We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care that went above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Care that went above and beyond”
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My family -- my wife and I and my daughter, son-in-law, and two grandsons -- stayed at Delta Calgary South on Christmas Eve. Our intent was to spend Christmas Eve and Christmas morning together. My daughter and her family couldn't believe the service by the staff . When they were coming out of the pool, a staff person ran on to get them robes so they wouldn't be cold on the way to their room. But the staff really were there when our four year old grandson became sick -- all of this happening at about 10:30 p.m. The kids called the front desk to tell them Hunter had been sick on one of the beds; they were offered another bed, and when they mentioned they weren't sure if Hunter would not be sick again, they were told a cot could be brought into the room for him. My daughter and her husband decided it would be best to go home as Hunter was still not feeling well -- and the check out staff were so good in helping them get out of their room and headed home -- all of this very late on Christmas Eve. The staff really went out of their way to work with our kids.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDeerGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    196
    76
    27
    24
See reviews for
165
85
17
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We are loyal visitors to this hotel for many reasons. Just far enough away from the bustle of downtown but close enough to drive or walk 10 minutes to transit station. Just a couple of minutes away from a major shopping centre and lots of restaurants. The staff at this hotel are second to none, very friendly and helpful. Definitely not a top Delta hotel and in need of some upgrades but the hotel and rooms are all clean and well maintained. No Delta Signature Club or Spa like many other Delta's. A little inconvenient having two skywalk-adjoined buildings separated by a major road with check-in and cash/debit check-out at only one of the buildings. Great value for a 3.5 star because of location, friendliness, cleanliness, and internet/business centre services.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk surrey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Attended an Army Reunion for 4 days Staff very helpful rooms OK free internet in reception area breakfast buffet reasonable for price. Not to much choice compared with some large Far Eastern Hotels same price Location o k not to far to walk to down town train station.. Beware the Hotel has a major road junction near by that is not pedestrian friendly i.e 10 mins waiting to cross road

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I stayed here at the beginning of September for the World Skills competition, which filled up all of the downtown hotels. The Delta was also hosting some officials from the LPGA tournament that was in town that weekend. It' s a very nice building (I stayed in the Atrium wing), which due to its open design allows noise to reach all rooms. However I was directly above the pool on the second floor and never had a problem getting to sleep.

The room was good but not spectacular, but all staff that I encountered were exceptional - very friendly and helpful but not intrusive.

I didn't eat at the Atrium restaurant, but did have dinner at the bar in the other side of the hotel; again, nothing out of this world, but everything was done right.

It's a 20 minute drive to downtown, but I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We did not experience the negative experiences of other recent visitors. We reserved thru the hotel chain. On arrival we checked in to the Tower building and it was quick and pleasant. Check in done, we then drove over to the Atrium building across the street.

Our Atrium room was clean. It was cool as the air conditioning was on to welcome us which was a nice touch rather than coming into a stale warm room on a warm day. The bedding, while not 600 thread count, was brillant white and not worn out. The furnishings were simple. The bathroom, especially the tile in the shower was a bit dated but still clean.

Taking the kids to the pool with the small waterslide was a snap by using the skywalk across to the Tower Building. I would not use the distance to walk to the water slide as a reason to not stay in the Atrium building.

There is also a small pool in the Atrium buiding that the rooms look out to. There was a fair bit of noise coming from it at 10:30 PM but we were tired and feel asleep no problem. It likely closes at 11 PM but never looked into it.

Did not eat there. Lots of dining on McLeod Trail but spread out so walking was not for us given the distances to our favourites.

As for the location, it depends. There are two large malls nearby on McLeod Trail so shopping is a snap but still a car drive away. Downtown and 17th Ave further on. We could have stayed at another 3-4 star downtown for more money but for what we wanted it fit the bill. The waterslide was just fine for my kids, although anyone expecting it to be big or really thrilling will be disappointed. Basically it works to occupy kids under 10 for a bit and tire them out!!

I would stay again. To get free internet and free parking with the water slide made this a deal for the price I paid.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This hotel is terrible. The rooms are extremely small. Furniture is like something from the early seventies. The bathroom could hardly fit one person. It was just plain shabby and very disappointing for our trip to Calgary. This is what Delta hotel has turned into. I will never book with Delta again! For the price charged $289.00 what a rip off.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

What used to be an excellent Best Western as the Hospitality Inn, since a cosmetic makeover, this facility has gone steadily downhill in quality, service and staff attitude, while its prices have risen steadily. Simply changing a facilities affiliation does not make its rating better or justify higher room prices. The Atrium restaurant is empty, there's a reason. Check-in? Try across the street if your in the Atrium and then they had the gall to post a notice advising the move to "serve you better"! What few staff exist are friendly but the faces are new almost every trip (monthly). Time for a major management change here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
898 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
510 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#84 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Property: Delta Calgary South Hotel
Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing