We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN WILL I BOOK A ROOM HERE FYI!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Brooks, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN WILL I BOOK A ROOM HERE FYI!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Never in my life have I ever had the most difficult time booking a room for someone over the phone! They ask me to go online and fill out their secure billing, so I tried, but nothing comes up but a blank screen! Then I call, they put me on hold, then they try to walk me through it like I'm a 5 year old, it doesn't work! Holy F! Just make life easier and let people book rooms for people, it's not F'N rocket science!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    191
    76
    26
    24
See reviews for
164
81
17
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My recent stay at Delta Calgary South was an excellent experience. The staff is extremely hospitable as well as helpful. My room was in the Atrium and very comfortable; from the bed and pillows, to the bathroom with a great shower and very nice personal products provided, to the in-room coffee maker, and plenty of space to spread out for someone traveling on business, what more could you want? One last thing, the Sunday brunch is something every guest should try. The selection is just unbelievable! I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaYYCSouth, Front Office Manager at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments! I was very glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your great feedback about our Sunday Brunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Delta Calgary South is well-located for a business traveller, like myself, visiting locations in Southern Calgary, thus minimizing the time spent sitting in traffic.
Knowing I was in the Atrium, not the tower, I drove directly to the atrium entrance and parked in their convenient outdoor lot with plenty of spaces available. On entering, I was greeted by a very nice receptionist who informed me I would have to go all the way over to the tower entrance to check in. This seems rather poorly thought out, as they should have the ability to check in at either main entrance. At least she offered to hold my bags or have them delivered to my room so I wouldn't have to carry them through the lobby, atrium, up to the third floor, across the skywalk, back down to the main floor and through the lobby to check in (read this in reverse for the return trip).
All the staff I met in the hotel were very friendly, polite and courteous. Actually, exceptionally so!
The room was overlooking the main road and did not suffer too much from road noise (except the occasional motorcycle). The shower was of a reasonable strength and the in-room small kitchenette was a nice bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaYYCSouth, Front Office Manager at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I would like to apologize for the confusion with the arrival location but was very pleased to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose this hotel due to it's close proximity to the lrt. Room was decent and clean. Hotel was quiet, front desk staff courteous and efficient. We ate in the pub and the food was good. The waitress heard us say we were running a little late and put a rush on our order. Altogether a positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaYYCSouth, Front Office Manager at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is great to know we were able to provide a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We love so much about this hotel but the noise on our last trip was unbearable. Carts going on tile floors to the elevator in the middle of the night out side our door. Drunk guests pounding on doors and yelling from the third floor down to the desk. Security would do well to be more visble in stopping this behaviour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernieismydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaYYCSouth, Front Office Manager at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I thank you for taking your time to provide feedback to us on your recent experience at the Delta Calgary South hotel. I sincerely apologize for the noise issues you faced and we will ensure this is part of our ongoing improvement work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A fair size group of us (80) had rooms this weekend for a family event. Most of us had at least one comment.
Male staff members asking women for their room numbers in pubic, maybe innocent, but certainly poor security training.
An undercooked omelet is returned burned black on round 2.
A complaint against a bar tender leads to refusal of service the next day.
The same bartender sneezes into his hands a goes on with serving the platters. When asked to wash his hands.
And I quote "You don't need to tell me what to do, I've been here 20 years, I know my job"
An arranged set up for a group area for breakfast at 9. At 8:45 those of us that are already there ask if we can set up. I quote "well its too late now"
Its fairly obvious that the place is run by 30 year old MBA's. Its not the cheapest toilet paper in the world just the second cheapest and they a fairly frugal about putting in the rooms. My wife and I were out of toilet paper and Kleenex 8 hours into our stay.
BTW make sure you have plenty of room on your credit card, they take a $300 security deposit for each room booked under your name. If you have several it can take a bite.
Whatever you do, do not complain about anything, they will get even.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We just spent the weekend in Calgary, and stayed at the Delta hotel. We were traveling with my baby, who they accommodated very well. The room was recently renovated and was very clean, comfy, and modern. We stayed on the atrium side which was really nice, made use of the hot tub and had breakfast brunch both mornings. They even brought my son a little goodie bag while we were eating our breakfast. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. We also attended a wedding at the hotel, it was fantastic!! Great food, nice venue, friendly staff.

Room Tip: The atrium side was recently renovated but they will be renovating the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeltaYYCSouth, Manager at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
870 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
498 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Property: Delta Calgary South Hotel
Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing