We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for a week as my husband had a business conference here. Loved it! We had a newly renovated room, it was so trendy and modern. Very helpful staff, great restaurants, nice amenities, we thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    190
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
123
23
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are frequent travellers and both agree that this hotel is definitely one of the best ( if not the best ) hotel we have been to! The rooms were simply amazing and the staff were friendly. The cons are that sound carries pretty well, so if someone is talking in the hallway or opens/closes their room door, you hear it. The bathroom doors are sliding doors which I was very uncomfortable with, but that just comes down to personal preference. We love this hotel and would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Psubash9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Failing to find a hotel room in downtown Calgary, I reserved two nights at Hotel Blackfoot and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and price. Not too far from the airport as well. My room was really big and modern, and the bed was superb. Renovations are ongoing but I wasn't around during the day to here any construction noise, if there was any. Bar looked rather tired, hopefully this, too, will get a refresh. Reception desk is friendly and helpful -- though I really dislike it when staff interrupt the conversation to take an incoming call, hence the reason for my average service rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The front desk staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. The room was nicely renovated with the exception of the sliding outside bathroom door. I like a bathroom door to fully close; this design leaves a gap. The beds were comfortable. Good pillows and linens. Nice wall mounted TV. The bathroom was nice with a good size walk in tile shower. The bathroom was a little squishy. Wine glasses were provided in the room. Organic teas with tea kettle and real coffee mugs were also provided. The standard amenities (coffee, fridge, etc...) were also included in the room. Wifi was free and worked well. Free parking. Soy milk and organic eggs available for breakfast.

The hotel hasn't been fully renovated but this did not bother us.

Now the cons, the sound proofing needs to be improved. We could hear Blackfoot traffic noise and police sirens woke us during the night. Other patrons woke us up numerous times at various times during the night and very early morning (around 11 pm, 12 am, 2 am) by talking in the hallway. We did not sleep well as a result hence the average rating. We are unlikely to stay again because of the sleep quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishB513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed so many of our services and amenities. Our guest rooms are experiencing the final touches of renovation and we are working to ensure that all our spaces are completely soundproof. We appreciate your comments and are constantly working to improve our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for one night in a queen room on 5th floor. We checked in with a trainee staff member who was very pleasant and welcoming. Much better than the service we received from a lady at check-out. While mentioning staff; 1.5 hours before check-out, housekeeping entered our room whilst knocking on the door, allowing us no time to answer (It seemed as though they assumed we weren't there). It would have been polite to have knocked and waited for a response before entering our room.
The room was very clean and modern and the wifi speed was excellent. TV channel choice was good and the in-room facilities were adequate. Wasn't very keen on the sliding bathroom door, which allows a gap even when closed.
Sleep quality was average - the bed was comfortable, however the linen was too rigid. On a plus side, the hotel was quiet during our stay which was pleasant. We ordered room service breakfast which was tasty, although prices were a little high. However, I'm sure there are more reasonably priced options nearby (we just chose to dine in-room).
On the whole, the hotel is very well maintained and I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahunter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I was put up at the Blackfoot for work and was happy I was. Comfortable beds, a selection of places to eat and socialize and clean rooms. A good internet signal is important to me and I was able to watch Netflix and stream hockey games without issue. The breakfast was served early and was satisfying . I would stay here again. The only barrier may be the price point.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I considered giving them 4/5, but my wife enlightened me on a few more details.

We had bid on a full package which included a deluxe room, dinner, breakfast buffet, and a comedian show. We probably paid double for what it was worth....but is was for a good cause! We actually live in Calgary, so this was a casual date night to get us out of the house.

Check in was easy. Staff was friendly. Right off the bat you can tell they have been trying to give this ancient building a face lift, but it still had that 70's feeling here and there. When we entered our room, the modern effort was immediately evident....the carpet was cool, bathroom sleek, and a new flatscreen TV installed. The problem was, we were expecting at least a king. We got 2 queens in a smallish sized room. The bathroom was also small with a simple shower. We thought a "deluxe" room meant more than a standard double bed room.... especially for what we paid. We called down and asked if there was a king available....they found one 5 rooms over. Didn't know the 4th floor had king rooms, and when we entered, we saw why. It was a room beside the elevator...big and square...very cold feeling. The bathroom was bigger with duel sinks, but I just didn't like the room, but appreciated they gave us a king, so I kept my mouth shut haha.

The room had bulk shampoo on the shower walls...I HATE this...so cheap. The toiletries seem cheap. The beds are good, so no issue there. The water pressure is awesome, so the shower was great!

Dinner was average at best! It was a buffet in a tired looking restaurant. The beef and chicken was actually really good, but some of the food was so bad, it shouldn't have been served...such as the frozen chicken fingers, rock hard breaded scallops, and instant mashed potatoes.

The comedian show was great!! We loved it. Service was good, beer was priced good. We are planning on coming back for another.

Breakfast was pretty good. I had ZERO complaints...until the waiter informed us that because we prepaid for all of this in our package, the tip is still needed based on the full price. Are you kidding me? We DON'T need to be reminded.

In general, the staff were good, friendly, and professional, and the show was fun. The location is good for shopping, but thats about it. The age of the building is a tough one to ignore, and food was disappointing at dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid room 416
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. They have been passed along to upper management and our chef who take customer feedback very seriously. These comments are very helpful to us as we get close to finishing our complete rebranding including our future plans to redesign the lobby and restaurants. Our variety of rooms and suites ensure that each guest can have a room custom tailored to their preferred experience. We suggest that you stay in an Elements King next time which sounds like it may have had exactly what you are looking for. As for your server, this is also being investigated as comments like that are not tolerated at our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#28 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#11 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Property: Hotel Blackfoot
Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing