We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience!”
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had booked in for two nights at a fabulous deal I found online for a regular room. When we arrived we were upgraded to a beautiful king room with many extras included. LOVED LOVED LOVED it! Stayed on for two more nights which they gave us at the same rate we had booked online. Beds super comfy! Rooms spotlessly clean. Service and friendliness was beyond beyond!! EVERYONE seems so genuinely concerned that we were comfortable and happy. I have never experienced this at any other hotel. This is a gem in the middle of Calgary. We will always go here when in Calgary!! Thanks Sean Million for making our stay sooooo memorable!

Room Tip: ask for the 7th floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    194
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
127
24
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is really nice, away from downton 10 to 15 minutes but very relaxed with a business first attitude. Great rooms at a decent price, the lounge and dining room are great, the comedy club is a nice change and the sports bar pretty decent. The outdoor pool is a bit of an anomaly in Calgary especially with a 7 storey tower on the west side of the pool so even in the height of summer its in shadow at 5PM. The breakfast voucher is an improvement $10 bucks off any menu breakfast is a decent deal. All in all a good choice for the business traveller.

Room Tip: Courtyard or you might get traffic noice from Blackfoot Trail
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
336 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed there Friday night, checked in late with truck and car on trailer. Front desk was amazing. When I told him I had a very expensive car on my trailer, he called the night manager, Sean and he personally escorted me to a great spot where i could park the car right outside my room. These guys get it! Renovated rooms look great, good job guys. New rain shower is fantastic. I will stay the again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I am a frim believer of trying upgrades. This place offers amazing deals - but huge room for improvement. We like staying in a hotel that offers a club floor - for this hotel offers that for the 7th floor. What is included is a breakfast - but falls short because no warm eggs/sausage/bacon are offered. Through out the day they should offer fruit & say cookies (which are offered at the front desk in the afternoon) should be available throughout the day - but only non alcoholic drinks are available. At night from 5-7 appies are offered but are not replenished as much as it should be. Plus staff up in the club room are hit or miss - there is suppose to be there the entire time - because you can buy & enjoy some nice wine &/or beer. One huge bonus - very very comfy beds! Plus the front staff are by far the best in the business! Please try the food - each time we come the food is just the great - it suprises you with the quality.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Corimarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and we hadn't known exactly what we were getting. Therefore it was exceptionally pleasant surprise to see what we actually got. A wide and comfortable room, tastefully designed bathroom, modern amenities and a welcoming staff. A hotel we would like to revisit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

You couldn't ask for a better Hotel! - Seriously.
This is my third time to stay at The Hotel Blackfoot, and what was Amazing was the front desk, and all the staff remembered me from previous years. From the waiter / waitress in the dining area, the front desk clerk, even the other staff member, all still working there were all friendly, professional and courteous. You feel like your "at home!"
The remodeled rooms were Awesome! The weight room was very nicely improved, plus the overall cleanliness of the Hotel and the food.. the food was GREAT!
On one occasion I ordered a blackened grilled chicken salad (not on the menu), and they provided it 'perfectly!' The staff at the Sports Bar were probably one of the best with their attitudes, friendliness and treating you like a local patron!

I recommend this Hotel to anyone and everyone!
Sincerely,
Jeff D.
(( stop in at the Sports Bar, say Hi to Doreann.. she treats you like family. ))

Room Tip: 4th Floor looking North is great view with the color of the sunrise and sunsets. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My gosh. This hotel does not deserve the 4-Star rating Trip Advisor is showing. My Hotel Blackfoot stay was singlehandedly the worst experience I have ever had, in any country, at any hotel - ever.

The hotel looks NOTHING like the pictures. I was worried upon my arrival because it looks like Blackfoot was a hospital or prison before its "transformation" into a hotel.

I'm not sure if the walls are paper thin or if my neighbours were particularly terrible but there was a girl were screaming and crying from 9:00 to midnight. At 6 o'clock in the morning, she was at it again! I got no more than six hours sleep, so decided to hit the road early since my stay was ruined. The unusual manner in which this guest was behaving was extreme, inexcusable and ear-piercing. Unruly guests need to be dealt with and the premises monitored for unsafe and disturbing behaviour.

While the lobby area is welcoming, the updates through the common areas are mediocre and some key areas were missed all-together. The main elevator was grungy and someone had spit on the walls and floor. Later in the evening, the floor was covered in water - probably from people in and out of the pool. Some of the other common areas are still really dingy to the point where I didn't want to touch anything. The hotel isn't in close proximity to anything.

The bathroom in the room was updated with a sliding door that sits in front of the wall. Because of this, there is a 1/2" gap so you can see in/out of the bathroom even when the door is closed. There is also no lock or fan which is a little bit strange. The quality of the mattress wasn't great but the room was otherwise clean and welcoming.

My bill "somehow" came to $160. For this price I could have had a comfortable stay at the Sheraton, Fairmont, Westin, Hyatt Regency...

A night at this hotel (minus the noise), isn't worth more than $80. Find somewhere else.

When I was checking out there were two other complaints written down from other rooms on our floor regarding the noise so it's unfortunate that no one had done anything to rectify the situation. I did attempt to contact management on three occasions, to no avail.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlineker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
872 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#12 of 109 in Calgary
711 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#46 of 109 in Calgary
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Property: Hotel Blackfoot
Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing