We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major improvements”
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Major improvements”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A few years ago, I wrote a review titled "back to the 70's"

Well, things have improved a lot since. All rooms have now a more trendy look. Very clean and comfy. Yes, they are still a few places with that "70's look", but they are getting there.

The restaurant ( main one), is a very nice place. Good food, a bit pricy still.

I recommend this place. You can experience a place that care about their customers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammifere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    200
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
99
128
25
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I had a Great stay! I was not at the hotel much, however when I was it was quiet and the room was very comfortable! The hotel was Clean, and modern. The service staff was great! The food in the dining room was quite good! I would stay again!

It was easily accessible from major highways.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Blackfoot for 3 nights back in July to attend a family wedding.
We chose the executive floor because of the larger rooms and the private executive room offered where you could grab light breakfasts, and snacks. It was well worth it, the food and beverages offered were outstanding for lighter fare. Very well appointed and well maintained, we were very satisfied w the self serve atmosphere. I would highly recommend booking on the executive floor if you are a business traveller, or like us, prefer to help yourselves at certain meals.

We ate once in the restaurant downstairs, it was kind of late, and I really wish we had chosen the bar area for snacks. The staff were very accommodating, but they were setting up for breakfast the next day, so we felt kind of like we were making the staff stay longer than they wanted to. However, everyone was very accommodating and gracious. The food was ok...not great, just ok...likely due to our late arrival.
Our only issue w the hotel was some of the other guests....it was the first weekend of the Stampede, and so there were several celebrations happening on our floor. We didn't complain, but in hind site we should have...it would have only been fair to management to let them know.

Any staff member we met were all super helpful and very professional. I should also mention that we used the sedan service to pick us up at the airport and to take us back upon our departure...highly recommend this service too. It's extra, but worth it.
Would we return to the Hotel Blackfoot?...probably not...but only because ( and again, we should have said something that Sat.night we were woken by loud partying) the other guests really ruined the whole experience for us. Our faults for not saying something right when it happened.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipCheedwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the service, rooms and amenities at Hotel Blackfoot and would love to have you stay with us again. Stampede can be a very hectic time for hotels in the city and we would love the chance to give you a quieter experience. Had the noise level been brought to our attention, we would have done our best to provide you with another room or limit the noise from other guests. We hope that you return to our hotel for business and pleasure in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Blackfoot for 2 days in August to attend the Bruno Mars Concert.

The staff was excellent, everyone we encountered, so helpful & friendly. One employee really stood out...Dominic at the front desk. He was so very helpful to me while awaiting the time to head to airport for my flight back to B.C. Even helped me out to the taxi with my luggage as I was on my own. Terrific guy, I appreciated his help very much!

Loved the beds, they were so comfortable we all had great sleeps. Would love to know what brand they were. Much more comfortable than my bed at home :(

Would not hesitate to recommend to friends & we would definitely stay at the Blackfoot Hotel again, all around it was a wonderful experience!!

Room Tip: Would recommend the pool inner courtyard side as the road side was noisy the first night, we changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is a cool little hotel. The restaurant serves good food, and the pool area is very nice. Friendly staff. This place had one of the most comfortable beds that I've had in a hotel in quite a while. The only knock would be that it's a little bit pricey.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank beansman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our stay at the Blackfoot hotel was over all an excellent experience, mainly due to the customer service. Dominic, at the front desk, was the most helpful of all. He answered any questions we may have had before we could ask them. We would definitely return to the Blackfoot hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a lot of hotel but I would rate this place the best, and I'm hard to please! Beds were awesome, super clean, modern, and the price is right. It was very quiet, and the staff was great. Pulling up I thought it would be a little dated but wow was I wrong. I don't think I'll be visiting calgary without staying at hotel blackfoot! Very impressed!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brittz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
896 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#12 of 109 in Calgary
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
628 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Property: Hotel Blackfoot
Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing