glasses, an additional fan, a last minute room, dinner reservations through the Conceirge. A big thank you for making our weekend extra special.

Room Tip: Loved the King Loft Suite - treat yourself, it is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thanks so much for including Delta Calgary South in your plans, we appreciated the chance to be of service. We're always proud when our team memebrs have a direct impact on a guest's stay. Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
942 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
521 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#86 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Property: Delta Calgary South Hotel
Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing