We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We randomly selected the Carriage House Inn after needing a hotel right in that area. When we arrived there was some kind of bagpipe convention going on, so the girl upgraded us to a higher floor room. The room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom was a bit small.

The walls between rooms are paper thin. We could hear the person in the room next to us coughing and we knew when they were opening/closing their blinds because we could hear them sliding on the rod. We didn't watch much TV, except when getting ready in the morning and the cable in our room was fuzzy. Kind of like when you had to watch TV using those rabbit ears and it looked like there was a snowball fight on the TV.

The hotel has a continental breakfast, but even on weekends it ends at 9 (or shortly after). We went down for breakfast on our second morning at 9:30 and were turned away, even thought he restaurant was open and had lots of food. We couldn't even use the $25.50 credit that they would have charged us for the buffet on other items, and had to go find breakfast off-site. Lame. (Side note - if I was a paying customer and was charged $25.50 for two people for the continental buffet I would be choked. It was definitely not a buffet worth that much $$).

Those are the only negatives we found about this hotel. It was really nice, especially for the price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K2013B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

I love this hotel. It has never failed me on any of my business trips. The front office staff are excellent, the rooms are clean and the cleaning service is prompt and thorough. An added benefit is the wired internet. Restaurants are good and the complimentary buffet in the morning is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I travel to Calgary often and had not stayed at the Carriage house in years, Stayed here in December and then returned again in January as this is good value for your money, helpful staff and good location with easy access to where you want to go.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed again at The Carriage House Inn. I was at a Shriners function which seems to be held every couple of years there. The check in and out were swift and polite.
The room was immaculate but the bathroom is on the smaller side. The benefit of that is the room is quite large. Had a great shower.
If there was a downside is that the hotel has their own in-house bakery, The muffins are to die for but the dinner buns must have been left uncovered and were slightly 'stale'. However, the prime rib dinner and creamy dessert more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awayIgo2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I booked this hotel somewhat at random and last minute to attend a conference in Calgary in Sept. 2012.

PROs: Staff - Everyone on staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and provided speedy service! Great staff!

Location - Kind of 'meh' (I would prefer a hotel downtown, but they were all booked), but still good. There is a grocery and Pharmacy next door, a McDonalds and some other shops in a strip mall. Perhaps best of all, the light rail station is within walking distance (albeit it IS a distance - about 6 blocks or so) and you can get to all major attractions for the price of a light rail ticket, which was quite nice. Just be prepared for a lot of walking (probably not nearly as fun in the dead of winter).

Clean - the Hotel is clean overall, though outdated.

CONs: Not many other than that it is an older hotel and it shows. The Hotel bar / casino area is kind of shoddy and doesn't exactly have a 'classy' feel to the place, but the hospitality you receive makes up for it and makes you feel welcome :)

Overall good stay! I would stay again given the opportunity!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

No complaints about the Carriage House Inn. Stayed 1 night and had a meeting there during the day. Check in and check out was fast and no problems. The room was nice and bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but didn't bother me. It's a short cab ride to the Chinook mall and a short walk to a lot of different restaurants. Free Wifi in the rooms is much appreciated. They have a gift shop there which was handy since I forgot my razor. I would stay here again if travelling to this area in Calgary.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blufforbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I spent 3 days at Carriage House Inn and was very pleased with the room. Clean and linens well stocked. Pleasant open lobby and friendly staff. Excellent food. ATM convienance in lobby and loads of shopping within minutes. Nice quiet hotel, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 109 in Calgary
536 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#44 of 109 in Calgary
546 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#15 of 109 in Calgary
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,156 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 9030 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £79 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing